We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, it's Melia excellence”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stay here, it's Melia excellence”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have just returned from a four night stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and again recommend the Melia chain of hotels and also the location of this hotel.

The hotel is a wonderful, comfortable, good-feeling hotel in a perfect location to explore the vibrant, exciting and happening city of Madrid.

The hotel is situated in the Plaza Colon which is a 15-20 minute walk to the Prado Museum, a must to visit in Madrid. Shopping, culture, restaurants and tapas bars are all within easy reach. For flamenco the Corral de Moreria is excellent and a show/dinner or show only option is available.

Rooms are not huge but comfortable (bathrobes are the best I've had), sheets arechanged daily, towels large, white and fluffy and luxurious Clarins toiletries made my stay very pleasant.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the numerous staff I encountered during my stay were consistently genuine, pleasant and sincere. Thank you Melia for contributing to my very pleasant stay in Madrid. I reconmmend this hotel if staying in Madrid, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view of Plaza Colon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teragram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved. Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    510
    145
    36
    18
See reviews for
373
911
91
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Ideally situated in central Madrid.Nice hotel, old style but very well maintained.Excellent and helpful staff offering that little bit more that you are missing in most hotels nowadays.Rooms are adequate in size, but bathroom is disappointing, especially bath tub/shower combination is tiny ( at least in standard rooms).Nice to have is free bicycles ( at request)!

Room Tip: avoid rooms next to the fire exit, these can be noisy as the fire exit gives out directly to the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

I also would like to thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff.

Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for your comments which help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future,

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The breakfast, rooms, service, and ambiance were so far above my expectations, I was stunned. This is how movie stars and government dignitaries live. In fact, some VIP was staying there during our stay... SWAT truck parked outside the service entrance 24/7, and numerous big young guys in black suits and ties with corded ear bus and large bulges under their coat wandering the public spaces at all hours. Very cloak and dagger feeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavyDad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and nice post!! All the Gran Melia Fenix staff will be very happy to read your positive comments.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a incredible experience between us and you loved all the hotel.

Thank you again for your special comments and we hope to see you again in Madrid.

Regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here at the end of a long trip this year and it was lovely grand place with good staff and very good rooms. Ate there once in dining room which was bit empty but that's more the fact that I can't wait til 10.30 pm for dinner rather than the restaurant. They were renovating the gym whilst I was there so had to go down the road to the another place which was ok but hopefully they'll have it back to normal. There is a Red level which I had access to which is pretty good and has its own concierge and tapas area so if you don't need to eat lunch then this would suit you. There are rooms with jacuzzis on the terrace for your inner rock star and ones with view of Christopher Columbus which are pretty good. You'd be hard pressed to fault it.

Room Tip: they're all pretty good but the ones over the side road are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience in the Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel. It is really important for us to know how was your stay, because give our guest the best service is our most important commitment.

We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality and our Red Level Service reached your expectations.

Thank you again for your special comments and we hope to see you again in Madrid.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Excellent facility, good location. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in name of all the Gran Melia Fenix staff for your feedback. It is really nice for us to know that you enjoyed our hotel.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Fenix it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First class all the way...Pretty much centrally located with 10-30 minute walks to many of the plaza's, museums, shops and restaurants. A little pricey at their bar and tapas area, but that's to be expected considering the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in name of all the Gran Melia Fenix staff for your feedback.

We really appreciate your comments, it is very important for us and it help us with our continuing effort to exceed the expectations of our client.

We hope to see you back soon in Madrid. Please, remember that we are at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

my family and I were there in 24th june, I found everything ok, good service and good location, the lounge for redlevel is ok but not excellent, the weather of loung is warm and foods have not enough.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlirezaMirsepasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Our apreciation again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,804 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,895 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Melia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing