We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Oscar(Madrid)
US$212
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$159
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$226
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
US$161
US$129
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$161
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Real(Madrid)
US$251
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
182
250
214
114
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
250
214
114
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationinsight tourgregorio maranonexecutive floorbit datedstayed two nightstourist sitesnice hotelrooms are comfortablelocation is excellenthotel is locatedcity centrebuffet breakfastspafurnishingsneighborhoodeurope
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I found this hotel on Hotwire as an anonymous deal for a 4-star hotel. The hotel is clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was wonderful, and was very helpful whenever we asked them for directions or a restaurant recommendation. My only complaint is that their main restaurant's menu didn't look very appetizing, so we went for a bit to eat offsite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor about Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel.
We glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thanks you one more time and will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel in your future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is one of the worst hotel I have been in my entire life. The staff is very unfriendly, will barely say hi to you when you come to the hotel. The people at the reception won't even ask you if you had a good stay, actually lucky for them they didn't because I would have probably tell them the truth. At the bar of the hotel, you will be doing the service as you have to get up and order, and get up again to ask and pay for the bill despite the fact that they have 3 waiters working.
I was born in 1976 and I am not sure this hotel has been renovated since then. The room are extremely old, the carpets on the floor dirty and smelly, the beds extremely uncomfortable (what do you expect if people have been sleeping on the same mattress for nearly 40 years). But the worst part of it all is that you can't barely use the shower in the room. The water keep switching from extremely cold to boiling in a matter of seconds non stop! Finally, they offer free internet for a good reason: it doesn't work! And when it works, you feel you are back to the 90 's when it would take 5 minutes just to download an email.
Mr owner of this terrible place, do the world a favour: sell it to someone who will know how to use the central location as well as the beautiful garden in the back (the one and only good thing about this place, and a true hidden gem).

Avoid or abort at all price!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Jkmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear guest
I am sorry to hear from you about the bad experience, you had during your stay. We appreciate the comment exposed about the attitude and the service of our staff and I transfered your complain to our General Manager.
I perfectly understand your opinion and I apologize for this situation. We place high value in our guest and regret we did not meet the high standard of service that you quite right expected to find at our property.
We thank you for your comments and we will consider them in order to improve in our customer service.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated between Parque Restiro, Estadia Santiago Bernabeu (the home of Real Madrid F.C.) and the Plaza Mayor and the Royal palace. All within walking distance. The Park is amazingly beautiful, and the area around the hotel all the way up to the plaza is filled with beautiful buildings and fountains. The hotel staff is outstanding. Their english is limited but competent enough. You don't need to speak Spanish, but it would be helpful. The rooms are small but stylish. The spa is outstanding.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have a nice view of the city. If you like it quitter, stay in the back
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest
First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.
It a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our room and facilities. We do apologize for not making you feel comfortable in your language, your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you in the future.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed one night before flying from Madrid the next day.
Room is fairly clean and neat.but it is dated and needs renovation. We could hear the flushing toilet next door. Shower was hot and cold - unpredictable.
Breakfast was good.
Good and efficient staff at reception. They helped me with printing the boarding passes.
Good wifi and free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for your comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel, in Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that our service is as good as what you expected. Regarding your complain about the rooms, we are updating them floor by floor. We hope that you consider our Hotel again in your next stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well located for Government ministries, IE university/ business school and the Bernabéu and about a 30 mins walk to the old/ historic area of Madrid. It’s located next to an underground station which takes you straight to the airport or a taxi is less than Euro 30. The rooms are comfortable enough but a bit tiered and in need of some updating. Breakfast is a reasonable selection of pastries, fruit, meat and cheeses and was included in the room price as too was internet access.

Would I stay here again? I don’t think so – it was well located for my needs but it needs to up its game and improve the bedrooms. I also didn’t like the fact that access to the swimming pool was charged at an extra Euro 20 – not that I had time to use it but it’s the first hotel I’ve come across where access to the in-house swimming pool is charged as an extra.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel.
Regarding your complain, the pool is a part of hydrotherapy service, like the sauna or thermal service. Our fitness center is complementary service for guests of the Hotel; but Spa Caroly Health Club is an additional service, like the restaurant M-29.
We offer an special rate for our guest: 20€ per person for the hydrotherapy circuit.
Thank you one more time, and we hope that you consider our Hotel for a future stay you can enjoy one of the renewed room.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews