We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #29 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

simply the best in Madrid service, location...you get what you pay. Located close to great restaurants and the recommendations were very good...We had the chance to stay at the red level and is a different hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 507arielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you have enjoyed our Red Level and that our service met your expectations. I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that they have made your stay an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    501
    142
    35
    14
See reviews for
367
895
90
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Big breakfast, confortable bed, excellent service. I want to cone back here, everyone are very nice to clients. This hotel is very clean and organized. The location of this hotel is great. There's has an hard Rock madrid right down.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ana Mafalda N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time in the Gran Melia Fénix Hotel.

We hope to see you soon in Madrid and welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

stayed 4 nights on 6th floor, deluxe room, window to courtyard. room and bathroom not too big, classical good quality ambiance. good room service, excellent breakfast. very good located for Madrid sightseeing, tourist buslines just in front of hotel, shopping streets around the corner, very good selection of Restaurants in close calle Jorge Juan. wifi is free and world in all parts of hotel. taxi is about 30? from airport. also airport bus station close to hotel. sport facilities ate in good vondotion but hsd no tome to use.

Helpful?
2 Thank rokbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have a good experience during your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix.

We hope the next time you return back to Madrid, you can spend more days to enjoy all of our service and the city.

Thank you for sharing your positive comments!!!

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our service was impeccable from the moment we arrived throughout our 4 day stay. The location was perfect and every member of the staff seemed to be well-trained. Our room was on the red level - 2 extremely comfortable beds, a large beautiful bathroom with all amenities, a luxurious tub and separate toilet room. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the lounge on our floor and appreciated the private opportunity to relax there with tasty tapas and choice of beverages. We were fortunate to have nearly perfect weather to enjoy the comfort of the terrace as well as leisurely walks in the wonderfully busy area surrounding the hotel after the fabulous complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: I have only stayed here once, but I believe that the rooms must offer slightly different accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you and your sister have enjoyed your stay with us, specially our Red Level. I am extremely glad to know that our service met your expectations and our team help to turn your visit in a memorable experience. I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is in a nice location in Salamanca which is near all the posh shops and is very safe. It's about 6 Euros from the large shopping area in Portal del Sol & Plaza Mayor. Now I'd prefer to stay somewhere quiet and shop elsewhere but everyone has different expectations.
We had a room with no view which is fine but the shower floods the bathroom floor and the decor is a bit tired looking.
The friendly & helpful staff does make up for the decor, and the breakfast is not bad.
It is in a convenient location.
They have a cool Dry Martini bar which does good cocktails & tapas - for a price of course!
Spanish Christmas markets is a HUGE disappointment but that could be my ignorance in not knowing the difference between this and the traditional markets I've come to expect from Germany, Austria & France. Spanish ones are all tacky wigs and plasticky religious figurines and mistletoe sprays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

We highly appreciate your comments regarding the bathroom, thanks to them we continuously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is ok but not worth the cost. Upon arrival no one helped us with our bags. We were on the red level so we checked in on that floor. Our room was ok (king bed was nice) but the bathroom is very, very small (even for Europe). There is no separate shower from bathtub which you would expect for the money. They concierges on the red level were unfriendly and not helpful. We actually went to the lobby to get help. The red level is not worth it - save your money. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
5 Thank ManhattanTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share with us your experience in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

We regret to know that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished due to size of the room. Please, let me inform you that we have different types of rooms, and we will be very glad to show you them next time you come to our hotel.

On the other hand, we regret to know your perception about our Red Level Concierges because is not usual, however, we have taken note of your comment.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back, I take this occasion to wish you a Merry Christmas.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at Gran Melia Fenix just for one night. I was pleased to receive an upgrade based on the way in which this booking was made (AMEX Platinum travel service), including complimentary breakfast (excellent attentive service) and set-menu dinner at the hotel restaurant (which was nothing special to write home about in terms of dinner itself but excellent in terms of service, attentiveness of the restaurant staff and the overall ambience).

This hotel is an old school luxury one in a good sense with heavy carpets, lush drapes, chandeliers, etc. so if you are into modern clean lines and minimalism, perhaps book somewhere else. My only negative comment is the size of the bathroom, with over-the-bath shower but this, I assume, is related to the old historic character of the building.

Overall, I felt welcomed and cared for, and would come back and recommend this hotel without any second thoughts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix staff I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession. Be assured I have shared your constructive and kind comments with all the team who will be very proud of your remarks.

Regarding your comments about the bathroom, I will appreciate if next time you come to Madrid you may contact me in order to provide you with the room that best fit your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a Happy Christmas!!

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#67 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing