We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing can be better”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and daughter aged 14. Very comfortable hotel room, super nice staff, exceptionally convenient location for food, sight seeing and shopping. I will recommend everyone whom is the first visit to Madrid. Just perfect!!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JuranChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice experience through Tripadvisor!

All the Gran Meliá Fenix Team feel very proud thanks to your lovely review. We are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful and amazing time in Madrid and you loved our exclusive location near by the shopping and restaurants area.

Looking forward to welcome you back, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a happy summer!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,157)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Fenix
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is simply wonderful! It's in a great location for shopping and the Prado and beautiful Parque del Retiro are right down the street. There are always a few cabs around the corner from the hotel and the Colon and Serrano subway stops are very close. The subway in Madrid is very easy to use and very clean, the only times we even used a cab was coming to and from the airport. Our room was on the 6th floor with a great view of Plaza Colon. Our room had a very comfortable king bed, a desk and chair as well as a small round table and a comfortable chair, We also had access to the Red Level services. This includes breakfast and open bar and sacks from 1PM to 11PM each day. The breakfast was great, we actually ate here every morning because it was well equipped and so easy. Sara is on top of everything at breakfast and it seemed that no request was out of reason, she was really great! The staff made some great suggestions for Tapas bars and other things that must be seen on a trip to Madrid. Our stay couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with access to the Red Level services, you will not regret it!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MayDay585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

We would like to thank you for taking your time in sharing such a great review regarding your stay between us. I am sure your comments about Madrid will help other travelers in their trips to Madrid. Your satisfaction is our principal aim. We work with passion in order to achieve all of your expectations and make your visit to Madrid an unexpected and memorable experience.

We very much appreciate your kind words about Sara. Be assured we will share your comments with her. It is the best reward she could ever get!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is simply a fantastic hotel. The best location in Town, close to the best restaurants and the nice Serrano shopping street. Rooms are classic but very nice , though a bit small. The personnel of the hotel is great and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

The entire team is delighted with your nice review regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix.

Your kind words are the best reward we can have because we work every day to provide the best service to our guests. We really much appreciate your comments about our staff because thanks to them we know that we have achieved our principal aim which is your maximum satisfaction.

It is a great pleasure to know that you find our location the perfect one for visiting all the shopping and restaurants area, due to we are located in a very exclusive neighborhood in Madrid!

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a happy summer!!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I love this place. It is pricey but you get the service. Having said that, there was some poor service in the bar. Couldnt get a drink. I know they were busy but i was just ignored for about 40 minutes.
There is some construction going on so the restaurant is accomodated in the bar. This is temporary.
The rooms are lovely. Bathrooms small but they have everything.
If it go to madrid, this is the place i stay.
I love the fenix

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank jemfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing such a nice review regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had a wonderful time at Gran Meliá Fénix. On the other hand, we would like to deeply apologize for the unusual situation happened in our Dry Bar because we always work to achieve the best service to every guest.

Looking forward to welcome you back again and keep surprising you in order to make your stay an extraordinary experience, I remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved this hotel and everything was laid on for us. Lovely plush towels and nice toiletries were good. The rooms were quite small by Australian/American standards but the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dizee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your great experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor!

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked overall the hotel and the amenities provided within the room.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future in order to make your stay a gorgeous experience.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a very well located property for either a business or personal trip. The rooms are very nice, quiet and very good lighting. The staff is very helpful, all request were accomplished. Great breakfast buffet and a nice sitting area for a coffee, drink and a tapa. Close to excellent shops and area tourist spots.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have spent an amazing time between us and you could enjoy every service we have such the breakfast buffet or our Dry Bar, the perfect place to relax and have a drink.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me next time you decide to come back to Madrid, we will be delighted to welcome you again and keep surprising you!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

been there btw 23 to 26Jul, 14. Very good hotel, old but clean, location is perfect and the staff absolutely correctly and friendly. the room is old, some connectors doesn't work, wi fi ok, room serve very good. Breakfast ok but cost 30 euros ( you can find a right breakfast across the the street by 5 euros). the location is the main point, close to everything and in the heart of luxury shopping areas of Serrano and others. I do recommend. the bathroom is very tied.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank h2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We really appreciate you have spent a bit of your time on writing your experience. We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and our services. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the unusual situation happened with the connectors and the inconvenience it may cause you. The entire staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix works to provide unforgettable experiences to our guests, therefore we will be very glad to host you in a near future.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#11 of 438 in Madrid
633 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,057 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#50 of 438 in Madrid
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £164 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing