We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Ranked #246 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We spent 6 nights at Hostal Riesco and have two young children. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was of adequate size. I would have preferred a real bathroom door vs. an accordian door. The heat worked well and there was hot water and good shower pressure. There was also wifi available in the breakfast area, but not in our room. Breakfast was coffee, juice, toast and a croissant. The location on Plaza del Sol cannot be beat. We had terrible weather the week we were in Madrid, but it didn't matter as we could dash to the metro quickly. There are many good restaurants in the surrounding area. We would definitely stay here again and the people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with our room they were very accomodating in changing us to another room. I would list the ONLY downfall was smoking. The folks at the front desk smoked, as well as guests, and even the bath towels had a faint smell of smoke.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Living_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    76
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
77
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta,Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We spent a week at Hotel Riesco , very convenient hotel overlooking the famous central Plaza del Sol , very large beds and bathrooms with everything, no complain , a little bit of noisy at night but the square is everytime full of tourists , many restaurants and bars just right below the hotel open till late nights.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayied there for the New Year. Woderful location and excellent management. Good price. I recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailton-Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlucy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We really have nothing bad to say about this place! The location could not be better. We had an en-suite room with a balcony overlooking Sol (room 135)- great for people watching and atmosphere. Sol metro is steps away although we were so central we ended up walking everywhere and only ever needed to take the metro to get to the airport! The windows were fairly soundproof so when closed it really was not very loud but we were there in October and happy to sleep with them closed- it could have been quite loud with them open on this side of the hotel. I also loved that we had a proper double bed (not two singles pushed together) and wi-fi is included. The hotel staff were very friendly and the place was always clean. The rooms are basic and fairly small but 50 Euros for an en-suite, clean, central double room with friendly and helpful hotel staff- what more could you ask for for the price?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have stayed here many times, and enjoyed the "Family" atmosphere and meeting other people over the space of time. Service is excellent and the rooms are attended to daily, without fail. We have relatives that live in Madrid and when we can visit them, we stay here, since they are familiar with the owner. At times, it does get noise from the street, but that can happen even at a more expensive place. The management even allows temporary storage of baggage, when your plans calls for a 1 to 2 days overnight stays in other areas.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

First, the hostal is located in a small side road of Plaza Mayor. So GREAT Location! Across the street from a Metro station, so even better! It made it very central and great. Only downside, is since there is no AC, one would like to leave the windows open to cool the room at night, but it can get pretty noisy from the streets. The hostal is at the third floor, with lots of uneven steps; but its ok really :). There is a small elevator- but don't expect to fit more than 2 people in there. Service was great. Cleaned the rooms daily. You have to leave the key at the desk anytime you leave the rooms. Someone is always at the desk. Bathroom is really tiny; but its okay. Beds were very big and spacious; but pillows were attached to bed and a little hard. Free wifi was available- just have to ask for the WEP password at the front desk. Overall, great location, GREAT VALUE if you are planning to just sleep here really.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karichiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Hotel Riesco is one of the best lodging deals I have ever had. It has lots of character and is in a great spot for attractions and metro access. My room had a small balcony, comfortable beds, tv, and a nice bathroom. With this place in the heart of Madrid, there is absolutely no reason to spend a lot of money somewhere else.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — nothing - it was great
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank snowyegret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#345 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#104 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Centro
Hotel Alhambra Suites
Hotel Alhambra Suites
#245 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Centro
Hostal Residencia Americano
Hostal Residencia Americano
#378 of 438 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol

Property: Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Correo 2 | Puerta del Sol, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hostal Riesco)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing