We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Old Madrid”
Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #58 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Location in Old Madrid”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel Francisco I is located in the heart of old Madrid, in Calle Arenal. You can go walking (less than 5 minutes) to the Plaza del Sol, Calle Alcalá, Calle Mayor, Plaza Mayor, Opera and Mercado San Miguel.

The hotel was renovated a few years ago and now it has an excellent bathroom, great spacious rooms and all the confort you need. Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    636
    111
    33
    37
See reviews for
334
729
102
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Located in the pedestrianised area between Sol and Playa Major - with street entertainment on the doorstep. We had one of the old rooms that hadn't been re-furbished but this wasn't a problem - it was very clean, beds really comfortable, and the old-fashioned shower above bath was hot and really powerful. However this room was also directly beneath the stairs to breakfast room - so if you want to lie in then best to avoid this room due to noise of people going to breakfast (I think it was 510). Despite this I am still giving the hotel a top rating as it was great value for money (we only paid £50 per night for 2 of us for central Madrid) . We slept really well, location was perfect, good breakfast (make your own 'bruschetta') and lovely coffee. Staff were accomodating and friendly. Lots of great places to visit within a couple of minutes walk. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydaysagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very friendly Personnel. Very good position to go around the center of Madrid. Clean and satisfactory breakfast. Don't forget to visit chocolateria de Gines near by for a hot chocolate and "churros". Renewed rooms, big bathroom. All you need when you visit Madrid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thanos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed Jan 2014 had one triple room & one double room. All extremely clean, the only complaint was in the triple room the bathroom had a clear see through door, it just needed to have a frosted door!!! The included breakfast was good. Staff friendly & helpful. The hotel is in a great location, plenty so see within walking distance & with 2 metro stations close by (2 blocks away).

Room Tip: The rooms facing Arenal st can be a bit noisy, but I can honestly say we slept great, as it was wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel. We spent 4 days in madrid. The hotel is very central to all the tourist attractions, extremly clean and our room was spacious with en suite. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and a good choice of continental options with cereal, ham cheese etc and lovely coffee. A great find and a little gem. We had a fab time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for our 11th annual girls shopping trip.
The staff were amazing they could not do enough for you and always with a smile.
You were right where you needed to be for eating drinking shopping and mouching.
this is our new place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. It was right on the pedestrian mall and very easy to find. The staff was very friendly and helpful to a non-Spanish speaker. The rooms were clean and well maintained. It was close to everything that we wanted to see. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#47 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing