We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice people, very clean.”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #27 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, nice people, very clean.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My 2 sons and I stayed at Hostal Gonzalo from 3/18 to 3/23. We stayed in room 8, which is a triple room and away from the street. This hostal was super clean, the people very nice and the location was superb. The room overlooks a courtyard and it was very quiet all day. The beds were firm and comfortable. This triple was quite spacious compared to European standards. I've stayed in smaller hotel rooms in NYC.

There are 2 metro stops about 5 minutes walk away, and so are the museums. There are many good restaurants a few blocks away, including one across the street. The train station is 10 mins away. The Sol is about 10 - 15 mins walk away. We felt very safe in this neighborhood.

Soap is provided but not shampoo. I wish there were hooks on the bathroom door. There were 2 glasses in the room but no cups or anything to make hot water. The wifi was strong in room 8. They accept credit cards, but prefer cash so we paid in euros. One person (Javier?) speaks very good English but not the older couple.

We were very satisfied with our stay. We would definitely stay in Hostal Gonzalo the next time we visit Madrid.

Room Tip: The street this hostal is located on is pretty quiet, so I think most people will not have a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeattleTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    71
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
123
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Best possible location, staff that treats you like family, super-clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Del M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We really enjoyed this budget hotel. The hosts were very accommodating and the rooms were spotless and more than adequate for the price. Wi-fi was a bit weak but did the job.
You couldn't ask for a better location to see the galleries,major squares, restaurants and train station. All were within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would try for a street view room. Noise did not seem to be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulunterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My friend and I stayed in a room with a private bathroom. It was very clean and nice. The man that runs the place doesnt speak much English but he was very lovely. The location is also pretty good. Easy walking distance to everything and only about 10 mins walking to the train station. Lots of nearby restaurants as well.

If I were to go again I would probably stay near Gran Via. I read reviews that it was a dodgy area but we (two blonde girls) did not find that at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at the hostal for 4 nights and I have to say it was a very pleasant experience. Javier and the staff was very helpful in aiding me with transportation information as well as different places of importance in Madrid. The room was clean with fresh towels everyday. The heat worked really well given I went during the coldest time for Spain. Even the locals agreed that this year was unusally colder than previous years. The Hostal is centrally based for short walking distances to major attractions. As for restaurant choices, there were too many to choose from. I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a great hostal for your money. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The rooms were larger than I had expected for the price. It was comfortable and warm and ideally situated within easy walking distance of the Prado and other galleries.
It was clean and remarkably quiet even in a room overlooking the street.
And family were friendly and helpful with adequate English.
One minor issue - no plugs in the basin or bath.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We (My husband and 5 year old son) stayed 5 nights (Dec 9th-14th) at this clean and centrally located hotel.
Javier and his staff (I only remember Jorge's name) work hard to keep the place spotless.
They are kind and helpful.
I love family run, small hotels when traveling.
And you cannot go wrong with this family run hotel for the value, location, and service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepideh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#264 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#168 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#50 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#32 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Bruna
Hostal Bruna
#70 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 276 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Property: hostal gonzalo
Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing