We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #29 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Extremely clean (and smells always fresh), safe, comfortable along with extremely friendly staffs. An excellent budget place to stay! I would definitely go back and stay at Hostal Gonzalo in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    70
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
121
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here in June and really liked it. Just be aware what you are getting. A basic, relatively small room with bathroom and a/c. However, the location is superb, the room is spotless, the bed is comfortable, and the staff are fantastic in helping out with free advice, etc. This is not a 3 or 4 star hotel, but is perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for a well placed hotel in Madrid that provides the basics (plus free wireless internet). Only real inconvenience was the bathroom door opened into the bathroom and took some effort to step around to close while actually using the bathroom. Finally, i think noise between rooms can be a concern but we brought our ear plugs and slept well. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidlid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed there on June 2011, for 3 nights. the place was super clean and the owners, Javier and Gonzalo, were great helping with directions, keeping our luggage and advices. This hostal is 5 minutes walk from Del Prado Museum and and only few minutes walking or in bus to the major attractions. The Metro station is only 2 small blocks away. The atocha station is 15 minutes away. if you don't like to walk, the bus station is 1 1/2 block away.
I'll definitely stay here again in my next visist to Marid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This was my 1st Hostal and I was not sure what to expect or what is normal. Let me say what I liked and what I did not. It was spotless! It was tiny. The bathroom pedistal sink was too big for the small bathroom. Because the AC was not on and not needed it was noisy. I suspect even with AC the walls are thin. I do not want this to be a negative review at all. The communication I got, the cleanliness and the location was fantastic. We were not disappointed just not our style.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Having spent a terrible night in the hostal downstairs, the amazing staff at Gonzalo gave us a room the next morning with zero notice. The room was sparse, but immaculately clean. It was also blessedly silent, considering the racket we had to put up with the night before. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

This hostal, just a stone's throw away from the Prado, is clean, quiet, and very well run. Javier and his family go out of the way to make you feel at home. I highly recommend Gonzalo if you are on a budget and want someplace clean, safe, and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room for a quieter location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

This place fully deserves the good reviews. Clean and convenient.
Close to all 3 museums - very useful as I visited the Prado and Reina Sofia during their free entry hours in the evening. Nearest metro Anton Martin an uphill walk. 10 minutes walk to/from Plaza Cibeles where the airport bus stop is.
Quick hop on the metro to Sol, Plaza Mayor and Atocha Renfe where the trains to Seville, Cordoba, El Escorial are.
I could not get wifi from my room (#5) and had to go out to the hall. No biggie.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mingmin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#246 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#171 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#54 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#30 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Bruna
Hostal Bruna
#71 of 411 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 283 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Property: hostal gonzalo
Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing