We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value! Spotless, charming and in the center of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Ranked #240 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value! Spotless, charming and in the center of town.”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Riesco for a long weekend getaway. It was perfect! In the center of town, right next to the Puerta del Sol, conveniently close to all of the downtown sights, restaurants, bars and the metro. We booked our room for 55Euros a night, and were so happy with our choice!

The hotel is in an interesting old building and has many charming rooms, some facing the plaza with juliet balconies. Our room was upstairs in the back, so a little quieter. There were all hardwood floors throughout, and it was freshly painted and immaculately clean. The bed in the room was a small double bed, a little tight for two, but was comfortable. Some rooms had larger beds. The bathroom is also tiny, but clean and functional.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative is that you have to ring to be let into the building. This makes it very safe, but we felt quite bad ringing to be let in after a night out at a club. However, we were very promptly let in by the night desk worker (but clearly we woke her up. sorry!)

The hotel offers breakfast, which you order the night before. It was good for the price. There are coffee shops and restaurants nearby that have wider selections. The hotel also offers Wi-Fi in the lobby, and had a lending library.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    77
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
79
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Hostal Riesco is similar to a nice pensione in Italy. Located on two floors of an old building on the Puerta del Sol square it is perfectly located in the center of Old Madrid. It is right across the street from one of the hub metro stations. From this metro, you can get everywhere quickly. Of course, you are a short walk from the Prado, Cava Baja nightlife, the Huertas nightlife, Plaza Mayor and other destinations. There are many little shops right outside the front door including a very nice bakery. The bedroom and the bathroom were very spacious. The decor and furniture are very simple, but functional. The place was clean as a whistle. This was a tremendous value at 56 euros for a double room. The staff was very helpful if you had questions. A few items of note, the TV has no english channels and the upper floor does not have wireless access. You have to go downstairs to the sitting area or breakfast area to use the wireless internet. The connection was fine when sitting downstairs. It is not too noisy, but if you are very sensitive to noise ask for an inside room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Heard about this place from a friend. Was delighted when we got there, prime location, excellent value for money, spotless, comfortable with a great view.

Wasn't expecting much because of the cheap price so was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Amazing view in the heart of peurto de la sol. 2 second walk to the metro, which is so easy to use. Was staying with a friend and we each had a lovely comfortable double bed. Place had character and was very clean.

Its not the four seasons but it definitly did the job and surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

When we checked in, they told us the room had air conditioning, but then they hardly turned it on. And Madrid was really hot in the afternoon! We tried to get them to turn it on at night at least, but they refused. "It's impossible," the man said. So with the windows open, it was extremely noisy and we didn't get a good night's rest. What a shame, as it has the perfect location. But there are hundreds of hostals in the area - so I recommend that everyone give Hostal Rieso a pass.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We asked for a room overlooking Sol but were given a side view room.It was VERY hot in Madrid and the air conditioning was very erratic and appeared to be controlled from the office, not what we were led to believe as it was turned off all night. Fortunately, we talked them into giving us a fan which helped to relive the stifling heat.The beds were comfy and the staff pleasant and the price was right . You can't beat the location, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

simply perfect basic place, sympa people and super location. Just go!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

From our window we were able to watch a Semana Santa procession, and see the touristy Plaza del Sol. The Sol metro station was very close and convenient. The people who worked at this hostal were very pleasant and friendly. Some quirks: There is an annoying band that often plays loudly in Plaza del Sol, you must check in your hotel key every time you leave your room, and our shower was held together with duct tape (but worked fine).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Madrisol
Hotel Madrisol
#327 of 436 in Madrid
333 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#101 of 436 in Madrid
664 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#222 of 436 in Madrid
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4C Bravo Murillo
#209 of 436 in Madrid
201 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol

Property: Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Correo 2 | Puerta del Sol, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hostal Riesco)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing