We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing staff, lovely Rooms ! Whist else you need ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #61 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Diani
2 reviews
“Great location, amazing staff, lovely Rooms ! Whist else you need ?”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have Been traveling around 4 continents for over 20 years for job purpose, so i have Seen lot of hotels.
This budget hotels si one of my favourites.
Lovely Rooms full decorated , clean towels every morning , cleanliness is a a real priority at the posada del dragon.
Cool ambience at the bar with all the staff (Amparo,Oscar) always ready to help you with what ever you need.
No complaints to be done at all !
strictly suggested, i would def. Come back !

Room Tip: balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cri74diani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    238
    47
    19
    6
See reviews for
39
375
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Posada Del Dragon is a great little hotel situated in the Latin Area of Madrid. Close to the tourist spots, Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor etc. the rooms are small but very trendy and exceptionally clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful with their advice about the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are much quieter than those in front although they are sound proofed but for super sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I stayed at the Posada del Dragon after reading some good reviews. It's also a reasonable price but that's one of the few positives.

It's fairly easy to find but not a lot of indication that it's actually a hotel. The street is a busy street of tapas bars and the hotel has its own which gets exceptionally busy.....

Unfortunately the bar area also doubles up as reception. If you can call it that. So arrive at the wrong time and you have to struggle into a packed bar and try and find the tiny reception desk at the end of the bar. Then wait until the staff realise that you are there.... Check in was quick when the guy finally came over but he gave no information about the hotel

I'd booked what was laughingly called a larger room. Massive lack of anywhere to store anything. Weird lights that I assume someone thought were trendy (but look like they came from the Habitat closing down sale). Nice little balcony but looked directly into busy restaurant opposite so had to keep shutters closed all the time.

Wifi signal pretty rubbish but at least it was free

Shower was big and nice range of toiletries

The rooms are all around an inner courtyard (standard rooms have no windows other than on to this) this is open to the elements so it can get really cold. I turned up the heating in the room only to get reception come up and tell me the control in my room controlled the whole floor so had to turn it down. This may not be a problem in the summer but it was exceptionally cold at the time.

Another drawback of the inner courtyard is its also used by the bar when its busy so a lot of noise travels up. Also smoking oddly seems to be permitted here even though the only place for the fumes to go and linger is the walkways to the rooms

Didn't have breakfast as it was on the pricey side and plenty of nearby places at a fraction of the cost

Staff I encountered didn't seem overly interested in the hotel or its guests. The bar and restaurant seemed most important to them. Only exception was the guy with loads of tattoos (crucifix on back?) ... Very nice guy and makes great coffee

To sum up.... If you want a noisy tiny room then this place is fine. Otherwise go elsewhere

Room Tip: They're all small.... But go for the balcony rooms which are less small. Also try and avoid roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myrtyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I really don't have anything bad to say about this hotel, but upon arrival, my room smelled like pot. I had to prop the door open a little bit to air the room out. Bed was comfortable and shower was very good. Free wifi worked well, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzyjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This hotel was wonderful...great rooms with cunning layout, nice high ceilings, large french doors to have a view down to the street, etc. All the staff were amazing in my couple night stay. Cute little bar on ground level is a great place to start the evening early and has a nice breakfast as well. Great value for money in the center of it all in Madrid.

Room Tip: I liked the room facing the street, but of course it was the only one I saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This boutique hotel is brilliantly placed to explore the old town (La Latina) and many attractions are within walking distance. Casa Baja is full of bars and restaurants but we weren't disturbed by any noise in our room.
The room we had was a little small, really just a bed with nowhere really to chill and spend any time - but the shower room and toilet were a good size and very modern.
We paid about 200 euros for three nights, and used it as a base to sleep, wash and change only. But then Madrid has so much to offer, do you really need a lot of space when you are out all the time?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you hate modern, soulless hotels and fancy something far more intimate and quirky then I strongly recommend you to this hotel. There's plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, and even if like me you are on business, a quick visit to the Palace or Prado is within easy reach. The staff are fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful, my room was spotless and very comfortable. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_hackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#152 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#58 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#47 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing