We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant: Excellent quality & good value in the Cava Baja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Olonzac, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant: Excellent quality & good value in the Cava Baja”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but had dinner... We had a wonderful meal which was enhanced by the staff (Gabriela & Bernardo). They both appreciated that our Spanish was minimal (as much as we tried), they were very friendly & were very happy to make recommendations for wine and food. We had the tapas mussel croquettes to start, the tomato salad, the Japanese style salmon for our main courses and apple tart and lemon 'soap' for dessert. All were fantastic as was the wine recommended by Bernardo. The quality was excellent and good value for money and we would highly recommend the restaurant - especially in a street that has 60 bars and even more restaurants!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sainte-Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sainte
I am glad that everything was enjoyable when dinning at La Antoñita and that you enjoy our food.

Thank you for dining at the restaurant as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Our customer feedback has always been pivotal in making our future customer experience better. We will pass on the comments to Bernard and GAbriela!

We look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,

Amparo VAno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    240
    48
    19
    6
See reviews for
39
379
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had looked at several hotels before booking, in other areas of Madrid but after being encouraged by tripadvisor reviews to stay in La Latina district, we decided on posada del dragon. The hotel is 2 or 3 minutes walk from La Latina metro station, which is about 50 mins from the airport. The metro is incredibly easy and from the airport there are 2 changes but this was no bother at all. We got a metro day ticket which was €8 each as we were going to a Real Madrid match the same day and would be using the metro again. The hotel is right in the middle of tapas district and there were many many places to eat. The hotel has an open courtyard where you can eat and the rooms are round the outside. On the first evening we went to bed before people had finished eating and as a result we could hear them when we were in the room. However as we were full and had already consumed our fill of Rioja, the noise didn't bother us and we slept soundly. The bed was one of the comfiest ever so that also helped. I would say that if you have trouble with noise, then this hotel is perhaps not fore you or you just need to drink more! The room was lovely, baroque decorated and was very cosy. The bathroom was about a foot away from the bed and although the toilet and shower had frosted glass, it didn't really leave much to the imagination. As we are husband and wife we had no trouble but if you are at all concerned about being 2 feet away from someone on the toilet and being partially able to see them, then again perhaps you might want to ask for a room where there is more privacy. The hotel staff were brilliant and gave us a welcome drink upon arrival, and we also ate at the hotel and the food was delicious. Nothing bad to say about it and I would definately recommend it and return myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi!!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel
I was very happy to hear that you found very confortable our beds, Lots of guests ask us where did we buy the matresses, because they love them.
We are glad you enjoyed your experience here in La Posada del dragón
When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call us directly and we will make your reservation
Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
189 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything exceptional in this restaurant at cava baja (we didn't sleep in the hotel)!! Perfect meat (all courses are good)! Just one thing to notice, very few wines but there are one bottle of tinto and one of white wines very good!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Carlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Carlo
I am glad that everything was enjoyable when dining at La Antoñita and that you enjoy our food.

Thank you for dining at the restaurant as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Our customer feedback has always been pivotal in making our future customer experience better. We will pass on the comments to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,

Amparo VAno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a young people's hotel, and quite chic of its kind. Lots of superb little design touches, and throughout the designers have ruled over the functionalists. One consequence is rooms which look smart but lack basic facilities - no shelving for clothes, no wardrobe just an open rail for hanging items (but at least real hangers!),and virtually no shelving for personal items in the bathroom. Our rooms gave on to the internal courtyard, which could be a noisy echo chamber at certain times of the day, and had no natural daylight unless you were willing to open your room entirely to the corridor (venetian blinds would have been better - see out not see in - than the open or closed entirely kind we had). The rooms felt even smaller and more claustrophobic because of this. Bathroom inevitably the glass and steel kind with zero privacy from the bedroom (do designers never use these bathrooms?). Freshly pressed orange juice at breakfast, good coffer and bread, croissants a bit sweet - all taken in the informal reception area. which was quite sweet. Staff are very friendly and helpful - a young team runs three businesses - a bar (that's where you arrive at reception and if you have a lot of luggage and there are one or two people in front of you it may feel as if you walked into a bar by mistake), a hotel, and a connected restaurant next door (apparently with overflow in the courtyard. We liked the people, the informal casualness, the location is very central - on probably the busiest tapas bar street in the City. And quite good value for where and what it is. But in the end it did not really suit us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear John! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.
I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay but you did not like the size of the room, we do have balcony romos which are bigger.

We look forward to see you back in La Posada del dragón

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for the 2nd time at the Dragon for 3 nights, and it was so lovely to see the gorgeous staff again.Food in the restaurant delicious, we went to other places but did not find it as good.I had a wonderful time dancing and laughing with locals late at night on my birthday...I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.We love it!!!

Room Tip: It was noisy at the weekend, as it is a lively party area, but it did not bother me one bit, infact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Debbie Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon. We love that it was your third stay.
I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benahavís, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was faced with a huge problem and this hotel solved it. My 17 year old son was standed in Madrid. I called the manager to ask if they had a room for him? After scanning permission for him to stay along with my passport, the hotel reserved him a room. Also at a very good price. His room was clean and funky. My son had a wonderful nights sleep and breakfast and I was able to sleep also knowing he was in good hands.
Thank you so much. Especially Alvaro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Michelle
We are glad we could solve the situation in order to make you a pleasant stay!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel. We will pass on your comments to Alvaro, he will be very happy.
When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call us directly and we will make your reservation
Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the hotel. Very well located, staff friendly and effecient! It remains a 3 stars hotel not a four.
Breakfast: good value for money
Service: bar et restaurant very good.
Reception: very good on arrival and departure (we locked our safe... Thanks to my wife!! :p ) they solved the issue in few minutes.
Location: great tapas bars, food. Close to shopping areas!

Book here and you'll be happy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheSwissTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#143 of 436 in Madrid
504 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 436 in Madrid
588 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#47 of 436 in Madrid
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#45 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing