We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a fair price”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury at a fair price”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The bedroom and bath were very well appointed. The toiletries are first class and the bathrobes are scrumptious . The bar is wonderful whether indoors or out.. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The location is within walking distance of the prado, and fashionable shopping. Have breakfast at a nearby Pain Quotidien.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasnhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share through TripAdvisor how your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix was. Your kind feedback is very important for us in order to know if we have exceed your expectations and we have been able to turn your stay into a unique and special vacation.

We are very delighted to know that we have achieved our aim and you have been very satisfied with overall the hotel and staff.

Thank you again and be welcome to come back anytime, we will be looking forward to have you here soon!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    515
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
394
923
91
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My second stay at the Fenix was better than I remember the first one. Location wise, this hotel is unbeatable as it is right at the heart of the Salamanca neighbourhood. Service was very decent. That said, the hotel and the rooms in particular could do with a bit of a facelift. This appears to be reflected in the rate as the hotel tends to be priced at the low end of hotels in a similar bracket.
The terrace bar almost merits a separate review. It opens till late and cocktails are great. Amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really much appreciate your comment regarding your recent stay in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and moreover our staff and location met your expectations.

We are also glad to know that you were delighted by the atmosphere of our Dry Martini Bar and you have treated yourself with our fabulous cocktails.

Looking forward to welcome you soon, I remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you required.

With our best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the GRAN MELIA FENIX . This hotel is really beautifull. As a regular costumer we loved to stay here. Things have changed now. After the last visit the doormen took our luggage into the hotel. After a few hours we found out that one of our bags was not brought to our room and missing. At the desk they checked security tapes and saw that sonebody had come into the hotel and had stolen one of our suitcases. After some conversations with the managing director they promissed us that they would take care of the damage. After a few weeks of email traffic and sending in all saleslips of our property they changed their opinion and do not want to take responsibillity. A lawsuit will be nessesery. SHAME GRAN MELIA FENIX. Not worth to be a 5 star hotel. People be aware of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank Karel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just been to Madrid on a four night break with friends. Choose this hotel as liked the sound of the red level floor. So glad we stayed here, the rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful and the red level lounge was amazing! We love champagne so the Moet available breakfast until 11pm was great. Every spirit you could think of and the constant stream of food available plus breakfast was fantastic too. Shame all the Melia's don't have all have the red level service.

Well done Melia Fenix Madrid, had a lovely stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on red level quite large but small bathrooms which seem to be an issue with other guests also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix team for your nice comments regarding your stay with us! Receiving such a lovely reviews from our guest is the best reward for us. The Red Level Lounge is one of our treasures and we are really glad to know that you have enjoyed it and treated yourself in there during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back, I remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a view to the backyard stairs and AC equipment. The AC did not work well in our room it got warm at night.
It took a lot of convincing to the hotel workers to put the soccer World Cup on TV, it was a payed channel :(
Good location !
The bellmen are the best !
The lady manager, not helpful sorry :(

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay in the Gran Meliá Fenix.

We really appreciate your comments, which are such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me to monitor the service we provide.
We regret to know that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished to because our principal aim is to provide high quality and helpful service to all our guest and we feel very disappointed when we do not achieve it.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to provide you with the best of our attention, I remain at you complete disposal for any assistance you require.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We changed our hotel area and loved the new location. close to restaurants, shops and many touristic points, this hotel was a great surprise. No need to get a taxi to go out at night, you can walk arround this nice neighborhood. Breakfest is amazing. The hotel bar is also very nice, but too expensive. The service is as good as expected.

Room Tip: Get a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your nice comments about your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a fantastic Gran Meliá experience! Your nice feedback helps us to achieve the excellence in our service.

We are proud to know that you had a wonderful time in our Hotel, and our central location and the breakfast buffet reached your expectations. We encourage you to try next time you visit us our new Thai Wellness Room, the best option to relax yourself.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Everything about this hotel was first class, except the room rates, which were reasonable. The room looked like a king's bedroom, and we didn't want to leave it! Great bar, inside and outside. Treat yourself to a night here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickTheGreekTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

We are thrilled to know that your stay with us was very pleasant and you had time to relax in our Dry Martini Bar. We feel very proud to see that the room fit your needs and you could relax during your visit to Madrid.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon and keep turning your stay into an outstanding experience.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 435 in Madrid
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Lastminute, Agoda, Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing