We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very liberating!!”
Review of Museo Tiflologico

Museo Tiflologico
Ranked #313 of 757 things to do in Madrid
Attraction details
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very liberating!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A wonderful experience to be invited to touch the art in a museum, nice collection of bronze, stone and textile pieces. Lovely space and experience. The large models of Spanish and international buildings are probably more interesting for children.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katchen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Museo Tiflologico (Museum for the Blind) is hosted and run by ONCE (the Spanish organisation for visually impaired). It's not in the heart of Madrid, but easily reached with the metro. It's certainly worth the trouble to go there.

The highlight of the museum is the models of famous monuments in Spain and the World. In this museum, you can touch everything, since it is for the blind. Although, it's as amazing if you can see and close (or cover) your eyes and use your hands to touch.

The museum also displays art works (mostly sculptures) made by visually impaired artists. There are also a section about the development of Braille and the history of ONCE.

I truly recommend a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Zizu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Check the hours as I believe they are closed between 2 - 4 PM. This was such an interesting visit for us - the staff are extremely helpful and this is such a thoughtful museum. The exhibition was of popular European and global monuments (think: Eiffel Tower). Welcome to take photos although we were advised by the staff that the preference is for blind guests to touch the exhibits. Interesting nonetheless and well worth a visit if you are in Madrid!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank unicorngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I am not blind, but really appreciated this museum”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This museum was just amazing to me. I went with a group of 16 and although none of us are blind the staff was very informing and let us take pictures, touch, etc...also provided us with so much information. Very clean, they have four different collections. Going to this museum will definately open your eyes to what we take for granted each day. The monuments collection was my favorite! Free entrance and orientations!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LOVETOTRAVEL1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Tiflologico also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo Tiflologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing