We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Madrid
Ranked #20 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked room at this place for a family of five one day before we arrived. We got an excellent room at the fifth floor with two roof terraces and an large apartment. They helped us parking the car at a cheap location. The location is splendid. Book it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ragnar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    125
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
108
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
México City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Last year we stayed at Hostal Madrid and was such a good experience, that we also stayed there this year.
Excellent location, nice and efficient service at front desk, everything was very clean and the price was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgnava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

perfect location, good price €58/night for a double room with a small kitchen area. fridge, microwave and hob but no oven.

it's a touch noisy as the walls are a bit thin, but it's nothing you can't sleep through and everybody in the hostal tends to keep quiet.

would definitely recommend staying here if you're backpacking as we are. perfect location for everything in Madrid.

staff are friendly and speak good English if your Spanish isn't great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank memyselfandmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, WA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As others have noted, the location is one of the big selling points of this place because you're halfway between Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. We were able to hop onto the metro at Sol and take an easy jaunt to the newly reopened archaeology museum, no problem. There are many restaurants nearby, and a 24 minimart sort of place right at the base of the building.
The first time we came in at night, we missed the timer lights inside the stairwell, but once we realized where they were we were never in the dark again. The elevator is intimate, like so many in Europe, but worked fine.
The staff here speaks great English and was super helpful even when we had to check out at 4 am for a flight. We loved our apartment, which is worth splurging on as the rooms are private. Yeah, it was a bit noisy facing the street, but had it not been for that, we would never have realized they were having a parade outside right after we arrived (not for us, for the Feast of San Isidro :) Madrid can be chaos in a grand, fun sort of way, but this place is an island of calm and home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in Hostal Madrid the weekend of 16-18 May and were more than pleased! My husband and I were upgraded to the 5th floor two bedroom apartment which included a full kitchen with a washer, and two huge terraces. I am not sure why we were the lucky ones, but it was terrific! We chose the hotel due to its location between Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol, which could not have been better! Although in a lively area, we barely heard any noise outside, and we even slept with the windows open. The staff were very friendly and kind, and it was very easy to check-in and check-out. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbuisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

A couple friends and I stayed there 4 nights in April. The windows in our basement room opened up to the inner courtyard which wasn't a great view and the lighting in the room was pretty dark but it was very clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Their concierge was open 24/7 which was nice too. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbrownrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent 2 nights in the Hostal Madrid recently - 21st and 22nd April and can recommend it to anyone planning a short stay in Madrid. The location on the Calle Esparteros is excellent. Two or three minutes walk on either side are the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor, two of the most popular squares in the old part of the city. The Puerta del Sol also has metro links to the central rail station and pretty much everywhere else for that matter.

The hotel itself is relatively basic but the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and there was free wi-fi. Finally, all the staff - I had dealings with three - were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. There is no restaurant but the hotel location means you are minutes from tapas bars, restaurants and cafes. Also, it's only a short stroll to the Mercado San Miguel which is a must.

All in all, a very pleasant place to stay in a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onebyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#112 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madrid

Property: Hostal Madrid
Address: Calle Esparteros 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing