We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked it!”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #33 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
FLA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We Liked it!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having been to Madrid 3 times in the past year we had grown dissatisfied with our previous hotel. After reading the reviews we decided on this property. As the title suggests "we liked it". We paid for the Red Level and spent four days. The room was not overly spacious , nor was the bathroom the biggest however the Red Level service was excellent. We ate breakfast in both the Red Level and the downstairs area. The wife preferred downstairs as she felt there was more variety. transport from the hotel to the sites is easy. Bus number 5 and 150 and 27 are key numbers to remember or the metro is easy as well. Overall we are happy and we will return to the Gran Meliá upon our next visit. Note: I am a member of LHW.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Token
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review!

It has been a pleasure for us to be your host during your stay in Madrid. As a Leaders Club Member, we are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality and Red Level reached your expectations.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Fenix it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,342
    509
    144
    36
    18
See reviews for
373
908
91
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend and booked a room on the seventh floor (Red level). We paid more for it, but it has some OK snacks and a great selection of wines and champagne. Usually on these "amenity floors" the staff are a little "reserved" with the champagne but the staff here weren't , they just kept bringing it out! If you like a drink we would recommend you think about paying that little extra up front for what savings you will make on the drinks.

The lounge was quiet and had a nice atmosphere about it - we had a great time with our friends, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and again the staff were very helpful as we have dietary issues (wheat and dairy intolerances). They had gluten free bread and soya milk and advised which dishes we could eat - adapting where they could.
The only slight issue was that the dining room looked a little dated.

The room we had was nice, if a little small but the staff were the best, very helpful. They let us stay in the room until our flight in the late afternoon. We would go back.

Room Tip: Chose a red level room (7th floor). Good lounge with great beverage selection and friendly staff. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arandbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix team for your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a gorgeous weekend in our Red Level. Likewise, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession.

I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team who will be very proud of your remarks. We appreciate your time in writing this review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

Sincerely,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited Madrid mid March. The hotel and the staff were lovely. Great location and great martini bar. However we had several mishaps with our room. The heat was left on the first night and we had to switch from a lovely view room to one that overlooked a tall grey building at 11;00PM as it was too hot to sleep in. The coffee pot did not work, the blow dryer did not work and we returned the 2nd day at 6:00PM and our room had not been cleaned. None of these things were life threatening just inconvenient. I asked to speak to the General Manager, Angel G. Lobo. I explained to him the mishaps and he responded "let me check into it". We went to the martini bar. He came out there and proceeded to say that the heat and the failure to clean the room were our fault.and that we already had the "cheapest room " in the hotel and should not have a view. We ( are members of Luxury Hotels of the World which entitles us to upgraded rooms.) Needless to say he was quite rude showing no sense of customer service. We were not asking for anything just trying to make him aware of the problems that had arisen. Clearly "Angel" is not well versed in customer service or the hospitality industry. While we will stay at the hotel again if in Madrid we hope that the manager moves on .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank mgrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Melia Fénix for your visit to Madrid.

We really much appreciate your comment regarding your stay with us. We deeply regret to know that despite of Mr. Lobo’s efforts to satisfy and meet your expectations we were not able to achieve our principal aim which is the full satisfaction of our guests.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and give you our best in order to make you live a magic experience as we used to provide to all of our guests.

I remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March 2014, in a Premium Red Level room, and grand it was!

I have to say, this is definitely the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in.

It is wall to wall luxury and the staff are friendly, helpful and cannot do enough for you.

Everything was superb, including the weather and we had a lovely time.

It is approximately half an hour walk to the old town however, right on the edge of the shopping district.

Red Level was fantastic, Champagne, snacks, coffees etc…. all day and lovely to return to following sight-seeing.

We ate breakfast in the Red Level lounge and the main restaurant, both were fantastic.

We ate the Martini Bar (tapas) twice in the evening, which was very good and reasonably priced.

If you are going to Madrid, do it in style and stay at the Gran Melia Fenix, you won’t regret it!

Room Tip: Red Level - it is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Melia Fenix for your stay in Madrid.

We are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations both with the product and service that we extend throughout the Hotel. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoy your stay with us, specially our Red Level and Dry Martini. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team and they were very happy to know that our effort are highly appreciated by our guests.

We hope to see you soon in Madrid and welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZUG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The structures of the building are from an other age. The regular rooms and bathrooms are relatively small.

The suites on the club level are of good size and they have a open-air jacuzzy. This must be nice in the summer time.

The club level offers wines and beverage of good quality and many sorts of tapas and small snacks.

The breakfast in the restaurant is very good and offers a great selection for almost any European gusto.

It is a good offering with a service that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors to Hermosilla and the Plaza de Colon. The other two sides are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kypt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that our exclusivity Red Level Service meet your expectation. l It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention to make your stay an unforgettable memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you in a near future, I remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you require.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Looks very nice but the rooms reminded me of Paris which mean very small. I paid for a deluxe double room instead i received a deluxe "single" room. I entered my room and fall into bed literally because it wasn t enough space. They ask me 20 euros per night if i want to change the room. I saw a single room on my way to my room and it was twice as big. Except for that the breakfest was great, location very good and don t forget to try the candies from the reception :)

Room Tip: Ask for a single room. It's bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexut2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of Gran Meliá Fénix on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix, and we are terribly sorry that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished due to the size of the room. We will appreciate if you may contact us next time you come to Madrid, in order to provide you with the room that best fit your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix, I remain at you complete disposal.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I really can't express how amazing our experience was here! We showed up with no plans other than to see Madrid. The concierge upgraded our room free of charge to make room for our. 9 year old, found us amazing box seat tickets to Real Madrid game and greeted us every day w new ideas to experience the city. When it was time for us to leave, the bar staff, manager and front desk staff all came out to say farewell and wish us luck on the rest of our travels! Excellent service! Highly recommend!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Winesnobjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback regarding your recent experience lived in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Your kind words addressed to staff professionalism and highlighting our excellent service, mean a reason of great pride and motivation for all of us, since we daily work with passion to provide high quality service to our Guests.

We are extremely happy to see that we were able to turn your stay into a unique experience...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 436 in Madrid
1,802 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#10 of 436 in Madrid
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Melia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing