We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #281 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are an older european business man, this is your hotel! Everyone else stay away.

Quick note on me... Im in my 40s.. completely fluent in spanish.. travel Europe all the time (for business), and have traveled through most of world. Stayed in many fine Hotels in the US and abroad.. but don't consider myself stuffy... as I can stay in a beach bungalow and be perfectly comfortable.

This hotel has definitely seen its better days. All the decor is older and dated. Fixtures are dated. Walls are thin (noise) . Windows hardly seal ( loud music in courtyard until 12:30 AM ). Service is stuffy. Clientele is stuffy. Carpets are worn ( completely through in many places ).

Spa staff is so full of themselves, you are actually un-welcoming.

I booked an executive room ( on the executive floor ), so I was instructed to go to the fifth floor to check in ... where I waited several minutes because the doors were locked and no one was there to meet me. The executive floor food and hors devours are not worth eating ( and I love food ).

Location is not great ( it may be for business, but not for leisure ). Its good walk ( 20 minutes ) to any good restaurants... and further to the museums and plaza. Although there is a metro (subway) right in front of the hotel. (debit cards only)

For sure this will be my only visit to this hotel, ever. ( I still have one night left )

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest
First of all, we want to thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.
We appreciate the comment exposed about the service of our staff and our facilities, and I transfered your complain to our General Manager.
Regarding your review and as you mentioned, the Hotel is in the process of a gradual renovation
You could check that our rooms are being changed with new wooden floor, painted and new furniture. We expect to have most of them updated by summer so we hope you consider our Hotel again for a future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is beautifully appointed downstairs and the breakfast was sensational with a huge range of choices. However, we were disappointed with our room. The bathroom was fine, bed good, but the carpet was absolutely threadbare in parts and very dirty. So much so I didn't take my shoes off when in the room. I would expect more from a hotel of this quality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments about the hotel in Tripadvisor.
We glad to know that our service is a good as what you expected.Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Maybe you have read we are updating our rooms. We are changing with new wooden floor, painted and new furniture, and we expect to have most of them updated in a few months.
We welcome your comments with a genuine esteem and we will make sure they contribute to our investment and effort in meeting the satisfaction levels of our customers.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The best hotel in town! for price, cleanliness, and location
Value for money, very clean, hotel staff are very helpful - they go out of their way to help you in whatever you need - high recommended...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaMqabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest
Thank for your comment in Tripadvisor about Miguel Angel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and facilities.
Thank you one more time for your review and we hope to welcome you next time you visit Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room was large and airy and even though the bathroom was dated it was clean. The hair dryer was old but worked satisfactorily. We were there for just one night. We had an early morning flight when the breakfast room was not open but the hotel gave us a very adequate picnic breakfast. It is not ideally located for tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PunePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest
Thank for your comment about Miguel Angel Hotel in Tripadvisor
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and facilities.The Miguel Angel Hotel is situated close to the emblematic Santiago Bernabéu Stadium; It only takes 10 minutes by car to reach the historical center of the city or the Madrid
Thank you one more time for your review and we hope to welcome you next time you visit Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I must have stayed at a different hotel as the hotel was old, the rooms dated, the service lackluster. The carpet was almost bare. The bed had a dip in the middle, and the wireless barely worked. The location of the hotel however is pretty good. A Carrefour is around the corner and a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest
First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care. I regret to hear that it was not entirely satisfied with your room. I will consult with reception departament if there were any incidents concerning the dates in which you stayed.
On the other hand, we have different categories of rooms in our Hotel, that could be adapted to you, and we will be glad to show all of them in your next visit.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Room was a good size for Europe, the staff was personable and professional the hotel is well organized and the breakfast was excellent. Metro is just out the front door and Citi bus is across the street about a 4 minute walk with the signals. Housekeeping was exceptional and courtious, this was a great stay for 6 days the first of May 2014.

Room Tip: Starbucks across the round about has very good sandwiches we had several when we were too full to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest
Thank for your comment about Miguel Angel Hotel in Tripadvisor
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and facilities.Also thank you for your comments about the staff; we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, I changed rooms and was happy as the first room they gave me it was just wrong. Tv placed on a table that didn't even face the bed. The next room was ok. The hotel is outdated and needs to be redone for a 5*. The bed is comfortable, but the furniture really dated. I did enjoy the spa and had a couple massages that were wonderful. I actually preferred taking my shower at the spa and drying my hair there, as the hairdryer in my room didn't work well at all.
It's too bad you have to pay extra to use the pool and hot tub.
The breakfast buffet is nice, and the staff very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginaparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments about Miguel Angel Hotel in Tripadvisor.It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our facilities. We are glad to hear that we can help you when you needed to change room. Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thank you one more time and we will be pleased to welcome you again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#16 of 443 in Madrid
1,560 reviews
Chamberí
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 443 in Madrid
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#99 of 443 in Madrid
760 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#130 of 443 in Madrid
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £83 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing