We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Francisco I
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Agumar(Madrid)
US$192
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$101
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$212
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Principe Pio Hotel(Madrid)
US$223
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Don Luis(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveller rating
942
693
123
37
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
693
123
37
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayorcalle arenalpedestrian streetgreat locationopera metrosan ginesroyal palacestar hotelfirst floorsmall balconycentral locationsol metroopera housetriple roomchurrosmini barearly hours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, especially at the price we paid. We chose it as it was central and had generally good reviews. It is right at the heart of the city centre, close to 2 Metro stations in a pedestrian street. If there was one tiny downside, the locals are generally out till 3 or 4 in the morning so it can be noisy if you leave the shutters and windows open, however the excellent and v quiet air conditioning makes it easy to shut the double glazed French windows and sleep well. The rooms all seemed to be in excellent condition when we passed them with the door open. The corridor carpets were replaced while we were there (carpets = no trolley bag noise), and they appear to be upgrading everything in the building. The room had plenty of different lighting options and reading lights. There were plenty of sockets to operate or charge items from, and spacious wardrobes (ours was lit). There was a safe but it did cost 1€ each time you opened it, a bit like a swimming pool locker.
The staff were friendly and helpful (their map was better than the tourist office but we found all free maps pretty naff in Madrid). They were happy to store luggage on the final day and I saw them assisting a couple of people who didn't know the sockets were different in Europe!.
For us there was no downside, however the hotel is currently inaccessible to anyone who can't climb the 10 or so stairs from the street and then the dozen steps to the lift. However the lift has a locked off ground floor switch and perhaps this may change in the future??? We didn't use the restaurant, so can't comment on it, this is because it is surrounded by cafes and only about a short distance from a mini market and major supermarket.
We would happily recommend it to anyone who is not disabled.

Room Tip: We had a room with large bed (2 singles together) on the second floor which had great street views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve-norf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an excellent choice for first timers in Madrid. We follow the advice of a tripadvisor' friend who wrote about the fact that this place was being renovated (do not worry there is no workers on the site making noise!!!) and that in the meantime you get a 4 stars accommodations for a 2 1/2 stars prize. It is absolutely true!. The interiors are spotless new, noise isolation (something important in downtown Madrid!) is full proof, rooms are big enough (compare well with USA standards, meaning twice the size of any Paris hotel room..),( if you care about) the breakfast it is served in a nice covered terraza. Location: nothing can be compared, you are on the peatonal Arenal, 200 meters from Sol (the Metro station that connects with the Barajas Airport), 300 meters from the Plaza Mayor, 400 from the Plaza Santa Ana, 400 from the Cabas /Cuchilleros (area with plenty of tapas/restaurants places), shopping nearby (Corte Ingles, Zara, etc etc). The location is safe to walk anytime of the night. Staff: In our experience they deserve special thanks! courteous and very profesional, ready to help in anything we needed, from leaving luggage for a few days up to make reservations, they even surprised us several times with a tray of food and drinks (no, I am not kidding!) waiting for us in the room!. One more thing: If your plane departs late, they can offer you a late check in for a small amount. In summary: trust me get this one!

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor , on the side street are very quiet. 300-311 for instance
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dante2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel must've been reading these reviews! Before we went to Madrid, some reviewers said that breakfast was inadequate and didn't include anything hot... By the time went, they had added eggs, bacon and sausages to their breakfast buffet, which was greatly appreciated!
Some also said the hotel looked old... This is absolutely not true (at least not anymore)! I think they recently updated/upgraded pretty much everything! This hotel deserves at least 3 stars and maybe even 4.

Positive remarks:
- Modern rooms (and bathrooms)
- VERY central location
- Easily accessible through public transport
- Friendly staff
- Good breakfast (everything but the pastries)

Negative remarks:
- Noisy garbage trucks in the morning if you have a room on the street side.
- Although they were friendly, the staff didn't speak much English.

Hint: you HAVE to eat some churros at 'Chocolatería San Ginés', which is a 2 min walk from the hotel. I think they're open 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel, in a good area. We planned to see as much of Madrid on foot, and the location of this hotel allowed this.
The rooms were immaculate, the staff and service were faultless!
Being on a main thoroughfare between Plaza Mayor and Peurto del Sol, there was a lot of foot traffic. At night this was a little noisy, but with window and blind closed, it didn't worry us.
We would stay here again and highly recommend it to others seeking to see the sights of Madrid.
Breakfast was a bonus and the quality of food and coffee was very good as this was included in the price.
We loved staying here and if ever have the chance we would come back.
Thank you to the hotel staff!

Room Tip: I think some floors have been beautifully renovated. Ours was on the 1st floor, with an opening window to the mall outside. A large king bed, flat screen TV, and fridge in the room. We have no hesitation recommending this hotel for short stay.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathrynregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What are you looking for in a hotel? If you need a doorman greeting you arriving and leaving, a bellboy carrying your suitcases to the room, beautiful view from your window, and a big lobby to sit in and be seen, this is not the hotel for you.
On the other hand, if all you need is a clean room, comfortable bed, a nice bathroom, and all at a surprizingly cheap price, this may be the hotel for you. For a hotel in the utmost center of Madrid, this hotel is rare find. Situated on C/Arenal, a busy pedestrian street, Plaza Mayor is a slow five minute walk, same goes for Sol metro station, Opera station is even closer, Prado museum is reached in a 15 minutes walk down the hill. The room is small but very nice, all new bathroom, with nice Grohe fittings. Good WiFi connection (we stayed on the 3rd floor). The room was very quiet and the sounds of the activities on C/Arenal did not interupt our sleep. The AC was excellent.
So why does this hotel display only a two star ranking? The reasons are obvious: accessibility and food services. This hotel is not accessible to anyone with a walking disablity. From the street level you have to climb 30 stairs to the elevator, about half of them to reach the front desk. As far as we checked, there is no way around this limitation. It also means that you have to carry your suitcases at least once up and down all these stairs (no bellhop, remember?). When I tried to ask the clerk about this limitation, he suddenly lost all command of English... In order to get to the dining hall for breakfast, on the 6th floor, you also have to climb 13 stairs.
The second big limitation of this hotel is breakfast. The food reminded me of the one served in some military bases, and not the best of them. But, for the room price at this hotel, who can complain?
For us, this was the perfect hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, but given the new window, I guess that just making sure the window is well locked, may be enough for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GolfBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews