We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and a possible option if the price to compensate”
Review of Hostal Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Continental
Ranked #355 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
portugal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Basic and a possible option if the price to compensate”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The accommodation was cheap and if that is the criterion this hostel can be a choice.
The room they gave us was facing the Gran Via. The views are good but the noise of traffic is all night. They had inner rooms but smaller. As our room was not great I am in doubt if the inner rooms will be good option.
The air conditioning in our room did not work. As if by chance we do not need it, do not question the reception, but then checked the hotel website they charge as optional air conditioning (5 € per night and room). For me is something that I will not choose this hotel again.The bathroom was small, with half bath, and no offering (gel, shampoo, etc. ..). Cleaning is on the threshold of acceptability. Could be better. The room was one floor above the reception which we had to access by stairs. The elevator only goes up to the level of reception.
Although a metro station is a 50 meters, the station "Calhau" is not a main station and therefore implies that almost always have to make the transfer station of the "Poerta del Sol" or in the "Gran Via". The "Poerta del Sol" Station is 250 meters on foot.
The area is a expensive area to take breakfast, for example. In the area "Poerta del Sol" there are several cafes offer breakfast at prices much more cheap.
In this same building there are other hostais so if I´ll choose this type of accommodation again I´ll probably try one of the others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamm_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

the best asset of the hotel is it's location ... very near a metro station and is walking distance to practicallly everything ... the room we got was of good size BUT the toilet smelt disgusting (drainage?) ... when we mentioned this at the reception, they came ready with an air freshener and some alcohol based liquid which they used - it made us think that this is an ongoing problem that has not been dealt with ... VERY noisy (worse on the weekend) ... we used the room only for sleeping so it was bearable ... definitely not a hotel for leisure

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abg112070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Not even the superb location (Gran via across from Plaza del Callao) can help this hostal for a better rating. The traffic noise coming from the avenue five stories below is unbearable. Staff is helpfull, rooms are clean.
Important Tip: ask for a room far from the Gran Via Avenue wing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

I spent one night at the Hostal Continental when my travel plans changed and I had to arrive in Madrid a day earlier than expected. Located on Gran Via, across from Plaza de Callao, the Continental is right in the middle of the city. The room is very basic, and looked much like old college dorm rooms: slightly worn linoleum floor, two single beds, a chair, table, and closet. Still, 39 euros per night was a good price for the location. Guests must request the air conditioniing remote control to use the in-room unit, which adds 5 euros to the cost of the room. Traffic noise was a bit of a problem over night, as the windows have not been soundproofed. The room was fairly clean, but the shower curtain hadn't been changed in a while and had some mildew spots on it. They accept credit cards, but the receptionist asked that I pay in cash when checking out. It wasn't worth insisting on charging such a low price. The place was all right for one night.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Valencia
Hostal Valencia
#306 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#314 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#272 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#184 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Malasana
Hostal del Pez Azul
Hostal del Pez Azul
#342 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#142 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Continental

Property: Hostal Continental
Address: Gran Via | 44 3º, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Continental Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing