We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location, less than 5 minutes from Metro, plenty of restaurants and bars in the same street,and only 2 minutes from the Plaza Mayor. The room was very design and clean. I had a room with beautiful view on San Isidro's church. There is a safe in the room ( no extra cost).Would stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

Weak wifi ( after a few minutes normally connected it just stops working ) and this during all the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isolagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon
I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and room

When your travel plans call for returning to New York I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call my office directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    240
    48
    19
    6
See reviews for
39
379
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Very close to the metro; in the heart of the bars/tapas, and a 15 min walk to Prado. Hotel itself is quiet despite being attached to bar. Also hotel is open air so it was cool in the hallways, especially in the morning. Also, blinds do not keep out all light so would recommend eye mask.
Room was modern, well appointed, and good size for Europe.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDoc_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Posada del dragon Hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
When your travel plans call for returning to MAdrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call our office directly so I may personally handle your reservations..
My kindest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We only were able to have a very brief visit to Madrid at Posada del Dragon was a great location which allowed us to see a number of attractions. Staff were very helpful and the room though small was very comfortable and clean. Both of us quite tired from all our travels and needed an early night is preparation for the long flight back to Australia so an early (by Spanish standards) dinner was required. Hotel staff managed to supply this even though the kitchen was not open. Noise was a bit of an issue as we retired early

Room Tip: If planning a longer stay would be worth asking if larger rooms are available. Car parking is avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I was very happy to hear that you found the location amazing

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. And we would recommend you a Balcony room . Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Posada del Dragon over a long weekend in February.

The rooms are quirky and quite small but with very comfortable beds, modern bathrooms (shower only) and TV.

The whole place was well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Hotel staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast is good value at 12 euro.

Free WiFi - but hard to get a connection on 3rd floor.

3rd floor room at front of hotel had lovely views, but street partying goes on till late.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Nice views from balcony rooms on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfokinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I had an ok stay at Posada Del Dragon for one night, on our way out of Madrid (the owners of our usual b&b were on holiday, so we couldn't stay there) It was a very neatly designed room, but quite small for the price. We could also sympathise with the noise concerns of the other reviewers as there seemed to be a constant low buzz outside of the hotel at all hours. We were very tired from running around that day, so we slept fine. Considering the size of the room (about 1/3 the size of our room at Abracadabra) the lack of breakfast included and at almost 3x the price, I would prefer to stay elsewhere next time if available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am very sorry you found the room small, All our rooms are a good size for doble occupancy, but if you decide to come back to La Posada del Dragon, we recommend you to book a Balcony room.
Thank You again for your comments

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

On my first trip to Europe I was pleasantly surprised. Good affordable price, big enough, clean room with a beautiful balcony. Modern decor, good food at the bar and great location. I tottaly recommend it. Next time Im there, Im going to stay there without a doubt!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the first floor that have glass floors and the excavations of the great wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almaescribens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire hotel decoration, location and rooms very nice

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My first ever visit to Madrid, Spain and the hotel was a big highlight of making My partner & Myselfs stay exceptional! We had a double room on the third floor, Design & Decor was fantastic and stylish for the price we payed, one slight downside- shower door to the wetroom leaked, so lots of water on the carpet outside. Staff were very friendly on both reception & bar/ restaurant downstairs, serving lovely food & drinks with a buzzing atmosphere. We ordered Football tickets online for a Real Madrid game & the staff did everything to ensure we recieved these, with quick responses to emails. Location superb- For a genuine feel of Spanish culture, away from the tourist hotspots located among superb tapas restaurants, bars & La Latina underground station. Would highly recommend & RE-VISIT!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMeister86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jenmeister
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#143 of 436 in Madrid
504 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 436 in Madrid
588 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#47 of 436 in Madrid
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#45 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing