We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid if you enjoy space”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One to avoid if you enjoy space”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The rooms in this hotel are small and the double beds even smaller.

My partner and I 'slept' in a small double bed, which ensured that neither of us got a restful night's sleep during our stay.

Paid a lot of money for a hotel which whilst well decorated, struggles because it just does not have the space.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldGlobetrotter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to publish your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are grateful for your comments, which will help us in our daily efforts to raise the level of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences mentioned in your post regarding the room size. Please let me inform you that we have several room categories with different sizes, it will be a pleasure to explain you the characteristics of each category in order to provide you with a more enjoyable stay on your next visit.

Thanking you again for your collaboration, we remain at your complete disposal for any assistance you may require.

Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Yours faithfully,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager
sandra.hernandez@solmelia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    514
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
393
920
91
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We found this hotel to be fantastic-a really lovely experience. We stayed on the 'club floor' on level 7. The service was first rate-we were assisted by a very friendly and knowledgeable lady, Cristina, who was absolutely fantastic. The breakfast here was outstanding, and the lounge downstairs is also very nice. The room was fantastically comfortable & had lovely Etro bathroom products.We will certainly stay here again and would gladly recommend it. However, at this price level Wi-Fi internet access should be included.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnambula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for publishing your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

It is an honor for the Gran Meliá Fénix to read such optimistic and inspiring words, since we put a lot of effort into improving the service quality to achive our guests satisfaction.

Do not hesitate that I will share your comments with Cristina, who I am certain will be grateful and encouraged by your remarks.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Fenix.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Had a lovely stay for a weekend here. The service was great - the gentleman on the reception was friendly and efficient and could not do more to help. The room had everything we needed and we enjoyed the jacuzzi bath. The room was a little jaded in places (minor maintenance needed only) but it is a old style hotel and cleanliness could not be faulted.
Best thing is the location, right in the heart of the upscale shopping and great restaurants two minutes away. When returning to Madrid next year it will be at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcp_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear guest:

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen The Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel for your stay in Madrid and for publishing your opinion about it on Tripadvisor.

We are grateful for your comments, which will help us in our daily efforts to raise the level of customer satisfaction.

We appreciate your nice words about the hotel and staff, we are proud to know that you feel comfortable with the service received.

Thanking you again for your collaboration and looking forward to welcome you soon.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed here for a night after our flight was cancelled by Iberia. Considering I didn'y pay a penny, the hotel was stunning. Almost made up for the 8 hour queue at Madrid Airport to get the flights rebooked! The rooms are very nice with fantastic beds. If I were to come to Madrid again and the price was good, I would stay here agin without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear guest:

It is a great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read your opinion about our rooms and comfort of the beds, and we hope
we will have the opportunity to have you back in Gran Melia Fénix.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel again using a secret rooms deal and were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from a deluxe to a premier room. The room design was classically elegant, with sumptuous furnishings and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was delightfully decorated with black and cream marble tiles with a fantastic range of toiletries, very much appreciated when only travelling with hand luggage. Admittedly there was some work going on in the road outside, but the sound proofing is excellent by virtue of double double glazing, so no problems there. The location is very convenient with Colon Metro across the road and a short walk found us in a charming though exclusive shopping area. All in all excellent service and fabulous value for money. We will definitely be back when next in Madrid

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear guest:

First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind comments posted on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Fenix.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We were lucky to get this hotel for a good price through lastminute.com's secret hotels. It was certainly a good deal, it is a very elegant building, beautifully decorated in an old fashioned, cosy sort of way. We seemed to be given the 'cheap' room which was a bit cheeky as all the offers we saw on the internet were about the price we paid. We did however complain about our lack of heating and were moved to a much better room wo were very happy. The staff are generally very helpful.
The rooms are lovely, bed was very comfortable, we had a great night's sleep. There is no coffee or tea in the room though which was one big downside. The room service etc is good but incredibly expensive. There is a very pleasant bar in the hotel but the drinks we had came in at e12 Each, bit over the top even for a five star. Prices generally in Madrid are very high and the standard doesn't really match it compared to London. Meal s out are very expensive. However the area around the hotel has some very good bars/restaurants etc, just dont forget the credit card.

One big downside of Madrid and this hotel is that smoking seems socially acceptable virtually anywhere and everywhere! It seems to be legal in restaurants, bars, you name it. A very pleasant lounge became very unpleasant due to cigar and cigarette smoke. There are no smoking areas in restaurants but to be honest its a bit of a farce when half the room will be for smokers.

It is a fabulous city though, very lively in the evenings, with a lot to see. It is friendly. The tube system is great, very quick and clean with a two euro trip from the airport, excellent.

It was chilly at night and can be cold during the day but often sunny which is such a lift during November!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen The Gran Meliá Fénix Hotel for your stay in Madrid and for publishing your opinion about it on Tripadvisor.

We are grateful for your comments, which will help us in our daily efforts to raise the level of customer satisfaction.

We appreciate your nice words about the hotel and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences mentioned in your post regarding the tobacco smoke. Please rest assured that we take your kind suggestions into account.

Thanking you again for your collaboration and looking forward to welcome you soon.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I booked this hotel through the secret hotels offer that one major website company offers and for the price I paid, it was a delightful hotel.

Plus points were that it is a plush hotel with good facilities, relatively speaking (it is a european hotel!). It is well located, in the fashionable area of Colon / Serrano so close to the main tourist areas without being bombarded with tourists.

On the downside, the road in front of the hotel is being completely dug up at the moment so there is a lot of noise. We had a deluxe room which faces inwards and could still hear the noise. The works continued during saturday and sunday also however given we spent little time during the day in the hotel, it was not too much of an inconvenience but not great to walk out of the hotel and be faced with construction noise. The bed is very hard which I found uncomfortable but my partner loved - personal choice.

Overall, we enjoyed staying at this hotel but only because we got a good deal. Had I paid the full rates, I would have felt completey short-changed and may have even changed the hotel based on the construction outside.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Dear Guest

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.com.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and we sincerely apologize for the public works, we hope they finish soon and we know the street will be beautiful.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Fenix.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 435 in Madrid
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#2 of 435 in Madrid
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing