We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
hostal gonzalo
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Agumar(Madrid)
US$192
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$101
Melia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$212
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Principe Pio Hotel(Madrid)
US$223
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Don Luis(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Internet
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
209
73
18
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
73
18
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floortapasgreat locationrick stevesmajor museumsprivate bathprado museumairport express busatocha stationdouble bedshort walkquiet side streetquiet locationhostselevatornoisearmoire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had been recommended this hostal by a friend who had returned several times to the same place and were not disappointed. Travelling with our 14year old daughter it was the perfect location to show her the sights and atmosphere of Madrid. The hostal is clean, warm with friendly staff who went out of their way to help us with any queries. Nearby are many cafes and restaurants to suit all budgets and tastes for any meal. We spent 4 nights at Hostal Gonzalo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place is so clean; even the blankets and spreads are washed between guests. The entry is shared by three hotels; so it was initially confusing. Gonzalo is located on the third floor; there is an elevator. The location is ideal and within walking distance to most of the attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NandF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at Hostal Gonzalo in early October 2012. It was 60euro a night and worth every penny. The room was clean, the bathroom a good size and the bedding and towels changed frequently. All this has been said before but the location was just exceptional. Easy walking distance to the 3 big museums (Prado, Thyssen, Sofia) situated in a quiet location but surrounded by local bars and resturants and tapas places. We found the cafe Cervantes on Calle Cervantes was perfect. Breakfast of 2 fresh cafe con leche, freshly squeezed orange juice and the local toasted bread with fresh tomato paste and olive oil. 7 euro the lot for 2 persons. Also the local bars if you look around give free tapas with every round of drinks purchased which has a tendancy to lead to a boozy afternoon. The weather was fantastic just like the best english summers day, warn, no wind but not to hoy, just right for a few days chilling out, sitting around and relaxing. If you want more comercialised areas Sol and the Plaza Major were only an easy 10 min walk away.

Room Tip: Not really relavant as these Hostals are situated on one floor of an old Spanish building full of character overlooking a quiet street
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian111England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is the perfect place if you are staying in Madrid. It isn't expensive and it allows you to spent your money and splurge on other places in this amazing city. Jorge and Javier are amazing, both are so kind, polite, and so very helpful. I arrived to the city with lots of luggage and they helped me get them all in my room and the same for when I left. My room was clean everyday and I had everything I needed. I am def going to stay here again and def recommend it to others when they visit Madrid. Gracias a Javier y Jorge!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This was our first place in Spain. We took the airport commuter bus from Bauhaus airport for 5E each, about 25 minutes to the Atocha station. The walk from Atocha to Hostal Gonzalo is about 10 minutes. The rooms, nothing flashy, spatrtan. But, who stays in the room when you are in Madrid? The staff were kind, it's centrally located on the east side near the Prado. Only a few minutes from the Plaza. No outside street noise. There can be some noise from other residents as the walls are thin, so be courteous of your neighbors if you stay here. A 10 minute walk to the atocha train station. A great price, we were happy.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EdMa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews