We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park, lots of room to bike or walk”
Review of Casa de Campo

Casa de Campo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.76*
and up
Electric Bike Rental in Madrid
More Info
US$46.60*
and up
Segway Madrid Casa de Campo Private Tour
More Info
US$46.60*
and up
Madrid Casa de Campo Segway Tour
Ranked #80 of 779 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest urban park situated west of central Madrid. Formerly a royal hunting estate.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Great park, lots of room to bike or walk”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing expanse right in downtown Madrid. You can choose just to walk around the lake and have a bite to eat or a drink or you can do a VERY long walk deep into the park. If you go to the cable car station in the center, you will get a good view over the park and back over Madrid. It is FREE by the way... Really a nice place to relax on a hot summer day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    152
    56
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Big park, not crowded”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I walked to the river at the back of the royal palace and there, at the other site of the river, begins a big park, the Casa de Campo. Actualy you can walk from the city center into a countryside landscape: that is unique.

I walked a morning into the park. There were not many people, even at the lake. When you are further in the park you can see the skyline of Madrid. Attraction in the park are a cablecar, an attraction park with rollercoasters and the zoo.

If you need some rest and want to walk other then the city, this park is nice. If you thing the walk is to far, you can choose to take a one way trip with the cable car.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GOlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Casa De Campo Zoo”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have visited the Casa De Campo Madrid Zoo a few times and love it everytime I go.. the metro takes you to Casa De Campo metro and it is 10-15 minutes walk from there.. I love Zoos so loved this and had a great day in the sun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I visited Casa de Campo over the San Isidro festivities in May. Whilst the centre of Madrid was alive with lot's of things going on I decided to take the metro to Principe Pio and then a 10 minute walk up the hill brought me to the cable car station. 4 euros 1 way or 11 euros return -- I opted for one way. Quite incredible to think that such a large park exists so close to the centre of Madrid. The peace and tranquility here was incredible. I made my way down towards the lake and sat there for about 4 hours chilling out and watching the world go by. If you're looking for some respite during you stay in Madrid then come here. If you don't want to try the cable car, then take metro line 1 to LAGO and walk down towards the bars and restaurants. A great place to recharge your batteries both with company or alone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank spindriftmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just on the outskirt of downtown Madrid, you can get here taking the Madrid Teleferic for about $5 Euros roundtrip, great place to relax by the lake with some wine and tapas!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 817_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Campo also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing