We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Safe, Clean, and Basic”
Review of Hostal Sonsoles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Sonsoles
Ranked #45 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Perfect Location, Safe, Clean, and Basic”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hostal Sonsoles is not a luxurious hotel, but its location close to Gran Via metro station is extremely convenient if you want to visit the center of the city. The street the Hostel is on is a commercial pedestrian street, filled with cafes and shops. The Hostel is clean, silent, has all the basics, and reception is 24h a day. Prices are unbeatable for the value you get.

Perfect choice if what you look for is simply a room to leave your valuables, have a good rest, and a clean shower, and mainly will be walking around the city, and not staying the whole day in the room. Wifi connection has been recently improved and goes across all halls and rooms too.

My third visit in Madrid in 16 years, and always stayed at Sonsoles.

Room Tip: Again, it is a perfect place to visit the city center. Not a place to lazy around the room the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pere1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Pere 1977:
We would like to thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments
One more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience with the
TripAdvisors readers.

Kind regards,
Маnuel Garcia
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
79
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sulzbach (Taunus), Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A nice and cosy place, very close to Gran Via and just around the corner of Metro and Malasaña.
Very friendly management, with minor problems with english speaking :).
As it is central, it is not in an extreme quit surrounding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelHahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear
I would like to thank for retorting such a nice feedback on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hostal Sonsoles.
We hope to see you soon back in our Hostall and this fascinatig town.
Warmest regards from the capital of this wonderful country.

Atten.
Manuel Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located just off Gran Via and on a pedestrianized shopping street with tapas bars nearby - this is the ideal location for a base in Madrid. We arrived on a Friday evening and set out on a tapas tour. The neighbourhood was really buzzy and we took in approximately ten tapas bars but were never more than five minutes walk from the hotel! Walking distance of Prado and Plaza Mayor. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marr0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

During my visit to Madrid I stayed in this great hotel. It is located right in the city heart, within walking distance to all the main areas of interest of the city. It is run by a very friendly family, who can help you during your stay there. The rooms are very nice, and they have private bathroom. Everything was perfectly clean and I enjoyed my time there a lot. Definitely recommended for all kinds of travellers.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy and see the life of the street, ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Customer,
I have so much enjoyed reading your review! And I am so glad to share it with my team! We are very glad to know it has been such an enjoyable holiday experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to review it, for recommending us.

You must know it will be great to have you again in our Hotel, so please let us know about your next visit to Madrid.

Warmest regards,
Manuel Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Can Picafort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of September, brilliant location, only short walk away from Gran Via, great value for money, it was very clean, you even get towels and shampoo / shower gel;

only drawback was thin walls, you could hear people next door coughing in the morning but it was very quiet at night; also, bear in mind that need to ring a buzzer to get in and no visitors are allowed.

Room Tip: It helps if you communicate in Spanish to explain your requirements etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you kindly left us your feedback after your stay in our hostel. Receive our thanks for sharing your good experiences on TripAdvisor Sonsoles Hostal Madrid.
Much comforts us to know that when we return back to Madrid to choose.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

There are so many hostals/pensions with hotels of every description from the humble to glitzy 5 Star properties in Madrid it's always good to get a trusted recommendation. I can recommend Sonsoles without hesitation as excellent good value accomodation. I have stayed here several times over the years. It has recently undergone a complete upgrade which has raised the standard from basic to comfortable. Good beds with more than adequate bathroom facilities. Good storage with in room safe. In room phone with international dialling access. During a cold Spring stay recently the underfloor heating made my stay very cosy. Air conditioning facilities in each room for warmer weather. The common areas of the building in which Sonsoles is located have also been upgraded which highlights it's impressive architecture. Calle Fuencarral has been pedestrianised which has enhanced the location. There are no breakfast facilities. Not to worry: loads of great cafes nearby. The location is excellent close to Grand Via. A short walk to the airport bus stop at Ciebles and Grand Via underground subway stop. Highly recommended especially if travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Mr Solomio 123.

It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service, thank you very much for letting us know.

We are pleased to know we have covered your expectations concerning the rooms, the service and the Hostal in general.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again in Hostal Sonsoles, so we will really appreciate you could let us know about a future visit to Madrid. Once again, thank you very much

My best regards,
Manuel Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at the Hostal Sonsoles in May 2012, just for one night - unfortunately, we had no time to spend a few more days in beautiful Madrid!

The place was in a great location, easy to find, near the metro stop at Gran Via (and also near Tribunal metro stop). The place was very clean, the room were spacious, the bathrooms spotless. We were very pleasantly surprised! The staff didn't speak much English, but that wasn't a big problem - we managed to communicate everything we needed.

I recommend this place definately, you will find it a perfect spot from where to begin your exploring - it is near Gran Via, Sol, etc. and also near Malasana for those who like to go out at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu6212, Gerente at Hostal Sonsoles, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear customer,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your comments and the time you took to share, on behalf of the management and staff of Hostal Madrid Sonsoles appreciate his chosen our hotel and we send warm greetings and hope to have them back between us.

Manuel Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#16 of 404 in Madrid
517 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Hispano
Hostal Hispano
#59 of 277 in Madrid
80 reviews
Chueca
Dolce Vita
Dolce Vita
#38 of 404 in Madrid
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#50 of 404 in Madrid
361 reviews
Centro
Mucho Madrid
Mucho Madrid
#58 of 404 in Madrid
150 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 404 in Madrid
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonsoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonsoles

Property: Hostal Sonsoles
Address: Calle Fuencarral 18 | 2º Drcha, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sonsoles 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior two stars liitle hotel located in a central and highly commercial fashion-oriented street (the Fuencarral street). Beetween Malasaña, the well known bohemian district, and Chueca a renovated XIX century distict full of fashion shops (including vintage, outlets ) and night life. Fuencarral market complex is full of shops serving youngters and the young people of madrid looking for both last fashion clothes and "retro" garments. The location is at a walking distance of the main tourist attractions of downtown madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Sonsoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing