We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Luxury - But Delightful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #56 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not Luxury - But Delightful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Posada del Dragon over a long weekend in February.

The rooms are quirky and quite small but with very comfortable beds, modern bathrooms (shower only) and TV.

The whole place was well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Hotel staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast is good value at 12 euro.

Free WiFi - but hard to get a connection on 3rd floor.

3rd floor room at front of hotel had lovely views, but street partying goes on till late.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Nice views from balcony rooms on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfokinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    226
    43
    18
    5
See reviews for
37
356
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I had an ok stay at Posada Del Dragon for one night, on our way out of Madrid (the owners of our usual b&b were on holiday, so we couldn't stay there) It was a very neatly designed room, but quite small for the price. We could also sympathise with the noise concerns of the other reviewers as there seemed to be a constant low buzz outside of the hotel at all hours. We were very tired from running around that day, so we slept fine. Considering the size of the room (about 1/3 the size of our room at Abracadabra) the lack of breakfast included and at almost 3x the price, I would prefer to stay elsewhere next time if available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am very sorry you found the room small, All our rooms are a good size for doble occupancy, but if you decide to come back to La Posada del Dragon, we recommend you to book a Balcony room.
Thank You again for your comments

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

On my first trip to Europe I was pleasantly surprised. Good affordable price, big enough, clean room with a beautiful balcony. Modern decor, good food at the bar and great location. I tottaly recommend it. Next time Im there, Im going to stay there without a doubt!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the first floor that have glass floors and the excavations of the great wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almaescribens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire hotel decoration, location and rooms very nice

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My first ever visit to Madrid, Spain and the hotel was a big highlight of making My partner & Myselfs stay exceptional! We had a double room on the third floor, Design & Decor was fantastic and stylish for the price we payed, one slight downside- shower door to the wetroom leaked, so lots of water on the carpet outside. Staff were very friendly on both reception & bar/ restaurant downstairs, serving lovely food & drinks with a buzzing atmosphere. We ordered Football tickets online for a Real Madrid game & the staff did everything to ensure we recieved these, with quick responses to emails. Location superb- For a genuine feel of Spanish culture, away from the tourist hotspots located among superb tapas restaurants, bars & La Latina underground station. Would highly recommend & RE-VISIT!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMeister86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jenmeister
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed there alone, and I booked a single room: the hotel is overall nice, amazing position, it has a bar/restaurant with a cool atmosphere, friendly staff, good breakfast. The single room was the problem: nicely decorated, but too small!! It had just space for a single bed (I guess it was a 120cm one), and everything else (a small desk, chair, and an holder for the luggage) was packed in a very small space! Moreover, there were two tiny, very small, locked windows, looking on the corridor of the inner courtyard, so you could not open the curtains, unless you don't want to loose your privacy. Toilet was clean, but the the door of the shower was not closing thight, so lot of water on the toilet floor. I was there only one night, than fine, but for more days, I would not choose this place again - if I have to book a single.

Room Tip: Pay attention if booking a single room, they are way too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seadream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at La Posada del Dragon
We are sorry that the single room seemed too small, but all our guests staying at this type of room are really satisfied with it.
We hope to see you son at la Posada del Dragon and we recommend you to book a Corrala or a balcony room.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights. Quality of the rooms are underrated. The hotel setup is excellent. I had a room on the third floor with a view of the church. There is a lot of street noise but that is a issue if you go early to bed. You are in Madrid which does not start until midnight.
The bar downstairs has some of the best tapas on a street filled with tapas. The staff there are excellent in everyway.
Will be definitely going back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Renaissanceparquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our hotel, restaurant and location very nice
When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night before a business meeting. First time visiting Madrid. No problem finding it, and got a response to my query regarding late check in during the day before I left for the airport. Tiny room, but very stylish and functional. Best room I've ever had anywhere on a budget.
Friendly stuff, and overall really original and quirky place. Word of caution for those who are rather petite: coat hanger and bath towels can be a little bit hard to reach. After check out they kept my suitcase for me to get it after my meeting.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are larger and smaller rooms. Maybe try to clarify in advance. As a solo traveller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel


I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#151 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#51 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing