We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice time at the Gran Melia”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“nice time at the Gran Melia”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Along with the very nice facility and great location, they have a very attentive and professional staff who will do whatever they are able to make your stay in Madrid a successful one. Rooms are nice size and very well appointed. Breakfast is above average. The general feel while in the common areas is first class. Would stay there next time in Madrid without question

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Melia Fenix for your stay the last month.

We are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations both with the product and service that we extend throughout the Hotel. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    521
    150
    37
    19
See reviews for
405
930
91
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Madrid with wife and 2 teenagers for a long weekend.
Hotel is small but very centrally located for most touristy things. Taxis are dirt cheap compared to London, & nothing was longer than 10 mins away, except the airport which was 20.
Rooms were small, but well appointed and in nice condition. The Dry bar is beautiful, but expensive, as most bars in 5 star hotels.
What set this hotel above a lot of others was the service. Young staff, very efficient , BUT extremely friendly and courteous. What a change from the normal stuffy staff that seem to inhabit upmarket hotels.
I know some clients prefer more formal service, but as an experienced traveller with a family, this was pitched just right.
Special thanks to Hector at the front, who made us feel so welcome.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fenix for your stay in Madrid.

We are delighted to know that you and your family have a wonderful stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, specially with Hector, who was very happy to know that his work have been highly appreciated.

We would like to thank you again for trusting in our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your family in a near future.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel. It has many positives: the location is walking distance to the heart of the city, all the staff are helpful, friendly and courteous, the hotel is beautifully kept and the breakfast is second to none. We stayed in a deluxe room which was small but well equipped. But the bathroom was cramped with the toilet in a recess directly facing and inches away from a bidet. The layout is ridiculous and anyone with mobility problems would not have been able to manoeuvre around the bidet. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk away from an excellent supermarket at El Corte Ingles in Calle de Serrano.

Helpful?
2 Thank PartTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We really much appreciate your comment regarding your recent stay in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and location met your expectations.
On the other hand, please let me inform you that we have different type of room and we will be very glad to show you next time you come to Madrid, in order to make your next stay a fabulous experience!.

Looking forward to welcome you soon, I remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you required.

With our best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Gran Melia Fenix is amazing. Beautiful, large rooms and bathrooms. Delicious breakfast buffet, great service. Location is very close to the subway. Very quiet location. We stayed during a big celebration and could not hear the crowds right outside unless we opened the set of double windows!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GASunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention for make your stay an unforgettable memories.

Looking forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed in Gran Melia Fenix for 3 days, and I lived an amazing experience in the Hotel.
The location is absolutely perfect: facing Plaza Colon, 2 mins walking distance from the fashion streets Serrano and Hortega y Gasset, and located in the heart of the barrio Salamanca, one of the most lively and lovely!
The Hotel is fantastic, with classic and modern facilties.
The service is OUTSTANDING!
You feel like home once you enter in the Hotel, because everybody is ready to help with discretion, always at disposal with a hudge smile...
You feel pampered in each moment of the stay...
The breakfast is very good, the service is perfect, the room very classical and well equipped with all the modern facilities.
The RedLevel on the 7th floor is highly recommend! It deserve to take a room with this exclusive service because it's like a hotel inside the hotel, with a private reception, a private lounge where I took breakfast and open till 11pm with open bar and canapes!
I highly recommend this wonderful hotel when visiting Madrid...
And I am proud to say that people is the soul of this beautiful hotel!!!well done!

Room Tip: RedLevel service is the best option... absolutely recommendable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alesilla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix staff for nice comments regarding your stay with us.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession.

I have shared your constructive and kind comments to all the team who will be very proud of your remarks. We appreciate your time in writing this review.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon in the Gran Meliá Fénix, your home in Madrid!!

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip, for a conference.

I was impressed with the service from all the staff. I arrived quite late at night but still received a very warm and genuine welcome. All the staff are friendly and helpful, it really is service with a smile. This is true from the front desk, to the maid, the bar and the restaurant.

Breakfast was included in my rate and had a good range of hot and cold food. The fruit was very nice, as was the yogurt.

My room was clean and spacious and the bed linen very comfortable. The only criticism I would make is that the decor was very dark and heavy (I think this is often the style in Spain) and the bathroom was a little cramped.

All the conference facilities in the basement worked smoothly and well. Someone below commented on a smell of drains; I did not encounter this anywhere in the hotel except in the basement which was a bit whiffy but the smell seemed to go when the room filled up with people. Apart from this I would have given the hotel five stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Gran Meliá Fénix.

We really much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us because thanks to them we continusly work to improve our product. Be assured that we have taken note of your comments in order to prevent that this unusual situation will happen again.

On the other hand, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel, and that our business meeting met your expectations. In addition, it is a pleasure to know that our team make your stay an enjoyable experience.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and this place rocks! Great hotel ambiance, excellent food, friendly staff and rooms are outstanding! Access to busses located across the street. 1 euro to ride the bus and 7 min. To plaza del sol! Checkout the museum of meat! Sandwiches and beer are 1 euro each. If you want a 50's style diner, it's behind the hotel. Food is excellent and it's fun to see old school USA in Spain. Try the shakes for a flavor of back home! So much to see and do! Free wifi when you wind down at night!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNut342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your trust chosen the Gran Melia Fenix in your visits to Madrid.

It is always a pleasure to have you here and we are glad to receive your positive feedback regarding your stay with us because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention for make your stay a memorable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you in a near future, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#6 of 436 in Madrid
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
1,034 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#40 of 436 in Madrid
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Lastminute, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing