We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Jaen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Jaen
Ranked #297 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Surprisingly nice rooms and it's a really great location. We stayed in a room with toilet and shower for half the price friends payed for a hotel down the road (and ours had a lot more character ;-). It even had a flatscreen TV and wifi, if you want to spend any time in the room rather than enjoying the nearby sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Would defo recommend hotel to anyone on a budget, 90 euros for two nights an absolute bargain. Room spotlessly clean and served purpose for just getting our heads down at night after a busy day sight seeing. Added bonus that hotel in great little neighbourhood with dozens of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimMcMahon186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Suprisingly lively rooms hidden away in a back street in a great location. Not hard to find and central to many of the tourist attractions. We stayed in two rooms, with and without toilet.. both were nicely decorated and clean. Great hidden gem in the middle of a big city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank i_r_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed at what is now called Hostal Jaen, at the same address in Madrid, so I assume it's the same place. It is an excellent choice for its price. It is located in the Las Letras section of Madrid, where streets are narrow and historic (this one is on the street where Cervantes lived and died), and where one can find an abundance of restaurants, bars, and little shops. The color scheme is bright and lively. Rooms are on the small side. Mine came with a built-in shower, but with the toilet shared and down the hall (not a problem at all). The walls are thin, so one hears those in the next room showering or conversing (not that I could hear the words). The operators of the place are pleasant and accommodating. Access to a strong wi-fi signal is free. While it is on the third floor above the ground level, you have only a few steps to go up before you get to an elevator that takes you to the Hostal on the 3rd floor. There is no breakfast with the room, but places to get a breakfast are nearby. The walk to the El Prado distriict (with its world-class art museum) is an easy one downhill from the Hostal. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msafiri_Hodari_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This ultra-budget guesthouse is on the third floor of a building located on a side street about halfway between Puerta del Sol and the Prado. My wife and I stayed there for three nights in September. Our room was quite small, as expected, but spotlessly clean and freshly painted. It came with a small private bathroom with a shower. Air conditioning was a very welcome amenity, and worked perfectly. The only problem was the Wi-Fi signal, which was so weak in our room that only one of our two devices was able to connect. There was some street noise out back in the evenings, but the AC allows you to close the window and shut it out.

The location is wonderful, a 10 minute walk from the Prado (east) and Plaza del Sol (west). It was a joy to walk home from dinner at one of the many restaurants around nearby Plaza Santa Ana. The Anton Martin metro stop is also about a 5 minute walk, and you can get anywhere from there.

You can get to the hotel from the airport w/o taking a cab. Take the Aeropuerto Express bus to the Cibeles station and walk from there - about 15 minutes. The Atocha train station is also about a 15 minute walk.

The hosts speak very little English, but are very anxious to be helpful and accommodating. Carry your pocket dictionary along!

Room Tip: If you are more than two, see about one of the larger rooms. Ours was just barely big enough for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly, scratch up on your Spanish, or have google translate with you because the owners English was as good as my Spanish. We got by and had a laugh doing it though.
The rooms are fine, clean, fresh, everything worked. The w/c's are pretty much 'in' the room so it isn't very private if there are two of you but I stayed by myself anyway.

Sunday morning the lady had popped out for papers and a little food shopping which meant I had to wait 20 minutes for her to turn up. This is the Spanish lifestyle and so I wasn't annoyed. There's plenty of places to get a coffee near by.

Highly recommend it if you want a no-frills cheap stay right in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RafaFarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is small, but the location and price cannot be beat. We were within walking distance of the Reina Sofia, the Prado, the Retiro, the Gran Via, tons of shopping, and a lot of restaurants in the Plaza de Santa Ana. We didn't take a cab or public transportation anywhere, with the exception of taking a taxi from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the car rental place on our way out of town. Again, the room was small, but it had a private bathroom, a large (and comfortable) enough bed for the two of us, and enough space for our luggage. When you're in Madrid, you shouldn't be spending too much time in the hotel anyway, right? The employees did not speak English, but we did not speak (much) Spanish and managed to get by just fine. Everyone was friendly and as helpful as could be. We recommend this spot for travellers on a budget who have outgrown the true hostal experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#281 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#244 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#275 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#207 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Oporto
Hostal Oporto
#317 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#283 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Jaen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jaen

Property: Pension Jaen
Address: Calle Cervantes 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#146 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension Jaen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaen Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing