We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet charmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #27 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A quiet charmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a side street with a magnificent reception
To impress. Friendly English speaking are very helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom , not overly big, but comfortable for one person at a time. Restaurant breakfast was delicious, however the tapas bar service was slow and limited. A nice courtyard great for a coffe.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first, since we heard from other travellers, that they differ in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

We are very happy to know that your recent stay at Gran Meliá Fénix was wonderful and you spent a great time with us. We are very excited about your kind words regarding our staff. Be assured we will share your comments with them as an incentive to keep working with the best of our smiles!

On the other hand, we regret to know that our Dry Bar did not meet your expectations. We take note of your suggestion in order to improve the service and achieve your total satisfaction next time you come to visit us.

Looking forward to have this occasion soon, I remind at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    487
    137
    34
    14
See reviews for
358
877
89
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and this one is my favorite. What made it for my family was being part of the Red Level Service. Beatrix and Susanna were great, booking day trips for us and handling all our needs. Having access to all the wonderful foods, drinks and being able to enjoy these on the roof top balcony or in the beautiful private room was great. I can go on and on but really well done! We were party of 3, my wife and son and were given room 401 a beautiful appointed room , spacious with a huge bed for my wife and I and they rolled in a twin bed for my son whiich was put off to side and the room was still roomy. Private entry hall, double sink bathroom, full tub/shower and door closing off toilet.
There is a Restaurant in hotel which was very good and a Martini Bar which we stopped at after Red Level hours for drinks, all very nice.
Hard Rock has a restaurant attached to hotel ans after a day of touring we ate outside and you would never know you were not in a Spanish street cafe and then you can hop right back to room afterwards.
The hop on hop off bus has 2 routes both picking up around the corner from hotel entrance. This hotel is just outside of the very busy tourist areas, we walked everywhere from hotel plus did hop on hop off bus. I looked on line at Westin Palace when researching and decided to go with Melia Fenix, so glad we did.
After 7 days we were so sad to leave, from bellmen, to front desk, to restaurant staff, houskeepers, everyone... were so accommodating and friendly. The hotel lobby and floors are elegant but never did we feel out of place, it was our home for 6 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frefutravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

Greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking a bit of your time in sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your kind feedback regarding your last stays with us.

It was a pleasure to have you here and to know that you had a great time between us. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed all the services we have, specially our executive Red Level Service and Our Dry Bar. Be assured we will share your comments to the staff you named in order to motivating them and keep providing with the best of our services.

Thank you also for your tips about Madrid, I am sure it will be very helpful for future guests!

Looking forward to welcome you back in your home in Madrid, I remind at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Gran Melia Fenix is a wonderfully appointed hotel with all the features one could ask for; a gym, a salon, English tea service from 1700 to 1900 hours, and a restaurant with both outside and inside accommodations. What makes this hotel special is the service from the door man to the concierge, to the maid and room service. The employees of this hotel go above and beyond every minute and in every interaction that it makes us feel truly special and wanted guests. Another item of special note is that they use Clarins soaps and lotions - my wife assures me they are top quality and they smell wonderful. For people who like a quiet hotel for sleeping, they have two sets of double paned windows and black out curtains hidden behind their beautifully appointed room,, it masks the noise from outside perfectly. If you're looking for a hotel with modern conveniences and traditional charm and feel, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

The entire team is very excited to know that you have enjoyed all the experience Gran Meliá, from the very quiet room to the Restaurant or Tea Time, and our staff helped to make your stay even more special and memorable.
As you pointed, our rooms are very well equipped with soundproof windows in order to guarantee the silence and the completely relax of our guests.

We cannot wait to welcome you back soon and keep taking care of you!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The bedroom and bath were very well appointed. The toiletries are first class and the bathrobes are scrumptious . The bar is wonderful whether indoors or out.. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The location is within walking distance of the prado, and fashionable shopping. Have breakfast at a nearby Pain Quotidien.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share through TripAdvisor how your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix was. Your kind feedback is very important for us in order to know if we have exceed your expectations and we have been able to turn your stay into a unique and special vacation.

We are very delighted to know that we have achieved our aim and you have been very satisfied with overall the hotel and staff.

Thank you again and be welcome to come back anytime, we will be looking forward to have you here soon!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My second stay at the Fenix was better than I remember the first one. Location wise, this hotel is unbeatable as it is right at the heart of the Salamanca neighbourhood. Service was very decent. That said, the hotel and the rooms in particular could do with a bit of a facelift. This appears to be reflected in the rate as the hotel tends to be priced at the low end of hotels in a similar bracket.
The terrace bar almost merits a separate review. It opens till late and cocktails are great. Amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really much appreciate your comment regarding your recent stay in the Gran Meliá Fénix.

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and moreover our staff and location met your expectations.

We are also glad to know that you were delighted by the atmosphere of our Dry Martini Bar and you have treated yourself with our fabulous cocktails.

Looking forward to welcome you soon, I remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you required.

With our best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the GRAN MELIA FENIX . This hotel is really beautifull. As a regular costumer we loved to stay here. Things have changed now. After the last visit the doormen took our luggage into the hotel. After a few hours we found out that one of our bags was not brought to our room and missing. At the desk they checked security tapes and saw that sonebody had come into the hotel and had stolen one of our suitcases. After some conversations with the managing director they promissed us that they would take care of the damage. After a few weeks of email traffic and sending in all saleslips of our property they changed their opinion and do not want to take responsibillity. A lawsuit will be nessesery. SHAME GRAN MELIA FENIX. Not worth to be a 5 star hotel. People be aware of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank Karel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just been to Madrid on a four night break with friends. Choose this hotel as liked the sound of the red level floor. So glad we stayed here, the rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful and the red level lounge was amazing! We love champagne so the Moet available breakfast until 11pm was great. Every spirit you could think of and the constant stream of food available plus breakfast was fantastic too. Shame all the Melia's don't have all have the red level service.

Well done Melia Fenix Madrid, had a lovely stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on red level quite large but small bathrooms which seem to be an issue with other guests also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Fenix team for your nice comments regarding your stay with us! Receiving such a lovely reviews from our guest is the best reward for us. The Red Level Lounge is one of our treasures and we are really glad to know that you have enjoyed it and treated yourself in there during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back, I remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing