We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing Queen needs a facelift.”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Clearly the hotel was originally constructed at great expense but is now showing fatigue.
However -
Any shortcomings are amply overcome by the helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

We really appreciate your comments, it is very important for us and it help us with our continuing effort to exceed the expectations of our client.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, great location, gorgeous food, well equipped rooms, very helpful staff..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0lfahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It is very nice to hear your kind comments about the Gran Melia Fenix!

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We hope to see you back soon in Madrid. Please, remember that we are at your complete disposal.

Hoping to accommodate you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2012

As with many hotels, its all about your expectations. We stayed at this hotel because of its old world charm and it surely delivered. The Red Level was great. It consists mainly of a small room on the 7th floor offering a private breakfast and snacks/open bar all day. I got the impression that the Red Level is a service add on, as supposed to a special room. For example, our room was on the 5th floor and a couple we were with were on the 6th floor, but we were both on the Red Level plan. Breakfast downstairs was good too. As for location, this hotel is about a 40 minute walk to Sol, which is the center of town. if you want to be where all the action is then this hotel is a little of out of the way. Its in the posh Salamanca district which is very upscale, great shopping and restaurants were only a block away. Retiro Park and all the museums were within easy walking distance. Taxis were easy to find and the subway was less than a block away. The Red Level concierage was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jehNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

As a member of the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World our commitment is always give our guest the best service and facilities.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Kind regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Right from the moment you step out of the taxi the service was exceptional. All the staff were helpful and very friendly. We upgraded the rooms at a small charge and our friends 50th birthday started with a cake and cava in the room. The breakfast was first class and nobody could do enough for you. Cocktails in the `Dry' bar into the early hours ended each day and once again the staff were brilliant. Location was perfect for a gentle stroll into the heart of Madrid. This hotel ticks all the boxes for quality, cleanliness, location, style and service.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book a room on the fifth floor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I also would like to thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, and staff; be sure that I will share them with the entire team.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Holoing we will have the opportinuty to welcome you back at the Gran Meliá Fénix,

Cordial greeting from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed in Madrid after a long transatlantic cruise at the Fenix. It was a great experiance.
Nice, clean and spacious room and very good service. Also Well located

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RafainLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Once again thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate that.

Looking forward to welcom you soon in Madrid.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Right next to the Colon metro station, Gran Melia offers a great location within a walkable distance from Prado Museum and Retiro park, and quick and easy access to Plaza Espanya, Plaza Santana, Plaza Mayor and other major attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suchipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having choosing us during your visit to Madrid.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

Thank you again for your special comments and we hope to see you again in Madrid.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,913 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#46 of 438 in Madrid
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £152 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing