We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a quiet neighborhood.”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a quiet neighborhood.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel on the heart of one of the most exclusive neighborhoods of Madrid.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, service was great, I found the layout of the room a little unpractical, the bathroom was pretty awkward, we were always trying to make sure the doors were not hitting each other, the ac could use some improvement the rooms was always on the warm side and pretty noisy.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are proud to know that our Breakfast Buffet has reached your expectations and you have enjoyed the food and services we provide. On the other hand, we are deeply sorry that our bathrooms did not fit your needs completely. We have taken note about your comments in order to provide you with a room that fits your expectations better.
We hope we have other opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay the most pleasant.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    515
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
394
923
91
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The best service, location of any hotel I know in Madrid and I have tried all of the luxury hotels repeteadly over the last twenty years. Very friendly staff, great location and atmosphere. The quality of the rooms is very high. Good for business or roamce.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank apeinadoabril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such lovely review you have done regarding your stay with us at Gran Meliá Fénix!!

It is very nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay between us, especially because of our friendly staff!. All of our team is looking forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Madrid and keep on providing with the best of our attentions.

Wishing to have this occasion soon,

Sincerely

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a "Red Level" room.
This hotel is wonderful. The bathrooms are perhaps too small for a 5 stars hotel.
Experienced staff will do anything they can to make your stay the most enjoyable possible.
We enjoyed our stay there and will recommed this Melia hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review regarding your stay with us!!

On behalf of myself and the entire staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, we would like to thank you for such a wonderful comment regarding our attention in order to make your stay unforgettable. We are very proud to know that we reach our aim and you had a perfect and special stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The people at the hotel were great. Very friendly and excellent service. They would do anything for us. The sheets were changed every day, we got bottles of water, afternoon treats (we were in an upgraded room) and access to the executive floor. The bathroom was small but it was so clean and so fresh I can't complain about it. Breakfast was excellent and we had a free dinner coupon. Dinner doesn't seem to be their expertise but I didn't go there to eat...Madrid has lots of great restaurants. This was one of the better experiences we have had in Madrid and better than the Palace, Ritz or VillaMagna, mainly because of the people. I will stay again for sure!

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to Level 7 you will enjoy the extra benefits. I looked out over Plaza Col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yerry_yang_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Kind Greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

I would like to thank you for your great comments regarding your stay between us, especially the words you have used to describe our staff and services we provide. Be assured that your review will encourage all our team to keep working and providing to every guest with the best of our attentions.

We are very glad to know that our Hotel reaches completely your expectations and needs, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed prior our Insight tour. It was clean and comfortable, with great food. Hop on hop off bus nearby, taxis easy to use. Would have loved pool due to the hot weather. We were exhausted when we arrived and were quickly assisted to our room. Thanks

Room Tip: Didn't have pool, that the extra I would have liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanih11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

We very much appreciate your great feedback regarding your stay with us and we would like to thank you for all the details you highlighted. I am sure it will help other people who visit Madrid to find the hotel that fits their needs the most.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice. Excelent service. Very well attended and serviced by the staff.

Extremely nice in attention. We had a very satisfactory breakfast buffet. Food was excellent.

Rooms very comfortable, quiet and immpecable cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gran Meliá Fénix team, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your visit to Madrid as well as for posting such a wonderful remark regarding your experience with us.
All your comments are very well appreciated in order to continue giving the best of our service to all of our guests. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and you appreciate the cleanness of your room.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid!

Warm Regards,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location. Everything from reception to breakfast was fantastic! We spent three nights in a premium room and really enjoyed our stay in Madrid.
Unfortunately the was one problem: I have never seen a bathroom that small in a hotel of this class! We even asked to see sime other rooms and we saw the same...tiny bathrooms. The room was spacious, the king bed very comfortable but I don't understand how the bathroom can be that small...anyway as I said, everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourtheplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind feedback and your lovely words used to describe our Hotel. On the other hand, we regret to know that your experience with us was not as pleasant as we would love due to your bathroom and we apologize if the size did not reach your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 435 in Madrid
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Melia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing