We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostal Sonsoles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Sonsoles
Ranked #47 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Location, Location, Location! The location is really great - just 5 minutes walking from the center of Madrid. My room was extremely small but very clean. The staff was very helpful, but they didn't speak English at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenixxx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Sonsoles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed in Hostal Sonsoles for four nights in April 2010. The hostel has great location - 5-7 minutes walking from the center of the city (Plaza del Sol), and a very good price. The rooms a very small, but clean. The staff was very friendly, but they don't speak any language except Spanish. But it is normal for spanish people)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The good bits first: 1. the location is fantastic, very central and walking distance to every main parts of Madrid (5 min to la Plaza Sol, 10 min to plaza Mayor, seconds away to Chueca etc). 2. Walking up the stairs (the hostel is on the 2nd floor with lift), it felt like we were going into someone's home. 3. For the price we paid (53euros a night), we expected much worse but the room came with flatscreen TV, A/C (which we didn't use), spacious bathroom etc.

The negative points: 1. the interior is a little tired (communal spaces and rooms) and the people working there won't go out of their ways to help you. 2. the internet was extremely slow and very temperamental (do not rely on it as I gave up after while).

I would recommend this hostel if like us, you are likely to spend minimum time in the room and mostly out and about visiting or partying. With the triple glazing windows (double glazing plus an extra window), the noisy street (a pedestrian street VERY popular, especially on Fridays and Saturdays) is completely blocked out.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Je R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I travelled to Madrid in April to visit some friends there, and I chose this hostal as some people have recommended to me, and I have to say I will come back.
The rooms are quite nice, and everything was so clean.
They have free Wifi in-room, which is a good advantage for them, and the staff working there was very nice.
I've been in some other hostals before and I can promise you I will come back to this one in my future visits to Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

First of all I must say that we chose this place only because it was inexpensive and in the centre of Madrid. My friends didn't want to spend a lot of money, but at the same time they wanted a centrally located hotel. That is exactly what hostal sonsoles is a centrally located, inexpensive hotel. It is in Calle Fuencarral, a very nice pedestrian street, full of shops and within walking distance from the Gran Via and Puerta del Sol square... The nearest tube stop is "Gran Via" or "Chueca". It is also very close to the Prado museum and the rest of Madrid tourist attractions. There are bars and restaurants you can easily reach from the hotel. The rooms are ok. The first thing you note is that the hotel is very clean. Rooms are cleaned every day very accurately. The rooms face the crowded street, but if you close the windows almost no noise will bother you. The hotel is airconditioned in summer.
The decor of the place is peculiar. It is a little bit old-fashioned, but nice.
Rooms are nice, but simple, more than we expected for the price paid though. Double beds are a little small, so ask for twin beds if you want more space.
The people working at the hostal might be a little strange, as written in previous reviews, but they were always helpful and never created problems...
I would cetainly reccomend this hotel, but don't expect the Ritz of course!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verona29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

i've been in this hotel last june and i'll definitely come back in my next trips to madrid. Everything is clean and the people is so nice. I've been in other hotels around but there were very old fashionable.

2  Thank aless486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

You get enough for 35 euro/night.
Rooms are very clean, location can't be better, hostal's crew is polite but they don't speak any foreign language.
You can take a beer or coffee or something else in drinking machine for 1 euro whenever you want.If you plan to make love with your spanish friends in hotel room, forget it.This is not such type of hostal.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank josko_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#272 of 438 in Madrid
125 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#16 of 411 in Madrid
527 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Hispano
Hostal Hispano
#55 of 278 in Madrid
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Far Home Atocha Hostel
Far Home Atocha Hostel
#36 of 411 in Madrid
105 reviews
Centro
Barbieri Sol Hostel
Barbieri Sol Hostel
#91 of 411 in Madrid
109 reviews
Centro
Hostal Centro Sol
Hostal Centro Sol
#55 of 411 in Madrid
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonsoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonsoles

Address: Calle Fuencarral 18 | 2º Drcha, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 411 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sonsoles 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior two stars liitle hotel located in a central and highly commercial fashion-oriented street (the Fuencarral street). Beetween Malasaña, the well known bohemian district, and Chueca a renovated XIX century distict full of fashion shops (including vintage, outlets ) and night life. Fuencarral market complex is full of shops serving youngters and the young people of madrid looking for both last fashion clothes and "retro" garments. The location is at a walking distance of the main tourist attractions of downtown madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Sonsoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing