We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is in a nice location in Salamanca which is near all the posh shops and is very safe. It's about 6 Euros from the large shopping area in Portal del Sol & Plaza Mayor. Now I'd prefer to stay somewhere quiet and shop elsewhere but everyone has different expectations.
We had a room with no view which is fine but the shower floods the bathroom floor and the decor is a bit tired looking.
The friendly & helpful staff does make up for the decor, and the breakfast is not bad.
It is in a convenient location.
They have a cool Dry Martini bar which does good cocktails & tapas - for a price of course!
Spanish Christmas markets is a HUGE disappointment but that could be my ignorance in not knowing the difference between this and the traditional markets I've come to expect from Germany, Austria & France. Spanish ones are all tacky wigs and plasticky religious figurines and mistletoe sprays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

We highly appreciate your comments regarding the bathroom, thanks to them we continuously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is ok but not worth the cost. Upon arrival no one helped us with our bags. We were on the red level so we checked in on that floor. Our room was ok (king bed was nice) but the bathroom is very, very small (even for Europe). There is no separate shower from bathtub which you would expect for the money. They concierges on the red level were unfriendly and not helpful. We actually went to the lobby to get help. The red level is not worth it - save your money. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
5  Thank ManhattanTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share with us your experience in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

We regret to know that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished due to size of the room. Please, let me inform you that we have different types of rooms, and we will be very glad to show you them next time you come to our hotel.

On the other hand, we regret to know your perception about our Red Level Concierges because is not usual, however, we have taken note of your comment.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back, I take this occasion to wish you a Merry Christmas.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at Gran Melia Fenix just for one night. I was pleased to receive an upgrade based on the way in which this booking was made (AMEX Platinum travel service), including complimentary breakfast (excellent attentive service) and set-menu dinner at the hotel restaurant (which was nothing special to write home about in terms of dinner itself but excellent in terms of service, attentiveness of the restaurant staff and the overall ambience).

This hotel is an old school luxury one in a good sense with heavy carpets, lush drapes, chandeliers, etc. so if you are into modern clean lines and minimalism, perhaps book somewhere else. My only negative comment is the size of the bathroom, with over-the-bath shower but this, I assume, is related to the old historic character of the building.

Overall, I felt welcomed and cared for, and would come back and recommend this hotel without any second thoughts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix staff I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession. Be assured I have shared your constructive and kind comments with all the team who will be very proud of your remarks.

Regarding your comments about the bathroom, I will appreciate if next time you come to Madrid you may contact me in order to provide you with the room that best fit your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a Happy Christmas!!

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

- Great hotel, and the red level is worth the extra money!
- We really enjoyed our stay here, the private lounge, hot tub, very friendly service, ...
- Good breakfast buffet, nice rooms, all very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermeust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your comments about your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix Hotel.

I am thrilled to know that you have a wonderful stay with us and that you have enjoyed our Red Level service.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a Merry Christmas!

Regards,

Sandra Hernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The rooms is well decorated and comfortable, up to standards of a five star hotel. The bar is a cool place for a drink at the center of Madrid, which offers quality drinks and a nice view of squares and skylines. Service is impeccable. That's probably why it drew the Beatles and Bill Clinton. I had a small stain on my jacket, asked the laundry room to try to get rid of it around 23:00. They returned a flawless suit jacket the next morning, without charging, as removing a stain did not constitute a whole "dry-washing". The receptionist Hector was helpful and polite. Several days later, someone in the hotel industry mentioned to me the Gran Melia Fenix was one of the best hotels in Spain, and I fully agreed.

Stayed in November

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant review of Gran Meliá Fénix.

We are delighted to know that you have a wonderful experience with us and that you have enjoyed our DRY Martini Bar. It is a great pleasure to know that your stay with us has exceeded your expectations and that you found our service to be of high standards. I have shared your feedback with the entire team, specially with Hector, who was very happy to know that his work have been highly appreciated.

We would like to thank you again for trusting in our hotel during your visit to Madrid, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Wishing you a Happy Christmas, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Immaculate service. Wonderful rooms. Great firm beds. The reception rooms are full of wonderfully restored grandeur. Clarins in the bathrooms. Amazing restaurant. Had such a wonderful time, a perfect weekend break. One of the particularly amazing things for an old hotel like this is how well soundproofed the rooms were, and how good the sun blinds were (important in Madrid). Lets you sleep late when you're up late.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Knurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

Our principal aim is to make our guest’s stays a memorable and very special experience and I am delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Wishing you a Mery Christmas, I take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a Classic older styled Hotel in Downtown Madrid next to Columbus Square. It is very ornamental with all if the features and style of a bygone era. Provides Wifi and Breakfast is great. Did not try Dinner at hotel. Service is impeccable, the TV Channels are all in Spanish. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Awayfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience in the Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel. It is really important for us to know how your stay was, because our principal aim is give our guest the best service.

We hope next time you come back to Madrid, you have the opportunity to enjoy all our services.

Looking forward to have this opportunity in the near future, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting and to wish you a Merry Christmas!!.

With Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#37 of 438 in Madrid
1,914 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#47 of 438 in Madrid
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £154 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing