We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #29 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My family and I stayed at the Gran Melia Fenix from 4/11 - 4/18 and found it to be quite charming. We had two connecting rooms in the Red Level. The rooms were plenty spacious for a central city hotel and had great character. Sure, the closet space was limited and the bathroom was on the small size, but I have found this to be the norm for European hotels.

The location is fabulous. Very close to the Metro (which was easy to navigate). Close to bus lines. Easy walking distance to some of the cities nicest cultural landmarks. Near restaurants, shoppes, banks. Nice quiet, safe area.

The hotel does have amenities. There is a workout room (which looked almost brand new), a spacious tea lounge (with an excellent pianist), a superb bar with an outside terrace, restaurants and a spa. As noted, there is no pool. But, I can't think of any city hotel containing a swimming pool. In my opinion there was plenty to do inside the hotel.

As I stated, we were Red Level guests. As such we had private concierge service and a private lounge on the 7th floor offering a variety of services such as breakfast, beverages, tapas & newspapers. We couldn't have been more pleased with the Red Level service. The friendliness and help from the staff was incredible. They recommended restaurants & day trips, booked excursions and educated us beyond our wildest imagination. They were truly superb. This came as no surprise since they were just as helpful via email correspondence before we even arrived. They made our vacation truly memorable.

As for the rest of the staff in the hotel, we never experienced anything other than professional and helpful service. Whether hailing a cab or asking for directions, the staff was always there for our help.

We will return to Madrid and when we do, we will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Red Level service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Fénix for your recent trip to Madrid, as well as for taking the time to share such a nice comments with us and with others travellers.

It was our great pleasure to look after you during your stay. I am pleased to know that our exclusive Red Level Service meet all your expectations. Moreover, I am thrilled to know that you felt welcomed like family, that your every needs were attended for the entire team and that you have never experienced the level of personal service anywhere else. It is a great reward to receive such positive feedback and we are truly grateful!!.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future, I remain at your complete disposal.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    499
    140
    35
    14
See reviews for
367
894
90
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is an interesting place to review for me. First of all, the hotel is nice, old style, clean, good location. The rooms are good sized, the bathrooms are funky. The shower tub is just dangerous trying to get and out is an acrobatic work. The shower needs a soap holder. The AC is very noisy in the rooms, and not very cool.
The reason for the 3 stars is that for this price, there are No amenities. I mean, nothing. They have this Red Carpet service I was not a part of, but without amenities for the general hotel, I think this is a terrible idea. I mean, there is no place to sit, eat, no terrace, shops, pool, no nothing. Only if you have the Red Carpet service. Seams like if you can't provide amenities, maybe the " Red Carpet" idea should be incorporated into the general hotel for all guest. It's, not like the hotel has the depth of service to create a dichotomy of luxury. I recommend another place unless you get Red Carpet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your trip to Madrid!

We really much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay because our principal aim is the full satisfaction of our guests. For this reason, we regret to know that your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix was not as pleasant as we wished.

On the other hand and regarding your comment, we would have loved that you would have enjoyed our Dry Martini Bar and Terrace, the Tea Time with life music, our Restaurant Epoque, our gym or our new and amazing Thai Room Wellness. We deeply recommend you our Red Level, but if you are not interested in join it, for your next visit to Madrid I will be delighted to show you personally all the facilities that we offer to all of our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back, and provide you with our best, I remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you require.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stay at this great hotel in the middle of Madrid. Service is great, if you have access to the red label don't hesitate to spend your afternoons with some champagne at the terrace! Breakfast are good but they could improve.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest!

Greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!

I would like to thank you for sharing with us and with others travelers your experience with us. I am enchanted to know that you enjoyed an excellent stay in our exclusive Red Level Service.

For the entire team, it will be a pleasure to host you in a near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the Gran Melia after Christmas, into the New Year. First impressions were that the hotel is smaller that what I had envisaged (but that could be said for most, given the impressive photography that we are fed in advance of the real thing!).

Our room was a Deluxe and perfectly acceptable, old world luxury. Very comfortable bed and thus I had a good sleep. The Clarins amenities in the bathroom were a welcome touch.

The wood-panelled lounge off the lobby is a really cool place to relax during the day, very sumptuous, with a club-like feel to it. And the lounge food, wow! Very impressive tapas, not your usual dishes. The DRY cocktail bar is also quite glam and exactly the type of bar that one would want in an oldschool luxury hotel.

My only gripe with the Fenix is that it doesn't have a pool or leisure facilities, and I was aware of that before my stay. In this day and age it's vital that top hotels offer the full range of 5* facilities because if they don't then there's another down the road that does. Hopefully the Fenix can develop such facilities some time in the future.

It was a very busy time for the hotel when we stayed and it was operating at full capacity but the staff and service were excellent at all times. Really enjoyed our time in Madrid and at the Gran Melia Fenix.

P.s. you must visit Bar Tomate restaurant nearby, it's a really cool place with a buzzing atmosphere and great food.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

I would like to thank you for having choosen the Gran Melia Fénix to enjoy such a special occasion as the New Year.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you have lived a magic stay in our hotel because we work everyday to provide to our guests unforgettable memories.
Regarding your commments about our facilities, please, let me inform you that we have just opened our new Thai Room Wellness, and we will be very glad to show you during your next visit.

Looking forward to host you, I would like to take this occasion to send you a heartfelt greeting.

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is just 3-min walk to the Serrano station where have many shops and nice resturants around. The staff can speak good English and offer help (e.g. recommend dining places) in a nice manner. Although the room is quite petite, it is very tidy and well-equipped. Specially recommendto those who like shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esther0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Melia Fenix during your stay in Madrid.

We really much appreciate the time you have taken sharing your experiencie with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that our location meet your expectation and that our team helps to turn your visit in a great experience.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near furture and provide you with the best of our attention, I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting!

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Having been to Madrid 3 times in the past year we had grown dissatisfied with our previous hotel. After reading the reviews we decided on this property. As the title suggests "we liked it". We paid for the Red Level and spent four days. The room was not overly spacious , nor was the bathroom the biggest however the Red Level service was excellent. We ate breakfast in both the Red Level and the downstairs area. The wife preferred downstairs as she felt there was more variety. transport from the hotel to the sites is easy. Bus number 5 and 150 and 27 are key numbers to remember or the metro is easy as well. Overall we are happy and we will return to the Gran Meliá upon our next visit. Note: I am a member of LHW.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Token
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review!

It has been a pleasure for us to be your host during your stay in Madrid. As a Leaders Club Member, we are delighted to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality and Red Level reached your expectations.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Fenix it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend and booked a room on the seventh floor (Red level). We paid more for it, but it has some OK snacks and a great selection of wines and champagne. Usually on these "amenity floors" the staff are a little "reserved" with the champagne but the staff here weren't , they just kept bringing it out! If you like a drink we would recommend you think about paying that little extra up front for what savings you will make on the drinks.

The lounge was quiet and had a nice atmosphere about it - we had a great time with our friends, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and again the staff were very helpful as we have dietary issues (wheat and dairy intolerances). They had gluten free bread and soya milk and advised which dishes we could eat - adapting where they could.
The only slight issue was that the dining room looked a little dated.

The room we had was nice, if a little small but the staff were the best, very helpful. They let us stay in the room until our flight in the late afternoon. We would go back.

Room Tip: Chose a red level room (7th floor). Good lounge with great beverage selection and friendly staff. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arandbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix team for your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a gorgeous weekend in our Red Level. Likewise, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason why we are proud of our profession.

I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team who will be very proud of your remarks. We appreciate your time in writing this review.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

Sincerely,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#67 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#9 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#34 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Melia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing