We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget option”
Review of Pension Jaen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Jaen
Ranked #309 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Very central. Just a few minutes walk from the Prado

It is very small with only a handful of rooms. The staff were helpful when asked although we didn’t encounter them often. The room and especially the bathroom were very small (the sink is in the room and the toilet and shower are in the bathroom). The room was clean. Has a cool old-fashioned lift (elevator)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

Pros:
- It's a good hostal, very confortable, cleen rooms;
- Has a good location, on a central area of Madrid, each to reach
- Friendly staff


Cons:
- It is a little bit expensive compared to other hostals nearby;
- The staff don't speak english, which can be a problem for non-spanish speakers;
- It's small and it's located on a residential building, there is no living area for guests;
- No breakfast, no mini bar at the rooms

Overall: The price of this hostal is between a expensive hostal and a cheap hotel. If you want confort and a clean room, and if you're staying at the room just for sleeping, and don't want to pay a lot of money, this is a good place for you. However if you want to save money, you can find better deals.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

5 minutes fro the Plaza Mayor- the large plaza in the old city- so the location is awesome. Lots of restaurants and bars and minimarkets all around it. The room was spotless, great shower, good bed, quiet... even heating in the room. The family owned and run pension is very nice, simple but definitely worth the money. I would definitely stay there again and definitely recommend it to my friends. If you can get a room , then stop worrying about your lodgings in Madrid and move on to the rest of your planning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyPerlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Everything is great with this place. Clean, very good price, and the owners are wonderful people, very helpful - we were before in another Hostal in the same street (cervantes), but Hostal Jaen is superior and better priced than its competition in the street. It's at a walking distance of the Neptune plaza - walking distance to the metro station, to the Prado Museum. You can also walk to Puerta del sol station - it is close to everything if you like to walk. My husband and I never took the Metro, we ended up walking because it is in a very central place.
If we go back to Madrid, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: we got a room towards the interior, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a great, super economical place to stay when in Madrid. We had two rooms, both were completely functional, very clean, and since we only sleep in our rooms, the fact that they were small was not an issue at all.
The owners were extremely accommodating, even with our limited knowledge of Spanish. They made excellent arrangements for our transportation to the airport the next day. They also made sure that they provided filtered water and were more than happy to give us directions for whatever we wished we wanted to see.
Highly Recommended for those, who need a centrally located, clean, small, but extremely friendly and private at the same time place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in May 2012. The location of this hotel is excellent, walking distance to many of Madrid's top attractions (Madrid is a walker's city). The owners are charming and very service oriented (we speak Spanish, they don't speak much English). Our room was cleaned every single day and was spotless when we arrived at night. The room was very quiet. For the price (45 Euros per night), it cannot be beat. I would recommend this hostel to friends and stay here again if I returned to Madrid, which I most likely will.

Try the pizza at the pizzeria downstairs (Pizza Mas Calzone). It is world class.

Room Tip: We stayed at a double room (twin bed) with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a week, and would go back another time. The Pension is about 3 blocks from the Metro, a 10-15 min. walk to the train station in one direction, Puerta del Sol in another, the Prada Museum another. You can also walk to the Palace, Plaza Mayor and a host of other places as well. There are lots of eating places right around here that are very reasonably priced, as well as some higher priced restaurants as well. We usually had our breakfast at a little restaurant two blocks down on Leon called Miranda....great staff and awesome breakfast menu. There is a laundromat just at the end of the block, if you need to wash clothes, and they will wash them for you if you want.

The Pension was lovely and clean, with your bed made every day...even if you have already made it :)....room cleaned, fresh towels every day. We stayed in a room, not on the front, with two twin beds, our own shower and sink....shared the toilet, which was right beside our room. The room is very small, but we really spent no time here except to sleep. As already stated, the owners ?? speak very little English, and I can speak a little Spanish, so we really had no problem communicating.... had to play charades a couple of times, but we all had a good laugh ! Free WIFI, which is so nice to have. There is a small sign beside the outside door, so you only have to ring the bell, and they will let you in the first time. It is on the 3rd floor, but there is an elevator.

You get good value for your dollar/Euro here.....I would not hesitate to recommend Pension Jaen !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank green4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#234 of 437 in Madrid
220 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#269 of 437 in Madrid
152 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#290 of 437 in Madrid
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#288 of 437 in Madrid
113 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Miralva
Hostal Miralva
#373 of 437 in Madrid
40 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#323 of 437 in Madrid
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jaen

Address: Calle Cervantes 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#146 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £36 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaen Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing