We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost entirely faultless - especially at special price”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Almost entirely faultless - especially at special price”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have never been to Spain before, and in fact apart from trips to London, which were more for business than pleasure, have never really 'done' a city break. This was a spontaneous booking to break up the spring, and as a lucky, extra holiday, budget was an issue - especially with the sad demise of Stirling against the Euro. So we were thrilled to find a fantastic deal at the hotel through Travelzoo, including an upgrade to a Premium room with associated gifts etc. And what gifts - not only fruit and water in the room but lovely chocolates on arrival, as well as the nightly turn-down service - chocolates on the pillow most nights and an Easter egg on Good Friday!

My only single complaint of any sort was the size of the room. We were on the Plaza Colón side of the building overlooking the fountains, and I imagine in the smallest of the Premium rooms. Which is fair enough considering that the price we paid which was less than 50% of the published Easter rate.

However, the room had all the style and advantages described by previous reviewers, and we found it easy to enjoy the 5* luxury and service, the fantastic breakfasts included in our package and the superb location while still keeping costs controlled. Madrid is a fairly expensive city, but worth every Euro. If you were able to splash the cash I'm sure the hotel's room service and mini bar were great, but at over €20 for a G'n'T we hit the streets for our own entertainment.

It's about 20 minutes from the hotel to the centre of everything around Sol and Plaza Major with all the cervezerias, wine and tapas bars, but the streets are really interesting to wander and if you get the sort of blisters we did from pacing miles of pavements there's a great bus service outside the hotel and choice of two metro stops.

Our only regrets over the trip were that we took the wrong clothes. Over 2 days it ranged from a high of 24 degrees one afternoon down to 13 degrees the next and we had taken more smart clothes than comfortable sightseeing ones - while people in the hotel make an effort for breakfast, Madrid is more about style than bling and more or less anything goes sartorially. If you're not using the hotel restaurant but are aiming for beer and tapas, you certainly don't need to overdo the collar and tie. We also took the wrong footware (those pavements are hard!), an out-of-date guidebook - use Maribel and the Tripadvisor guide as others have advised - and didn't have a Spanish phrase book. We didn't find many people who spoke English, which is fine - why should they? - but with our very rudimentary Spanish we missed out on some things such as some food items, and having a chat with locals rather than doing the English thing of pointing and talking louder! But we did have a wonderful time and are hoping to go back very soon, with the right shoes and a better phrase book.

And Easter is a great time to visit.

Finally, as well as the old town the hotel is walkable to the Prado (we didn't), the Reina Sofia (we did - but found you could see everything in the same sort of time it took to queue to get in - the Spanish seem good at that), the open space of Retiro Gardens and Atocha Station. Go to the station for the experience alone, even if you're not going to take a train. It's incredible - Kew Gardens with terrapins. We did take a train to lovely if touristy Toledo, but be warned that you need to book in advance - they only take bookings for seats and when the train's 'complet' it really is. You might get a ticket if you hang around for a cancellation, tickets come and go by the second. We got two tickets sitting in different carriages just after we gave up all hope, so you can be lucky.

In summary, a great hotel, if classic in style rather than contemporary, and a little mean on space in some rooms. Wonderful beds, wonderful service, wonderful breakfasts and wonderful location. Wish I was there now.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roll-on-next-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    515
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
393
922
91
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

As we had stayed there in a previous trip to Madrid and were very pleased, we decided to stay there again. The Gran Melia Fenix is a chic yet understated hotel with beautifully decorated rooms, polite and helpful registration desk and concierges. Our room was a standard one, so it was small but nevertheless comfy with lots of space to keep clothes. The bathroom too was compact but covered in marble, with soft fluffy towels and first class amenities. It is surely a 5 star hotel in an European capital city!! If we come back to Madrid again, we will certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Overall, excellent choice in Madrid. Not that many contenders in the Centro/Salamanca area (the Ritz and Westin Palace come to mind... latter full of tour groups but nice). Liked the fact it's a Spanish chain... fewer Americans as a result.
Rooms: More old school elegance than state of the art... some of the furniture looks better in the photos. Our moldings were chipped and needed to be caulked. Great soundproofing from the street... but you can hear people in the halls, next door and above and below you (creaky floors). Older TV in big armoire that took up too much space. Tiny bathroom but has 2 sinks and lots of beautiful marble. Bed a little hard but okay (hard beds seem to be the Spanish way). Small windows but we had a great view of the Plaza Colon. Avoid north and east views... they look directly into office buildings. The courtyard rooms have views that seem really claustrophobic.
Public Areas: Again, small but marble-clad. Elegant, mostly very well-heeled crowd. A few tour groups. Overall, well done... like a mini NYC St. Regis before they remodeled. Nice paneled piano bar, WAY too brightly lit at night. Business Center has the slowest computers in history. Wildly frustrating. Teeny-tiny gym, not really a gym at all.
Staff: Very friendly and accommodating. They were great. In fact, loved all the Spanish people we encountered in Madrid.
Location: The reason to stay here. You can walk or take short (cheap) cab rides virtually anywhere.
Tips: Great cerveceria/tapas bar with a high-end crowd every night a few blocks away. Called "Lateral." On Velasquez in Salamanca. Apparently part of a small chain. Great bar food, incredibly cheap. Staff a little diffident but you can work them. Went there for dinner every night. 2 people, left tipsy and full, about 27 euros total.
The Parc Retiro is amazing... most beautiful park in any major European city. And quiet! Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This hotel has some rooms that are bigger than others, if you request the Deluxe accommodations, King size bed , you will be very comfortable. The location is excellent ,near the high end Serrano shops and restaurants. Near museums and steps to the Paseo La Castellana. Do not order a Coca- Cola at the lobby bar, it will set you back ten dolares, right acrros the street is a nice coffee shop. Front desk and doormen are very courteous and helpful with directions . Airport is about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very pleased. Had a very quiet room and great bed for sleeping and getting over jet lag. Room was small but furnished very elegantly with great bathroom with heated towel bars.. Staff was very helpful with directions and infromation. Came in early from international flight and they had my room ready and then let us have late checkout. Is a walk to museums but is nice area to walk around and find outdoor restaurants and shops. Was easy walk tho to museums along great boulevards (15-20 miutes). We walked to everything we wanted to see. There is a metro stop right on the corner. Hotel is in nice quiet area.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This hotel is probably the best location in Madrid, being in the stylish section, near calle Serrano. I was going to book at the Westin Palace, but I recalled from last year, there were no good restaurants in the area, and the metro was not convenient to my business. The Melia Fenix enjoys a great location, near the Colon monument, and it is just around the corner from the Serrano metro stop. It was an easy walk from the Prado.

Check-in and check-out were easy, and the staff was uniformly helpful and friendly, as well as efficient. They offered all kinds of help with a smile, including directions, dinner suggestions, etc. The room was a bit on the small side, but was perfectly adequate and luxurious, with extremely comfortable beds, a flat-screen TV and CD player. The room was quiet and the bathroom was similarly luxurious, with ETRO toiletries. Breakfast, which was included in my rate, was excellent, with a wide variety of dishes, all delicious and fresh.

I am usually a very picky person, but could find no fault with this hotel. Having stayed at several in Madrid, I can say this was the best (good value also - I booked through Otel). I will probably stay at Melia Fenix from now on, as I travel to Madrid once a year.

  • Liked — Location and service.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a damned thing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Traveled with several other travelers here for business. I would pretty much like to echo everything everyone else says but have one addition... This room, like others in Spain does not have a complete shower door. Not sure why it bothers me so but I'm in a very nice hotel in Sevilla right now and...same thing. Its like they forgot 25% of the shower door. Oh well, maid mops up the floor, not that big a deal. Excellent room. Best included breakfast buffet I've ever had at a hotel and I travel a lot, over 100 days a year average... Ask for a room overlooking the plaza.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Shower door
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 435 in Madrid
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Melia, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing