We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #61 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed in mid-August 2014. This hotel has a fantastic location, its within walking distance of mayor points of interest, close to all kinds of transportation. Our room was recently remodeled, with a very modern bathroom, great hot water; very good air conditioning, nice size room, while keeping the old fashion wooden shutters on the windows that kept out all light and any noise from the street, and look beautiful.

Nice breakfast and staff in the restaurant was very helpful.

The attendants in the lobby gave us great tips on getting around, where to go and where to eat. Very, very nice people.

Room Tip: the higher the better. Street is busy but the windows and the shutters kept the noise out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracePC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    653
    117
    33
    38
See reviews for
349
742
108
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed from Aug 27-29, we were greeted by Carlos & the other gentleman who works with him, both of which were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean & spacious, can't really ask for more. The location is excellent, walking distance to many attractions & public transportation stops. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for everything!

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adrez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I loved staying at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. We could walk to many of the major sites. The breakfast was also good. Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elon, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I had a wonderful experience in this hotel. I was in a newly redecorated room that was modern and elegant. The hotel is conveniently located to many attractions. The breakfast choices are delicious! I highly recommend this hotel! Stayed from August 20-23 in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamancefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were undecided between this and another Hotel but we're glad we chose Francisco I . The Hotel must have been recently renovated because the building is old but all is new inside. A man helped us bring the luggage to our room, which was big, bright, had a nicely done bathroom with a big shower, air con on with perfect temperature and a small balcony looking down the main street that leads to Puerta del Sol, one of the main central squares of Madrid. WI FI worked great even on 5th floor, sleep quality was good although a bit of noise coming from the street below (we arrived on a Saturday night though) , nothing the Hotel could do about it , maybe just bring some ear plugs maybe although my partner slept fine without them so it depends on how sensitive you are to noise! The location is truly perfect, it really is near everything: two subway stops at walking distance, La Latina quarter , Plaza Mayor and other main areas are really close by, you can walk to most places from here. But the best part in my opinion was breakfast....so delicious and they have a HUGE selection of food, until late. Breakfast itself is until 10:30am , we always showed up (on the 6th floor!) at around 10am and there was still plenty of food to chose from, all of which was nice and tasty. Service was also good. Would definitely recommend this place !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My partner had always wanted to go to Spain so when we were in the UK we grabbed the opportunity. Our daughter and her husband had arranged somewhere to stay. We had told them we wanted to stay away from the big named hotels and this is the place they found. What a gem. The front of the hotel did not do justices to what we found inside. Up a short flight of stairs to check in then up further flights of stairs to our rooms (lift there to use if you want) and opening the door to our room what a surprise. beautiful décor great lighting and view onto the street below from our balcony was .............. Sorry lost for words. Staff were helpful. We only ate breakfast there which was adequate. The best thing though is the location. Walking distance from the train station, walking distance to the Square and other great sites to see. Our plane was not due to leave to late in the evening and they were more than happy to allow us to store our bags until then. Stay away from the big name hotels and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Grab the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applesGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in an awesome location. It's within close proximity of all the major sites. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good. The room was clean and had everything one could need. The wifi worked great. Overall it was an awesome stay. We will definitely be back.
Thank you staff!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mk0866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
1,642 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 436 in Madrid
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,828 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#26 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing