We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and value for money”
Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #63 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and value for money”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Francisco 1. It's only has a two star rating, but should be more.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and very clean.
The traditional continental breakfast is fine and what you should expect for the money.
Being in the heart of the city there is street noise to cope with, it didn't bother my husband and I invested in some earplugs and had no problems sleeping. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newberryfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    645
    114
    33
    37
See reviews for
341
737
105
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent location, professional, friendly welcome and continuing service throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Recent refurbishments are of a very high standard. Bathrooms have high quality fittings and are cleaned faultlessly by housekeeping. Marble floors and good mattresses , modern, stylish yet not over-designed rooms at a bargain price for city centre. The only reason I can suggest for them not having a higher star rating is the absence of facilities such as pool and fitness centres etc. English spoken in hotel, safes in rooms and a mini bar. Highly recommended by us :- mum, dad, 14 yr old daughter and grandma...all happy.

Room Tip: Loved our balconied rooms overlooking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novorossiysk, Russia
Level Contributor
825 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very convenient - 200m away from Puerta del Sol and 400m - Plaza Mayor. Very good and helpful personnel! Clean and comfortable rooms! Excellent for the price we paid!
But there are some tips: 1) don't order taxi-van to the airport (the driver doesn't understand word "our plane is getting off!!!" even in Spanish); 2) don't plan to rent a car - nearest parking is 26 euro per night - it's better to find hotel with free parking even paying more for room; 3) if sound from the streets bothers You (for me it's all the same), you'd better to find another place to stay, otherwise You'd feel like participating in night parties)).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
615 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My recent trip to Spain took me to Madrid, then Barcelona (via the highly recommended AVE train) then back to Madrid. When first in Madrid I stayed the the Hotel Europa just off Puerta de Sol, but while it was good it was more expensive than I could afford for several more nights, so I booked another very well placed hotel, the Francisco I, for the second part of my stay in Spain. The very nicely done pedestrian zone that is Calle de Arenal is the setting. A short walk back to Sol, even shorter to the Plaza Mayor in one direction, only a few minutes to the Teatro Real, Plaza de Oriente and the Royal Palace, a few more minutes to Plaza de Spaña -- VERY good location!

The room was probably the nicest I had in Spain, the breakfast certainly the least nice. No fresh fruit, not hot egg dishes, a small selection of decent cheese but decidedly mediocre meat, otherwise bread and pastries. Of course bread, pastries and coffee is the usual continental breakfast, but the breakfast (which I had added onto my non-refundable booking) was too pricey for so little.

One problem with the room was also, ironically, its charm. The only window looked out directly onto Calle de Arenal. It is a floor-to ceiling window. Nice view of the people on the stroll called the paseo during the day and early evening, but while the area has its fair share of classy shops and places to eat, there is also a tough edge to it, and on weekend nights it is extremely noisy. The window is well insulated against this, but even the best of such insulation does not drown out the shouting.

Two incidents, one involving the noise, one the restaurant just next to the hotel, an Italian place called Gino's, are reasons for my less than perfect rating. On the penultimate night of my stay there I decided to try the outdoor seating at Gino's. I have been to many countries in Europe and at outdoor cafes throughout the continent and also at other outdoor places in Madrid never have I experienced a greater flow of aggressive begging. This is in part Gino's fault, as there is very little attention paid by its waitstaff to the three outside tables. A very mean-spirited middle-aged woman was among them, and she was reprimanded by the Spanish couple seated next to me after barraging them with insults. She strode angrily off and a few minutes later a young tough came up and threatened a female tourist seated with her daughter and father at the third table, then knocked over her water glass before taking off. I seriously believe he was sent by the first woman. The trio at table 3 was clearly upset, and rightly so. When a waiter finally came out the Spanish couple explained what had happened, and after far too long a pause the waiter brought out another water and pronounced if free of charge - it had better be!

On my last night there three drunks (addicts?) seated themselves at the empty tables at Gino's (it was before 8 pm, when the place re-opens) and one started banging on the table and shouting, disturbing passers-by as well as me in my room with a view. He seemed to be looking for a fight. Ah well...

Don't NOT book at Francisco I, but DO be aware that there can be difficulties attached to it. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the lack of a good breakfast and the rowdiness on Arenal are problematic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on Calle de Arenal if you want a good night's sleep on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DottoreGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel lies half way between the sights in the East and the Prado in the west. Nothing in between, really. Madrid is most certainly not the most exciting city on the planet but this hotel lies precisely in the middle of some fairly vibrant lifestyles, nonetheless. The staff were polite enough though they didn´t seem to know a whole lot about local events though a short walk to the left or to the right took us to the two main squares in Madrid. The people were extremely friendly and the hotel as clean as you would expect. You need to get into Madrid from the airport you will save 30 euros by jumping on the underground transport which is a quick study for those on a budget

Room Tip: No problems. Night life is right outside your door and goes on all night long but the AC and double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, nc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Francisco I from the 13th through the 20th of October. I was quite happy with all aspects--the room, the staff and the location. Despite the street noise below (room on 2nd floor), the double-glassed windows kept all noise out. I highly recommend this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 14th October for 5 nights. The hotel is in a great location, right between Sol and Opera metro stations, giving great access to various places across the city. Many you can walk to - Plaza St. Ana, Plaza Mayor, The palace, Prado, infact many of the central areas are best explored on foot.
We were in Room 112 which was a double with some lovely features including stonework and a column. Both the bedroom and ensuite were spacious and modern with a very comfortable bed. There was some street noise until around 5.30am - it is not far from the famous 'Joy' nightclub but as we live in a busy town it wasn't much of a problem for us. what was more of a problem were the mains hovering the hallways at 8.30am every morning so if you were wanting a lie in think again!
The breakfast was more than adequate - pastries, toast, ham and cheese and lovely coffee.
would recommend this hotel to anybody thinking of visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,497 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,593 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#47 of 435 in Madrid
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,731 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 435 in Madrid
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing