We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice design hotel in the trendiest side of Madrid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #66 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Very nice design hotel in the trendiest side of Madrid.”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very good location, full of bars and restaurants. Opened in the summer of 2011.
Very nice design rooms, but still very faithful to the original "posada" (inn).
Not really 4 stars in service, too small for that. But still very friendly people work here.
Super breakfast.
Perfect for 25-40 year olds, planning to have some fun.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullvibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POSADAdelDRAGON D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for writing your opinion about us. We are still working to offer all of our best to you. We would apreciate if you can come back again. In this case, please let us know.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    241
    49
    19
    7
See reviews for
39
383
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tanunda
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

What a find in Madrid - Posada del Dragon is a seductive, fun, combination of very good bed, great breakfast, affordable, and amazing location - executed by a team of slick professional staff. The location is in the heart of Madrid's tapas laneways only minutes walk from just about anything. An unconventional but very cool reception is the buzzing bar - and immediately we were right where we wanted to be in Madrid. Exceptional tapas with a contemporary take, good wine list, an immensely (and justifiably) popular bar is the front for very comfortable rooms. Considerately, the doors between the hotel and bar do close at midnight to afford some peace for the residents (if they are there). And the only slight compromise you need to make is - do I take the quiet rooms, with no windows (not right for fresh air fiends) - or, the larger rooms with fresh air and balcony and accept that I'll hear Madrid party into the early hours (or the bottle collection on Monday morning). WiFi is good, housekeeping great, and overall atmosphere just fantastic.... will be back!

Room Tip: You need to choose between fresh air and noise - but in that location, you'd be completely unrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarossaPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Posada del Dragon is a very modern approach to the weekend break - but it worked for me!

It is in a terrific location in La Latina district, 7-8 minutes from Sol Metro, 5 minutes from Tirso de Molina Metro and less than 5 minutes from the fabulous Plaza Mayor. If you want location you can't beat this place. Do check out the Mercado San Miguel just up the street too. A really good and safe place to try a wide range of tapas and drinks in a safe environment. A good place to start if you need to build your confidence before trying the bars and restaurants elsewhere.

The street on which the hotel resides - Calle Cava Baja - was full to bursting on the weekend we stayed in Madrid . But the atmosphere was great, no hint of tension or binge drinking and enough range of bars to serve the young crowd and those of us a little more mature. The hotel itself doubles up as a tapas bar and I can see why some people can feel a little intimidated if you return to the hotel before midnight and expect to go quietly to your bed. This isn't the place for that type of break be warned. We loved it, however, and as we were in Madrid for culture and pleasure we were not in bed before 2.00 a.m. (still early by Madrid standards).

Like the rest of my party I was in a single room. Fairly small and basic for a four star hotel it has to be said, but everything worked. TV with wide range of channels, super comfortable bed, decent storage and mini-bar. The highlight, however, was the rainbow shower which was exceptional. Didn't try breakfast but did use the bar and this was a very nice place. Newspapers are on hand in the bar/reception area if you are waiting for your friends to rise from their respective beds.

Posada del Dragon is good hotel in a fine city. Madrid is a cultural and culinary delight with lovely people and not like a capital city. I stayed in Barcelona last year and it knocks spots off that place. My marks are high because this contributed to our strong connection to the hotel. It gets 5 out of 5 for me. I gave my hotel and stay in the capital of Catalonia a 1. I guess that makes it Madrid 5 Barcelona 1?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElToffeeChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had the weekend in Madrid earlier this month and we stayed at Posada del Dragon. It is in a great location in the heart of the old city and on a street that has dozens of tapas bars. In fact the lobby of the hotel is a tapas bar too. It is popular with locals and was really busy when we arrived off a flight from London at 9pm on a Friday night. We had to weave our way through the crowd to check in and were then shown to our rooms.

The smaller rooms are gathered around a central courtyard and some of them are tiny and with only internal doors and glass walls - meaning that you cannot have fresh air. My single companions had two of these little rooms, while my sister and I shared a balcony room at the front of the hotel. This was bigger and had the benefit of external windows but yikes was it noisy. As you probably know Madrid parties all night and so with the window open we were intermittently woken by revellers and garbage collectors all night. We didn’t mind but others might – so you need to choose between a bigger room and fresh air, or air-conditioning and a smaller internal room.

All the rooms have very cool and clever décor, themed around bright colours and startling shapes, glossy white headboards and nifty cupboards. The showers were EXCELLENT, the bed supremely comfortable and the breakfast was probably the best I have had in Europe. The breakfast room has a bar offering a great selection of savoury and sweet breads & pastries as well as eggs (cooked to order), great coffee, fresh orange juice, a delicious egg tortilla and fruit, yoghurt etc.

We ate in the tapas bar too – on the night of our arrival. A table was available so we sat and enjoyed the really vibrant atmosphere and surrounds of this beautiful building. The mojitos were great, so was the red wine and the olives were the best olives any of us have ever eaten in the world – big call but it is true. They were delicious, as were the crocquetas and plump mussels and white anchovies.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms if you like fresh air AND are a heavy sleeper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The price is fair for what it is and the location helps put more charm into the character of the hotel. The electricity had some odd tendencies with the lights; but nothing too annoying. The staff is amazing and customer service is really good. Easy walk to La Latina or Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: They're all going to be somewhat noisy--they face a courtyard used for dining and drinking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragonizate, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you very much for your comment from the Dragon Team. We are glad you stayed with us last month and we would like you come back again to live the Dragonate feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a modern hotel in a good location. It is a nice place to stay when things go smoothly. But don't expect much attention when things go wrong. My boyfried and I are just back from a two night stay. On day 2 the electricity in our room blew, leaving us in pitch dark (the only window in the room was an internal one facing onto the corridor, so no natural light). We raised it with three different members of staff but there seemed to be no communication between them (we kept having to re-explain) and, despite three seperate assurances, nothing had been done about it when we checked out 24 hrs later. We were shown to another room to sleep in on the second night (it was too dark in our room to pack and move properly). Clearly the morning staff were not informed of the position, as someone unlocked the door and walked right in on us while we were still asleep in bed. Then we had to go back to our room and scramble around in the dark to pack out things before checking out. Apart for some vague apologies about the "misunderstanding" (?), nobody seemed that bothered at all. We're not particularly fussy when it come to hotels, but lights/power in the room is pretty essential! In the end we were glad to get out of there, as we were made to feel like a nuisance. Such a shame, as it could have been a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ldeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Brand new pousada in tapas straat Cava Baja. Nice food, great service top location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gdefijter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#155 of 435 in Madrid
512 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 435 in Madrid
595 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#41 of 435 in Madrid
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#72 of 435 in Madrid
1,358 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 435 in Madrid
1,478 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#56 of 435 in Madrid
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing