We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Ranked #259 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hostal Riesco was so cute, clean, friendly and excellently located. I will recommend this place to my friends and other travellers. It is located right on Puerta del Sol, two steps from the metro and yet on the corner of a quiter street. My room was bright, spacious and with an excellent wide compfortable bed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room on Correo side. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip and were quite pleased with it. And it's great value for the money.
I found the people on the front desk very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious - our bathroom was quite small, but adequate. Everyone seemed to be aware that they needed to be considerate of others and we found no noise from the other guests at all.
They offer a breakfast for a moderate price, but we didn't opt for it - we chose to go out and forage for our breakfast. But they very kindly kept some milk that we had bought in their fridge, since one of our group is celiac and brought his own breakfast cereal.
Can't beat the location - 15 steps from the Plaza del Sol!

Room Tip: get one with a view of the Plaza del Sol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Even at booking online, a big red message explained we had to be quiet. Little did we know how quiet. Yes we travelled on a lads' holiday. Yes there was a group of 10 of us. However, no we didn't spend any more time than absolutely required in the hostel and no, we didn't make any mire noise than snoring or quiet conversations while there.

Despite this every interaction with the staff from check in to check out was accompanied by a sneering sense of superiority which made you feel far from comfortable.
Maybe they aren't used to larger groups or maybe they just want older couples to stay but as a Hostal in the centre of Madrid maybe they should widen their target markets.

The accommodation was fine, the service was diabolical and could have ruined the experience. Stay here if you're over 50 and want to be in bed by 11 each night. If not, don't bother!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skultvate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We only had one night here, but it was a haven -- spotless, comfortable, friendly staff, and a wonderful location -- just a half block off the Plaza del Sol. We took the metro from the airport. It was a breeze. Although there's no wifi in the rooms, it worked well in the lounge/dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Riesco for a long weekend getaway. It was perfect! In the center of town, right next to the Puerta del Sol, conveniently close to all of the downtown sights, restaurants, bars and the metro. We booked our room for 55Euros a night, and were so happy with our choice!

The hotel is in an interesting old building and has many charming rooms, some facing the plaza with juliet balconies. Our room was upstairs in the back, so a little quieter. There were all hardwood floors throughout, and it was freshly painted and immaculately clean. The bed in the room was a small double bed, a little tight for two, but was comfortable. Some rooms had larger beds. The bathroom is also tiny, but clean and functional.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative is that you have to ring to be let into the building. This makes it very safe, but we felt quite bad ringing to be let in after a night out at a club. However, we were very promptly let in by the night desk worker (but clearly we woke her up. sorry!)

The hotel offers breakfast, which you order the night before. It was good for the price. There are coffee shops and restaurants nearby that have wider selections. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi in the lobby, and had a lending library.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Hostal Riesco is similar to a nice pensione in Italy. Located on two floors of an old building on the Puerta del Sol square it is perfectly located in the center of Old Madrid. It is right across the street from one of the hub metro stations. From this metro, you can get everywhere quickly. Of course, you are a short walk from the Prado, Cava Baja nightlife, the Huertas nightlife, Plaza Mayor and other destinations. There are many little shops right outside the front door including a very nice bakery. The bedroom and the bathroom were very spacious. The decor and furniture are very simple, but functional. The place was clean as a whistle. This was a tremendous value at 56 euros for a double room. The staff was very helpful if you had questions. A few items of note, the TV has no english channels and the upper floor does not have wireless access. You have to go downstairs to the sitting area or breakfast area to use the wireless internet. The connection was fine when sitting downstairs. It is not too noisy, but if you are very sensitive to noise ask for an inside room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Heard about this place from a friend. Was delighted when we got there, prime location, excellent value for money, spotless, comfortable with a great view.

Wasn't expecting much because of the cheap price so was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Amazing view in the heart of peurto de la sol. 2 second walk to the metro, which is so easy to use. Was staying with a friend and we each had a lovely comfortable double bed. Place had character and was very clean.

Its not the four seasons but it definitly did the job and surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#105 of 442 in Madrid
729 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#348 of 442 in Madrid
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#219 of 442 in Madrid
196 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#227 of 442 in Madrid
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol

Address: Calle Correo 2 | Puerta del Sol, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hostal Riesco)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing