We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great End to Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #287 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I found this hotel on Hotwire as an anonymous deal for a 4-star hotel. The hotel is clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was wonderful, and was very helpful whenever we asked them for directions or a restaurant recommendation. My only complaint is that their main restaurant's menu didn't look very appetizing, so we went for a bit to eat offsite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor about Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel.
We glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thanks you one more time and will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel in your future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is one of the worst hotel I have been in my entire life. The staff is very unfriendly, will barely say hi to you when you come to the hotel. The people at the reception won't even ask you if you had a good stay, actually lucky for them they didn't because I would have probably tell them the truth. At the bar of the hotel, you will be doing the service as you have to get up and order, and get up again to ask and pay for the bill despite the fact that they have 3 waiters working.
I was born in 1976 and I am not sure this hotel has been renovated since then. The room are extremely old, the carpets on the floor dirty and smelly, the beds extremely uncomfortable (what do you expect if people have been sleeping on the same mattress for nearly 40 years). But the worst part of it all is that you can't barely use the shower in the room. The water keep switching from extremely cold to boiling in a matter of seconds non stop! Finally, they offer free internet for a good reason: it doesn't work! And when it works, you feel you are back to the 90 's when it would take 5 minutes just to download an email.
Mr owner of this terrible place, do the world a favour: sell it to someone who will know how to use the central location as well as the beautiful garden in the back (the one and only good thing about this place, and a true hidden gem).

Avoid or abort at all price!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Jkmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear guest
I am sorry to hear from you about the bad experience, you had during your stay. We appreciate the comment exposed about the attitude and the service of our staff and I transfered your complain to our General Manager.
I perfectly understand your opinion and I apologize for this situation. We place high value in our guest and regret we did not meet the high standard of service that you quite right expected to find at our property.
We thank you for your comments and we will consider them in order to improve in our customer service.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated between Parque Restiro, Estadia Santiago Bernabeu (the home of Real Madrid F.C.) and the Plaza Mayor and the Royal palace. All within walking distance. The Park is amazingly beautiful, and the area around the hotel all the way up to the plaza is filled with beautiful buildings and fountains. The hotel staff is outstanding. Their english is limited but competent enough. You don't need to speak Spanish, but it would be helpful. The rooms are small but stylish. The spa is outstanding.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have a nice view of the city. If you like it quitter, stay in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest
First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.
It a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our room and facilities. We do apologize for not making you feel comfortable in your language, your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you in the future.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed one night before flying from Madrid the next day.
Room is fairly clean and neat.but it is dated and needs renovation. We could hear the flushing toilet next door. Shower was hot and cold - unpredictable.
Breakfast was good.
Good and efficient staff at reception. They helped me with printing the boarding passes.
Good wifi and free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for your comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel, in Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that our service is as good as what you expected. Regarding your complain about the rooms, we are updating them floor by floor. We hope that you consider our Hotel again in your next stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well located for Government ministries, IE university/ business school and the Bernabéu and about a 30 mins walk to the old/ historic area of Madrid. It’s located next to an underground station which takes you straight to the airport or a taxi is less than Euro 30. The rooms are comfortable enough but a bit tiered and in need of some updating. Breakfast is a reasonable selection of pastries, fruit, meat and cheeses and was included in the room price as too was internet access.

Would I stay here again? I don’t think so – it was well located for my needs but it needs to up its game and improve the bedrooms. I also didn’t like the fact that access to the swimming pool was charged at an extra Euro 20 – not that I had time to use it but it’s the first hotel I’ve come across where access to the in-house swimming pool is charged as an extra.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel.
Regarding your complain, the pool is a part of hydrotherapy service, like the sauna or thermal service. Our fitness center is complementary service for guests of the Hotel; but Spa Caroly Health Club is an additional service, like the restaurant M-29.
We offer an special rate for our guest: 20€ per person for the hydrotherapy circuit.
Thank you one more time, and we hope that you consider our Hotel for a future stay you can enjoy one of the renewed room.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This 5 stars hotel is nicely located near the Castellana street in Madrid. Honestly, it is in need of renovation. Rooms are average in size and comfort, and definitelly a bit wear off. Sleep quality though is good enough. Breakfast is also good. I didn't use the restaurants. What I like the most of this hotel is its health club (Caroli), with a nice gym and spa. It is one of most affordable 5 stars hotels in Madrid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meridio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest

We want to thank you for your review about the Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the Hotel, specially Spa Caroly Health Club.
Thank you one more time and we will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Unfortunately, another brief stay, arriving late afternoon and departing early next day. But first impressions were very good. Very palatial style hotel with wonderful outdoor area and pool. rooms were smallish but functional. Good wifi connection. Very quite surroundings due to sunday afternoon and we had to walk some distance before we found a cafe open. Staff were helpful, but the breakfast pack requested by our tour director because of early departure did not eventuate so cannot comment on any food experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest
Thanks you for your positive comment posted in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us.
We glad to know that our facilities and service are good what you expected.
We hope that you considerer our Hotel in your future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#17 of 441 in Madrid
1,533 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#40 of 441 in Madrid
1,936 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#101 of 441 in Madrid
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 441 in Madrid
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#167 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £81 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing