We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one room”

Museo de Historia de Madrid
Ranked #103 of 779 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Only one room”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a very small museum because there is only one room and it has historical maps of early Madrid. I stopped to check it out after I was done at the Romanticismo Museum. It does not take very long to visit the Museo Municipal. You can take photos inside without flash and when I went I was not charged an entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelerd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    58
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop if you're in the area..”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This exhibit takes less than a half-hour to look at, so it's ideal for killing time if you're already in the Tribunal area (it's right at the metro stop, can't miss it, big pink building). The only really interesting part is old maps and models of the city, so you'll want to know a little bit about the area before you come here anyway, it's pretty useless if you just got to Madrid and don't even know where you are!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanookisuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small models of old Madrid”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

This is also called "museo de historian". It's got small scale models of Madrid during different time periods, along with old maps and a film about the design of Madrid. My guidebook said there's supposed to be sculptures too but we didn't see any although it seems the place is only partially open. Only basement viewable, while upstairs rooms are empty. Luckily it's free so it's fine for a short visit on our way to the Museo de Romanticismo. The fascade is pretty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hydien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you live in Madrid ”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

If you live in Madrid, or you are very interested in how was Madrid 400 years ago, you'll find it interesting. Better explanations would be nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank Koke000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,577 reviews
3,177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,138 helpful votes
“Not Ready for Viewing”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I made a special trip to see this museum by taxi and found that the only thing I could see was an exhibit that seemed to be very political, on the left. The website of the museum did not say that this was the only thing you could see, so I was very, very disappointed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo de Historia de Madrid also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo de Historia de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing