We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel fantastic”
Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #57 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hotel fantastic”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We travel often, but mostly go for 4* but after reading such good reviews about this hotel we went for it & we were so happy that we did!
The room we had on the first floor had been recently refurbished - it was excellent! Top quality!
We booked through booking.com and chose the cheapest option. Although I think we were automatically upgraded as we booked early.
Breakfast was great, which included scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, yogurts, cereal & pastries.
Rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily &mini bar restocked.
The location is great. on a pedestrian street with a tube/metro at either end. Also very close to plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.
A 5minute walk will take you to the palace - it's beautiful!
If you are visiting Madrid in warm season you will hardly have any need for a hotel bar, or other facilities that the 4* hotels offer, as you will probably be out enjoying all this great city has to offer!
The staff were all very helpful too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemb_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    649
    114
    33
    38
See reviews for
345
740
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at francisco I, for the price and for the location there is no match for this wondefull place located just feet away from san gines and near the heart of there city this place is awesome to stay in madrid.. Better than most 4 and 3 stars in the area

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

we had a great two days in Madrid very impressed with hotel , taxi dropped us off more or less outside , room was lovely on 2nd floor with little balcony over street great for people watching & we weren't kept awake at night by noise . fantastic places to visit all on your doorstep the saint Miguel market and surrounding streets fantastic at night so much to do cant wait to return good breakfast cereal pastries etc good start to the day

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Whilst this hotel is on a pedestrianized area and therefore a little difficult for Taxi drivers to reach, it's a brilliant place to stay for a couple of nights, just off the Plaza del sol. Easy walking distance from shops and attractions. It is a little noisy at night but a pair of earplugs solves that problem. They are in the middle of an upgrade so will no doubt be even more sought after. good breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCRP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in late March - the checkin was seamless and the room was quite large for a 2* hotel. We had requested a room with a balcony which we got - lovely view over the pedestrian zone but quite noisy until the early hours. Hotel noise was also a bit high and management should consider doing something to deaden the noise of doors when closing. Otherwise the rooms were very satisfactory, clean and plenty of space. Wifi was also excellent and free. One complaint - the in-room safe required 1 euro each time it was used - this became quite expensive if you want to lock up cards and other items not needed during late night outings / dinner etc
And a warning re booking this hotel - we found a website that had this hotel for a very much lower price than other sites - although we usually do our bookings through Booking .com we did so in this instance on the basis of their "price guarantee" - despite discussing this price guarantee with Booking.com BEFORE we booked they did not honour the so-called "price guarantee" and offered us a fraction of the difference which we rejected - we will not be using Booking .com again because of this false advertising

Room Tip: - Unless you are a heavy sleeper you should avoid rooms fronting the pedestrian zone - great views b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at the Hotel Francisco in Mid March. The Hotel is situated on a pedestrian zone in the center of Madrid and within walking distance of most sites in Madrid but also the Metro which is extremely efficient. We were greeted by Carlos on check in (Carlos was a real star, a true gentleman and very helpful) and were given a room on the second floor overlooking a side street. The room was spotless and just enough space to move around with the luggage placed accordingly. The bathroom was modern and clean with a shower (no bathtub) hairdryer and the usual soaps etc. The bed was very comfortable and there is a flat screen TV with all Spanish channels (who is in Madrid to watch TV anyhow). One bit of advice..use the fan in the room at night to block out the street noise. The rooms are sealed pretty well but if your a light sleeper bring earplugs, white noise machine, or use the room climate controlled fan. There was a breakfast included and it was typical European fare with meats, cheeses, cereals etc but very adequate and a great way to start the day. Just a brief comment about the hotel staff in general..The breakfast staff were very friendly and extremely efficient and the housekeeping staff were excellent..had a sink issue which I showed them on leaving the room for breakfast and was sorted and cleaned by the time we returned so can't compliment the hotel staff enough. Getting to the hotel for first timers to Madrid can be a little tricky so here is our experience and tips learned. Taxis into Madrid Center are regulated and cost 30 Euros flat fee. Do not let anyone charge more. Taxi dropped us in the Plaza Sol which is 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel depending on where dropped and walking speed. Once in the plaza look for the statue of the white Mary. It is small by comparison to other statues but visible from anywhere in the plaza. It is at the entrance of the street that the Hotel Francisco is on. Walk up the street (cobblestone) for a few hundred meters and about a block and 1/2 past a Starbucks (on the right) you will see the hotel on the left. the lobby is up a flight of stairs but once there the desk staff will assist you with your luggage. Plan on returning to this hotel next time we go to Madrid!!

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main pedestrian zone so perhaps higher up (5 floors of rooms) and on a side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Fantastic location, it is really central to everything that a tourist wants. Rooms are clean and spacious. We had a family room for four, which had a plenty of space. It is much bigger than it looks from outside. The breakfast was also generous and tasty! There is a free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almadie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 435 in Madrid
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,788 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 435 in Madrid
1,305 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing