We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow-a perfect stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Jaen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Jaen
Ranked #299 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow-a perfect stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

You cannot ask for better value. This was my first time alone in Spain, and I felt truly safe and comfortable while staying at Jaen. Yes, you must first be buzzed in to the building, but once you're in the third floor lobby, you're greeted by cheery orange walls and incredibly friendly service. The owner went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable even at midnight when I arrived, and as I had forgotten a US outlet converter, he spent many minutes going through his collection to find me one.
I was happy to find a comfy bed, nice TV, wifi connection, and more than enough room for a single traveler. Though I shared a bathroom, my room had it's own sink and shower for my use, which was extremely convenient. Everything was extremely clean and comfortable.
The hotel's location was as incredible as has been said--a few minutes walk from Paseo del Prado, the musuems, Parque del Retirro and more. Only 10-15 from Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor, and a few more minutes to the Palacio.
My most appreciative memory of the hostal was my departure. The owner went out of his way to book the airport service the night before my flight--talking on the phone with the people in Spanish and writing everything down for my use. Then, he himself awoke at 6:30 to knock on my door and make sure I was getting ready--an incredible relief as my alarm hadn't gone off! As I rushed downstairs he came after me to carry my suitcase and talk to the driver, going out of his way to make sure I would be at the airport safely. Wow. I was so sorry to say goodbye!

For the price and service, this hostal would have my highest recommendation for anyone looking to have a wonderful adventure in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was a little hard to find (on the 3rd floor of a building), but once I was there, it was exactly what I needed. Having been on the Camino, I needed privacy, a soaking tub, good shower, good bed, and a clean room. Then the location close to the Passeo Prado, Museo Thyssen, Reina Sofia, shopping in Salamanca, lots of places to eat, and the express bus to the airport - this hotel had it all. The person at the desk was very helpful and helped me who didn't speak Spanish. I would stay there again . . . and I will when I continue the Camino next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisier, but I really enjoy city noises on vacation. I live in an area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasigmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I opted to stay in the city waiting for a plane rather than some faceless airport hotel. The Juan was perfect with a friendly helpful service from the owners, they don't speak much English but we managed fine. The room was comfortable and clean with its own bathroom and toilet. The location is ideal for a quick visit as it is in the heart of the tourist area and surrounded by great bars and restaurants. I hope to return soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and helpful staff, no frills and surrounded by a profusion of great tapas and trendy bars and if you can afford the euro prices, smart restaurants. Easy walk to all the museums, Prado one of the best in the world and the Thyssen also. Naval one also, but take your passport!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTownRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Jaen is very close to Puerta del Sol, the museums (Prado, Thyssen), and Anton Martin subway stop. Easily walkable (10min) to Atocha train station and Gran Via. Supermarket (Carrefour Express) is nearby on Calle Principe. Incredible service and clean rooms. Pillows are a little hard but that's being nitpicky. Reception was friendly and gave good recommendations. Provided free, detailed map of Madrid. Even let us print out our boarding passes. Everything for a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medstudentbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the H Jaen at least ten times over the past years in my travels to Madrid, always returning. The owners are very nice people, always accommodating and friendly. The location is good in the Las Letras section of Madrid. Cervantes lived across the steet ( a few years ago)! The Hostal is near the Metro and within walking distance of the center. A laundromat is 2 minutes from the Hostal. Having a place like this makes travel to Spain much easier- I never have to think of where to stay when I'm in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This would be five stars had the woman not insisted on charging us twice for the room. We could not argue with her, although we had payed online weeks ago! Cute room, shower is bedside table though just a warning. But no issues, Las Cortes is a less rowdy place right near the Prado and just near enough the Plaza Mayor area without having a lot of tourist spillage Into the area. Remember this is Madrid- people stay out everywhere until four! There may be some street noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#283 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#289 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#315 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#273 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#179 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#247 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jaen

Property: Pension Jaen
Address: Calle Cervantes 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#146 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaen Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing