We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, new interior, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #53 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, new interior, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very easy to find, just head to Opera or Sol metro station and the hotel can be found in a matter of minutes. Place is newly renovated, so the interior is clean. Unfortunately double beds equals to twin beds, although we specifically asked for a double bed. Room is spacious, toilet is big, clean and new, the window is a slim window with blinders, so you see very little of the streets, but you can definitely hear it, there are buskers playing lovely classical music or jolly folk songs, which just adds to the atmosphere of the place.

I don't know why the hotel deems it fit to place a safe box that gobbles up 1 euro each time you open it, so plan your safe box usage well! No tea or coffee service but you can get terrible coffee for 1 euro at the recep. Free Wifi with strong connections in the rooms.

I was surprised that the staff are so cold and unhelpful esp after reading reviews on how nice they are. I asked for restaurant recommendations and he said just go out and find what you like and eat, so many out thee, depends on the price. And the other staff are generally sullen when we pass them, but who cares really?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puxadoraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    623
    107
    32
    36
See reviews for
330
716
100
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent three nights at Francisco and had no problems at all. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, fine breakfast, good housekeeping and everything worked! Great location (Opera metro is the closest) and some great bars and tapas nearby. We enjoyed El Escarpin (cider place) and the excellent San Miguel market both within 5 mins of the hotel. Only small grumble was about noise - but it was because our room (116) faced the road outside and was next to the housekeeping room. Recommended!

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Francisco 1. It's only has a two star rating, but should be more.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and very clean.
The traditional continental breakfast is fine and what you should expect for the money.
Being in the heart of the city there is street noise to cope with, it didn't bother my husband and I invested in some earplugs and had no problems sleeping. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newberryfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent location, professional, friendly welcome and continuing service throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Recent refurbishments are of a very high standard. Bathrooms have high quality fittings and are cleaned faultlessly by housekeeping. Marble floors and good mattresses , modern, stylish yet not over-designed rooms at a bargain price for city centre. The only reason I can suggest for them not having a higher star rating is the absence of facilities such as pool and fitness centres etc. English spoken in hotel, safes in rooms and a mini bar. Highly recommended by us :- mum, dad, 14 yr old daughter and grandma...all happy.

Room Tip: Loved our balconied rooms overlooking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novorossiysk, Russia
Level Contributor
683 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very convenient - 200m away from Puerta del Sol and 400m - Plaza Mayor. Very good and helpful personnel! Clean and comfortable rooms! Excellent for the price we paid!
But there are some tips: 1) don't order taxi-van to the airport (the driver doesn't understand word "our plane is getting off!!!" even in Spanish); 2) don't plan to rent a car - nearest parking is 26 euro per night - it's better to find hotel with free parking even paying more for room; 3) if sound from the streets bothers You (for me it's all the same), you'd better to find another place to stay, otherwise You'd feel like participating in night parties)).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
546 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My recent trip to Spain took me to Madrid, then Barcelona (via the highly recommended AVE train) then back to Madrid. When first in Madrid I stayed the the Hotel Europa just off Puerta de Sol, but while it was good it was more expensive than I could afford for several more nights, so I booked another very well placed hotel, the Francisco I, for the second part of my stay in Spain. The very nicely done pedestrian zone that is Calle de Arenal is the setting. A short walk back to Sol, even shorter to the Plaza Mayor in one direction, only a few minutes to the Teatro Real, Plaza de Oriente and the Royal Palace, a few more minutes to Plaza de Spaña -- VERY good location!

The room was probably the nicest I had in Spain, the breakfast certainly the least nice. No fresh fruit, not hot egg dishes, a small selection of decent cheese but decidedly mediocre meat, otherwise bread and pastries. Of course bread, pastries and coffee is the usual continental breakfast, but the breakfast (which I had added onto my non-refundable booking) was too pricey for so little.

One problem with the room was also, ironically, its charm. The only window looked out directly onto Calle de Arenal. It is a floor-to ceiling window. Nice view of the people on the stroll called the paseo during the day and early evening, but while the area has its fair share of classy shops and places to eat, there is also a tough edge to it, and on weekend nights it is extremely noisy. The window is well insulated against this, but even the best of such insulation does not drown out the shouting.

Two incidents, one involving the noise, one the restaurant just next to the hotel, an Italian place called Gino's, are reasons for my less than perfect rating. On the penultimate night of my stay there I decided to try the outdoor seating at Gino's. I have been to many countries in Europe and at outdoor cafes throughout the continent and also at other outdoor places in Madrid never have I experienced a greater flow of aggressive begging. This is in part Gino's fault, as there is very little attention paid by its waitstaff to the three outside tables. A very mean-spirited middle-aged woman was among them, and she was reprimanded by the Spanish couple seated next to me after barraging them with insults. She strode angrily off and a few minutes later a young tough came up and threatened a female tourist seated with her daughter and father at the third table, then knocked over her water glass before taking off. I seriously believe he was sent by the first woman. The trio at table 3 was clearly upset, and rightly so. When a waiter finally came out the Spanish couple explained what had happened, and after far too long a pause the waiter brought out another water and pronounced if free of charge - it had better be!

On my last night there three drunks (addicts?) seated themselves at the empty tables at Gino's (it was before 8 pm, when the place re-opens) and one started banging on the table and shouting, disturbing passers-by as well as me in my room with a view. He seemed to be looking for a fight. Ah well...

Don't NOT book at Francisco I, but DO be aware that there can be difficulties attached to it. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the lack of a good breakfast and the rowdiness on Arenal are problematic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on Calle de Arenal if you want a good night's sleep on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DottoreGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel lies half way between the sights in the East and the Prado in the west. Nothing in between, really. Madrid is most certainly not the most exciting city on the planet but this hotel lies precisely in the middle of some fairly vibrant lifestyles, nonetheless. The staff were polite enough though they didn´t seem to know a whole lot about local events though a short walk to the left or to the right took us to the two main squares in Madrid. The people were extremely friendly and the hotel as clean as you would expect. You need to get into Madrid from the airport you will save 30 euros by jumping on the underground transport which is a quick study for those on a budget

Room Tip: No problems. Night life is right outside your door and goes on all night long but the AC and double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#46 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing