We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Sonsoles
Ranked #44 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We didn't expect too much but it was def a surprise. The location was pretty good. Subway station are close and the hostel is directly on a crowded shopping street. The cleaning service was excellent. The rooms looked cleaner than some of the Hotels I went to. The only disadvantage: the service personal and the receptionist don't speak any english or other foreign language. However, it was great staying here. Highly recommended for a rather low budget trip to Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthiasBoeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay en Hostal Sonsoles
Thank you for trusting on us, and we appreciate your complimentary comments about our hostal.
Hoping that next year you choose Hostal Sonsoles again for your holidays.

Sincerely,
Manuel Garcia
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had a very clean, comfortable double and twin room with fresh towels every day. Staff were very friendly. This hotel is in an idle location, a few minutes away from the Gran Via metro station and there are great bars, restaurants and shops around it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comments on this important tourist site we welcome your comments and send you a cordial greeting.

Manuel Garcia
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

lovely little hotel staff very helpful rooms very clean cleaned every day excellent location worth a trip

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Dear Sir / a. Comentarion very much appreciate your taste and we're pleased that our hostel we hope to see you again here and we send a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights at Sonsoles and although we had booked a double room, we were provided with a twin room. Not a big deal, so we decided not to complain or request a new room.
The room was spacious enough for two people feel comfortable. However, we would appreciate a little more space in the bathroom (smaller than the one in the photos).
The great thing about Sonsoles is its location: only one minute away from the Gran Via station, and at a walking distance from lots of bars, cafes and Puerta del Sol. It is located on a pedestrian commercial street, that although its lack of movement at late hours, does not produce a insecure feeling at all.
A fair hostal for Madrid, considering the relation price x quality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilianTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The hotel is in great location, just 2/3 minutes walk from Gran Via metro station. We arrived at 08:00 in morning and the check in is at 12:00. We left our luggage at the hotel and headed for Toledo. We checked in the evening, the receptionist already finalised a room and left our luggage in the room. I was so impressed. The room has not kettle for making tea or coffee, but they have vending machine to buy tea/coffee. The room was very clean, it toilet and shower room was very clean. There was a deposit box in the room where you can keep your valuables. We checked out in the next morning and left our luggage in the hotel that we collected in the afternoon. The good thing is that you will find plenty of restaurants and bar around this place as it is in the heart of Madrid. I was very happy to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: All top attractions are walking distance from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel last April. It's center located and they are super friendly people. The room was clean and they helped us out in everything we needed. We'll definitely come back again!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCramean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Location, Location, Location! The location is really great - just 5 minutes walking from the center of Madrid. My room was extremely small but very clean. The staff was very helpful, but they didn't speak English at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixxx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
C. H. Chelo
C. H. Chelo
#49 of 420 in Madrid
107 reviews
Centro
Hostal Jerez
Hostal Jerez
#43 of 283 in Madrid
281 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luis XV
Hostal Luis XV
#62 of 420 in Madrid
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Far Home Atocha Hostel
Far Home Atocha Hostel
#38 of 420 in Madrid
117 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#152 of 440 in Madrid
743 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#58 of 440 in Madrid
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonsoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonsoles

Address: Calle Fuencarral 18 | 2º Drcha, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sonsoles 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior two stars liitle hotel located in a central and highly commercial fashion-oriented street (the Fuencarral street). Beetween Malasaña, the well known bohemian district, and Chueca a renovated XIX century distict full of fashion shops (including vintage, outlets ) and night life. Fuencarral market complex is full of shops serving youngters and the young people of madrid looking for both last fashion clothes and "retro" garments. The location is at a walking distance of the main tourist attractions of downtown madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Sonsoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing