We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Madrid”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #32 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Identified as a suitable option from the review in the Rough Guide to Madrid, further investigation on Trip Advisor confirmed our decision. We spent four nights here in August 2014. The room was simply but adequately furnished and spotlessly clean. Air conditioning, a TV and en suite were great. As so many others have pointed out the location was wonderful, allowing us easy access to all the major sights and attractions. Really great and numerous tapas bars within a couple of minutes walk and Plaza Santa Ana, for more food choice is less than 15mins away. We would, and have, recommended this to others looking to explore the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at this hostel in July 2014 after reading the great reviews on trip advisor, the hostel turned out to be clean and in a good location which is all you really need for city break. The only issues we had was there didn't seem to be anybody around to get some information about the city and things to do, there was a small reception desk which was always empty, there is a lot of noise from the street as we'll. At the end of the day it was good value for money but I think some of the previous reviews are a bit over the top.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scozzie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A charming early 20th century elevator takes you to this immaculate, well run, and modest (but neither dingy nor lower-class) hostal on the fourth (European third) floor of a nice old building just about 100 meters from Paseo del Prado. Ideal location from which to visit both the Thyssen and the Prado, each no more than a seven minute walk away. Closest Metro stop Anton Martin (Line 1) a ten-minute walk. Rooms are spotless and comfortable but spare: plenty of closet space, AC, small TV with local channels (you aren't visiting Madrid to watch television, are you?), somewhat spotty WiFi. Most rooms do not seem to have much of a view (unless you are into ventilation shafts and elevator counter-weights.) If you are a light sleeper you may have a problem: tile floors and thin walls throughout tend to amplify the slightest sounds, and if your neighbors are as stentorian as the leather-lunged Englishwoman in the room next door to mine you will surely be disturbed. (She did moderate her voice at my 7:30 AM complaint, however.) Restaurants and cafés abound in the immediate area (recommend Sanabressa on Calle Amor de Dios, popular with locals) as well as some very interesting shops. Laundry at the top of Calle Cervantes offers wash-and-fold service for €9 per load. There is even luggage repair close by! If you are new to the city and arriving at Atocha station with much baggage might be easiest to take a cab for about €6, otherwise by my clock about a twenty minute walk. Antonio was a gracious host, and he and his brother, Javier, were most patient and compliant with my constant requests to adjust my reservations. I would stay here again and, with the cautions noted above, I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The_Real_PeterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this hostal with advise from RIck Steve's Guidebook-really pleased with it all. Very reasonable, and lovely family running it. I had several email conversations about location, and directions with the owners, which they responded to almost immediately. I even had a package sent to the hostal, and it was in my room when we arrived. Location is great-I felt like a local. Many tapas bars, bakeries, small super markets-everything you need, and close to the Prado, and center of town. I like the fact you get you own key and code to come and go easily, and the air conditioning worked great. Very clean, nice bathroom. The room was cleaned daily. About a 15 minute walk to the train station where there is a bus to the airport, which leaves about every 20 minutes which worked well for us. Had a blast-World Cup going on, beautiful outside dining, walked everywhere. Want to go back. Awesome value.

Room Tip: All seemed fine-ours faced an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scootdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I love this hostal for many reasons
1- Location, location, location
Located in a beautiful area near the art museums & parks
An easy walk to all areas of the city - museums, restaurants, train stations
2- Spotless
The rooms & hostal are super clean
3- Price
A real value for the price
Air conditioning, wifi, great showers & comfortable beds
Someone on duty at all times
4- Family run - by lovely people who take pride in what they do
5- Many excellent tapas places right down the block
6- Starbucks and a french bakery within two blocks
We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, both were super quiet. There are shutters on the outside of the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TKARCAROLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Simple rooms, air conditioned, spotlessly cleaned within walking distance of the Central part of Madrid is what you can expect. We stayed here and walked to the Prado, Plaza Mayor, subway stations, the royal palaces and places in- between. There are plenty of restaurants and tapas bars nearby as well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank V-ger128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We booked through booking.com using the same credit card that we always use without problem. We arrived at 8pm to be told that our room had just been given away to someone else. They claimed that as it was 8pm and we hadn't arrived yet, they tried to take the money from our account but it was declined, and as it was 8pm they had no choice but to sell the room to someone else, as they have previously lost out. The owner showed us a receipt with a cancelled (not declined!) transaction with no numbers corresponding to my financé's credit card. We are Spanish and know that this was a complete con. We both work in sales and know what a declined credit card slip looks like, give us some credit please! They arranged for us to stay in another hostal within the same building for the same price but that's really the least they could do. I was very disappointed with how we were lied to and would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#269 of 437 in Madrid
152 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#158 of 437 in Madrid
907 reviews
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#84 of 437 in Madrid
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#106 of 437 in Madrid
1,597 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,803 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#290 of 437 in Madrid
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing