We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Francisco I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Francisco I
Ranked #57 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I´ve been for four days at Hotel Francisco I with my sister, and it was great. We expected for a simple hotel where we could have the convenience of an excellent location and a room just confortable, and we had both in there. When you arrive at the hotel you imagine that it´s not so good, because the reception is a little bit overdressed, but the room was great! Roomy enough with a beautiful decoration. It´s located in the heart of Madrid, we did´t even need to get a transport to locomove in the Spanish´s capital. If you´re looking for a simple hotel that it´s near of everything, there are no mistake!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belohorizontemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    649
    114
    33
    38
See reviews for
345
740
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

If you are looking for a good bed, good bathroom, hot shower and a reasonable breakfast.

Location was good for walking to most tourist locations. A litttle noice as there was a fesival on one night and party when on till morning. We got home at 5am.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We took a triple room in hotel Francisco I the 24-28 september. We got room nr 511. It was old, durty, and extremly small (especially for 3 persons!).
Other rooms were better than this one. BUT the personal of this hotel being everething but not friendly will probably put you in this terrible room. SAY NO!
Other thing: the person working in hte reception at night is extremely rude!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanmbrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

A very shabby hotel.....terrible rooms...very small rooms....though clean....The hotel room gets a lot of noise from the streets all through the night.....I think better options available for the same price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yezadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Francisco for 3 nights at €45 a night - granted we were put into a superior room apparently but it was more like a 3star than 2 star as advertised. We were on the 1st floor but werent particular disturbed by the pedestrian street outside and renovations which were ongoing and at a guess, in the final stages started at 830 and werent overly noisy. The only problem were the pillows which were uncomfortable but as my sister once said, you could sleep with a slab a concrete as a pillow. Overall lovely experience in Madrid. However do not go to Bar Torre del Oro in Piazza Major - total ripoff where you feel robbed - €20 euros for small tapas plate of Gamberetti...

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kayejust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Yes, it is in renovation and it might be inconvenient for somebody, but me and a friend we stayed with liked it a lot. Mainly for the stuff, ready to help, open emotionally and very very caring. We liked the location (very centric), we liked the new renovated room with its modern design and the view. the breakfast is totally spanish and you have to admit it, still the pastry is good and fresh and tasty, and a good start of the day in Madrid)))

  • Liked — the location and the stuff
  • Disliked — noise from the street (holiday period)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tashkami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Only had a couple of nights to see Madrid so wanted to be very central ( and this hotel is). It is being renovated ( I mean serious reconstruction, very disconcerting so see major chunks of the walls from floor below disapear and extremely noisy)
Room tiny, but clean ,no frills at all, this is very barely two star.
Breakfast was ok. Most of the guests seemed to be middleaged, so all will have had a rotten nights sleep - disturbed by the younger set coming in from the nightclubbing 3-4am and being maliciously noisy. The staff made no attempt to curtail or control this. The staff were offhand and tried very hard to persuade us to take a taxi back to the airport. We had managed the three trains into town without a problem and managed going back as well so I ended up wondering just what sort of cut they were getting.
If paying a lot of money to be really central for just a couple of nights fits then give it a go, but you would be better to pay less and use the very efficient train and stay further out if you have more time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cracked walls
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 435 in Madrid
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,788 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 435 in Madrid
1,305 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco I

Property: Hotel Francisco I
Address: c/ Arenal,15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#40 Family Hotel in Madrid
#76 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Francisco I 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francisco I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco i Hotel
Francisco i Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing