We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location. lovely staff.”
Review of Hostal Armesto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Armesto
Ranked #290 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here in September 2011. The location is fantastic, on a very quite street but right round the corner from Plaza Santa Ana which is one of the main nightlife centres. The style of the hotel is a little dated but everything was clean and comfortable. We found the hotel to be very quiet, heard very little from any of the other rooms. The gentleman on reception didn't speak much English but was really friendly and welcoming. The only problem that we had was that it was sometimes a bit difficult to open the 'middle door' (the door to the hostal, accessed once inside the building).
If you just want somewhere clean and comfortable, that isn't too much money and is in a good location I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

We did not expect much for the price but the noise of construction in the building next door was excruciating. We had to ask for the air conditioner to be allowed on. 4 nights, no towel or linen changes....bring your own soap. Hostal rooms are clean, but entry and rest of building very old and somewhat dirty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pampemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel has a strange location inside of another building. There is no elevator to bring up luggage. It is walking distance from the train station. It is also close to a street(Huertas) with bars for night. La Tina is a better neighborhood for nightlife. It feels much safer and has a mixed age crowd.

Our room on the otherhand, was smaller then the bathroom. The beds were sooooooooo uncomfortable. We barely slept.

The most important, get a room with a window. We did not have one and it was summer; it was extremely hot and could not sleep. There was no ventilation.

If your looking for comfort, DONT STAY HERE! If your looking for a cheap place and dont care, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Get a room with a window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloglisci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

A really nice, simple hotel, very reasonably priced and in an excellent central location, and very quiet road. Lovely place, very friendly owner who spoke no English but not a problem for us as we had a Spanish speaker in our party. Not really like a hotel, more like a room in a large apartment. No wifi but we knew this in advance. Very clean, and well serviced. A really nice little bar opposite serving delicious food, a small supermarket a couple of doors away, the Metro 10 mins walk away and plenty of excellent tapas bars nearby. Can't fault the place. If you want something well priced, quiet and well located and no wifi isn't an issue for you, give Armesto serious consideration.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johno2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

"Simple" but very clean and fantastic location, just one block from the Prado Museum and 7 minutes walking from "Banco de Espana" metro station. The rooms are clean, with small showers, efficient heat, cable TV, small balconies overlooking the street, free internet, air condition and private bathroom. Would stay in Armesto again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubiaescobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We arrived early and were very tired from our long plane ride into Spain. Thankfully, the man at this hostal didn't hesitate to check us in and allow us in our reserved room hours before check-in time. My only complaint is the strong smell of lemon-scented wood polish. I'm pretty sensitive to that kind of thing though. Everything else was very lovely, and the price and location was ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We have just returned from a weekend stay in Madrid. The Hostal Armesto was initially a little hard to find - the sign is tiny but the manager/owner was still waiting up for us at 1am after a delayed flight , which we felt very bad about. The location is fantastic but our room was disappointing compared to the reviews I had read in advance. The bed dipped in the middle, the pillows were hard and our feet were out the end of the bed! The noise outside and from the room next door (a gaggle of women) woke us throughout the night but we got used to it the following night. We both agreed that due to location and the friendliness of the guy there (who spoke no English) we liked it, but it is not as fab as some reviews make it out to be. Perhaps the garden/courtyard rooms are better but although we requested one, we didn't receive it, so I can't say. I would prob stay here again but i would only send friends with manageable expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#272 of 437 in Madrid
152 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#325 of 437 in Madrid
183 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#288 of 437 in Madrid
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Hispalense
Hostal Hispalense
#303 of 437 in Madrid
53 reviews
Centro
Hostal Felipe V
Hostal Felipe V
#304 of 437 in Madrid
89 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#276 of 437 in Madrid
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Armesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Armesto

Address: Calle San Agustin 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Armesto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Armesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Armesto Madrid
Hostal Armesto Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing