We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, friendly and clean close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Madrid
Ranked #20 of 280 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe, friendly and clean close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

When I was booking my room at Hostal Madrid, I was looking for a hostal that had private bathrooms close to city center. This hostal was clean, safe, and had everything I needed! Wifi was in the lobby and in the room and worked well, although a little slow for streaming video. I was just glad to have free wifi in the room at this price. There wasn't a problem with noise as I had an inside room and though the bathroom was tiny - it was private! You are right next to a little convenience store and two blocks from Plaza Mayor. The SOL train station is close and there are shopping and cafes everywhere. The room was perfect and the price was only a few dollars more than sharing a room with 10 other people. The noise from other guests was comparable to other hotels I've stayed in. If you want an inexpensive room that is clean and close to everything, this is it. Esmeralda and Luis were wonderful and when I asked about taxi's Esmeralda was on the phone ordering one before I could even tell her the time I needed it. There is a flat screen tv in the room also but you'll be out more than in. Taxi from Madrid Atocha train station was only 11 Euros. I highly recommend Hostal Madrid! I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a double for a larger bathroom. Although it was ok for me (and I'm 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlyn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    122
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
72
106
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hostal Madrid has apartments although they do not directly advertise them on their website. Just email them and ask for an apartment. They are a great value!! We got an apartment for three people with a terrace (!) for 78 euros per night. Plenty of room to spread out. You could not ask for a better location. The rooms were clean, clean, clean. Fully equipped. The folks at the desk of Hostal Madrid were kind and consistently helpful --offering their English when they could. The only glitch was that the wifi didn't really work in the room. We had to go down to the lobby for it to work.

The apartments are not a fancy hotel; don't expect luxury. They are basic, but not in any way deficient. They give you a feel for how Europeans really live. I would absolutely stay here again next time I am in Madrid.

Room Tip: Pay a couple dollars extra and get an apartment with a terrace if you can. You can do your laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is located directly in the center of the city and is surprisingly quiet. The internet did not work in my room at all. The staff was sympathetic though and it was not at all their fault. They shared with me the wifi in the lobby which worked well. For the price you pay this place is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great location , rooms not fantastic but clean , your own bathroom , but you are right in the middle of everything , perfect for day and nightime outings.
There is so much to do I don't think u would see all in amonth but madrid is a fantastic city

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I chose this hostal based on its location and previous comment from TA users. I booked a double room, didn't manage to get upgrade to the apartment since we went during holy week, it's quite busy. It's so true that the location is just perfect, it's safe and clean but it absolutely doesn't feel like a hotel. After all a hostal is a hostal, I stayed there for three night for price of 70 euros per night, it's not particularly cheap but considering the location I think it's worth the value.

On the down side the toilet and the shower room is two seperate room, It is so small that a person will barely fit in. The hairdryer doesn't work, There is no shelf, it's a hole in the wall for you to put things in.

On the plus side, it's literally close to everything puerta de sol is less than 5 mins walk a way. The wifi works perfectly without any problem, staff at reception are very helpful and polite. There is a small safe on the wall, it's small but enough to fit your passport and some cash in.

Room Tip: If your build is not small you might want to ask them if you can fit into their toilet or shower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsurfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked a triple room because the doubles were all taken. The place looked good so the little extra for the larger room still represented value. I emailed and asked if a double bed was included as part of the triple room. Esmeralda replied that the triple room contained three single beds. I thanked her and said we would still take the room. When we arrived I was greeted by Esmerelda and she gave us the news that she had upgraded us into a 2 bedroom apartment in the adjacent building - for the same price! What wonderful service. The location is perfect for viewing all the main attractions and we spent 4 great days wandering around beautiful Madrid

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is very spunky. Completely restructured and on the second floor, it is very smart and minimalist in style, furnishing and decor. Lots of marble tiles, white doors and black frames everywhere, frosted glass, wooden floors and huge framed pictures of the Alhambra in Granada. Our room was quite spacious with very comfy beds, TV (only Spanish channels, though), desk, air con and bedside tables. Free WIFI in the rooms, Bit of a challenge to have the toilet and shower in an alcove directly off the room with frosted glass walls and doors! To be honest, you can't see through the glass (only vague shapes) but it could be inhibiting for some. I think that the more expensive rooms had what I call "proper" bathrooms. Great shower with one of those massive rain shower heads coming directly from the ceiling and a drench of water like a waterfall in full descent. Fantastic after a day's sightseeing! All extremely smart, modern, spotless and efficient.
Reception is open 24 hours per day and the staff are unfailingly polite and helpful - and speak English which makes it even better!

The location is unbelievable. Only around 50 metres from the Puerta del Sol and walking distance to just about everywhere if you like to walk - and the Sol Metro just around the corner for those who don't. The hotel is in a small, lively street and the area is full of eating and drinking places of all prices, sizes and levels of sophistication. You won't be starved or starving!

Breakfast is served in a charming and characteristic restaurant called "El Buscar del Tempo" and it is very generous and served by delightful young people.

A really comfortable place to stay and really really good value for expensive Madrid!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madrid

Property: Hostal Madrid
Address: Calle Esparteros 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing