We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern hotel and great staff”
Review of Posada del Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada del Dragon
Ranked #80 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel was perfect for us as a twenty-something couple with a few days to explore Madrid. Most of the major attractions are within easy walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we even got a free welcome drink which was a nice touch. The room was modern and despite my reservations at the time of booking wasn't too garish! We had a room towards the back which I would recommend if you are a light sleeper, if you're in the sun all day its actually nice to have a darker room I think. The bar downstairs was cool, the food and drinks were tasty and reasonably priced and there were lots of great eating options on the same street. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jctanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

We only stayed here one night but really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are reasonably new, in good condition, with nice touches like a good powerful hairdryer. Aircon also worked well and didn't blow onto the bed.

Things that might not be to everyones taste are the shower & toilet were behind a glass partition (and door). It was frosted in all the right places, but it was unusual to be able to look out from the shower into the bedroom.

We particularly liked the mattress - we both had a very good nights sleep. So much so that on checkout the very nice person in charge gave us all the details of where they got it from.

The staff were all super helpful, but a special mention goes to person on duty in the morning (sadly I didn't get her name). She was very helpful to us, and also to other people staying (for example helping to print out flight boarding passes).

A note on parking - really the best thing is not to have a car in central Madrid - but for one reason or another we did. The best place to park is under the market near the hotel - it is EUR 29.50 for 24 hours, which is pretty much the going rate. There are cheaper places but more of a walk and more homework required to find them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is located in one of the best streets in Madrid for a night visiting tapas bars. Also very good for all of the sights of central Madrid. Posada Del Dragon is a tapas bar, and seems a very popular location. The rooms are boutique - small and compact, but very clean, and the staff are very friendly.
If I were to be picky, I would say the rooms could do with a kettle - tea / coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After reading great reviews on this here Trip Advisor - we booked the Posada del Dragon for five nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. Upon arrival - the hotel was super easy to find from the Metro station (about 2-3min walk).... the entrance is actually in the hotel bar so you have to walk past a few tables to get to the reception desk. One of this hotel's best attributes were the lovely staff. They were extremely helpful, polite and best of all...offered you a welcome drink on arrival (beer,wine, coffee/tea). We were shown to our room which was stylish and comfy - the bed is one of the best i have ever slept in. The one downside was that our room, on the ground floor, was at the back of the restaurant and extremely close to the last set of tables/chairs which meant that we had to walk through a full and rather small restaurant to even get to our room and when we left in the morning, we opened the door to a room full of diners. The noise wasn't as bad as i thought it would be and we were often out late so it didn't bother us too much. If i was to go again, i would ask for a room on a different floor.

We ate breakfast in the hotel most days (you can have a coffee/croissant/juice for 6 euros or a full continental breakfast - with cold meats, cheese and tortilla - for 12 euros). We opted for the lighter option. Both looked great though - lovely coffee and fresh and fresh warm pastries.

Location-wise - i'm not sure this hotel could be in a better place. Located right in the middle of Cava Baja in La Latina, the hotel sits on one of the best tapas streets in Mardid. More places to eat or grab a drink than you could visit in one trip. A lively, buzzing atmosphere at nightime with small cocktail bars opening thier doors at aroun 9pm and a lovely quiet walk with a few lunchtime venues open during the day.

We walked everywhere in Mardid, apart from our trip to the football stadium, and this hotel was a great starting and end point after a long day of sightseeing. The El-Rastro market is down the road and Plaza Mayor is about a 5 minute walk.

There was a slight mix-up with the bill at the end of our stay but the fantastic staff helped us to sort it out quickly and without fuss.

Overall - we loved staying here and would stay here again should we go back to Madrid: Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just fantastic. Great location. The most comfy bed I have slept on in a hotel in years. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Complimentary drink on arrival. Had a steak for my evening meal and couldn't fault it. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Weather was really sunny so it was nice to stand on the balcony and watch the world go by. My only negative was when I took a shower there were no bath towels only small towels. I didn't mention it as it wasn't a show stopper but I am sure if I did it would have been rectified by the staff. ...........I only stayed one night but have booked a return trip in 3 weeks with my wife for a few nights relaxation, bliss.

Room Tip: Had room with balcony. Nice when the sun is shining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciferManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A great location for an innovative small hotel and a great staff. You may want to avoid standard rooms if you have some extra luggage and the offered area is quite small. Rooms design is innovative, considering the small space offered.

Room Tip: Avoid the smaller size rooms if you carry extra luggage....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Salvador2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have to say we received the best welcome of any place I've stayed before. Receptionist spoke fluent English & gave us a great idea of places to see while we were in Madrid & also gave us a drink on the house! The rooms are small but perfectly formed. The location is superb and i cant image we could have stayed anywhere better for our weekend city break.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-c-m-oneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#187 of 442 in Madrid
573 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 442 in Madrid
648 reviews
Huertas
Axel Hotel Madrid
Axel Hotel Madrid
#32 of 442 in Madrid
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#99 of 442 in Madrid
1,657 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Dragon

Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#62 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £62 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing