We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, value, and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hostal
Ranked #30 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, value, and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My 16 year old stepdaughter, her 17 hear old friend and I stayed here on an overnight stop from Athen back to the States. The Astoria is in a good location -- just a few minutes from Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, smoke-free and a great value. The girls loved the multi-head shower. It was the best shower we'd had in over two weeks! Next time I'm in Madrid for a few days I'll definitely consider the Astorial

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    167
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
42
116
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

This was a great find. The room and bathroom were quite modern, very clean and very comfortable (we really appreciated the air conditioning). It is quite basic and there are no real 'services' offered by the hotel but the room was great and the free internet appreciated (there is also a lift which is quite rare and buildings this old). The staff were friendly and the location was also very good. The hostal is split over two floors and we got the impression that the fifth floor was 2 star and the fourth (where our room was) a 3 star so would recommend booking the three star rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngDav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The superior rooms with private terrace are excellent. The terrace is quite large, with an awning and chairs and table, tubs etc. A very nice environment to relax in after a day's sightseeing. These rooms are away from the main street, so are also relatively quiet. They are newly decorated to a good standard and have comfortable beds. The lack of breakfast facilities is mitigated by a good choice of outlets nearby selling affordable breakfasts. The hostal is on the 5th floor, but there is a lift.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliahelmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

As a solo female traveler I felt safe coming & going from Hostal Astoria at all hours, including very late at night, over the 4 days of my stay. The central location is very close to several metro stops (closest is Sol, which connects to nearly everything), and within walking distance of many popular sights. Great places to eat right around the block, and so many more a short walk away. The rooms were impeccably clean. I stayed in a deluxe double with terrace; the bedroom isn't much larger than the bed, but the bed was very comfortable, and there was a side alcove with a large wardrobe and a desk/chair. The huge terrace was amazing - almost as large as the bedroom. The bathroom featured a fancy multi-head shower. Free Internet access in the lobby areas. I heard some street and guest noise from the room, but it was minimal and I did not find it intrusive. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful and had no difficulty with English. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone - if you are a female traveling solo I would especially recommend it for its cleanliness and safety. It's a great value.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycglorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Well Iv been usung this place for 6 years now and I am shocked at the decline!
On arrival last week I was first of all given the wrong type of room,not what I booked.Lots of arguing to get what I needed but got there in the end.
The rooms are not huge but having stayed here at least a dozen times I knew what to expect.
My room had a nasty smell on arrival,horrible sewage type pong! I complained at reception and as soon as I started to explain she knew what I was on about. I dont think I was the first to mention it! The maid came and cleaned the bathroom again, sprayed some freshner about and shrugged! VILE!!
Kept awake by a party of noisy teenagers down the hall until 5am , management refused to ask them to keep the noise down.
Last night got stuck in the ancient lift for half an hour! It just got worse really.

Really disapointed that this place has let its standards go so much lately, will have to find somewhere else to stay on my monthly trips to this great city. Boooooooooo!

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank treasure44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We have stayed at this Hostal a few times in the past. Our most recent stay was just as good as our previous stays. We plan to stay here in the future as well when we return to Madrid. The location is great as it is only a 5-10 min walk from the central shopping area, and the central underground station. All around it is a good place for the price. The rooms are nice and modern. There is at least one international electrical outlet in the room, so it accepts plugs from most countries (the voltage is 220V so you would need to make sure your device can accept 220V). The people there were friendly and nice. If you want to stay here, I recommend making your reservation in advance as they regularly get fully booked.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoomReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

With the price, cleanliness, and location combined, you cannot find a better choice in Madrid! The hotel is right stack dab in the middle of everything: a stone's throw away from the very vibrant Puerta del Sol, a 10 min walk to the Prado, Reina Sophia, and Thyssen museums, and a few minutes to reach the Plaza Mayor. The rooms are veeeery clean, and all are air-conditioned. To explore such a beautiful city, especially on foot, Hostal Astoria is really a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RoulaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#93 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#48 of 410 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luz
Hostal Luz
#35 of 283 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Madrid
Hostal Madrid
#20 of 283 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Atelier
Hostal Atelier
#22 of 283 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Madrid Star
Hostal Madrid Star
#27 of 283 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hostal

Property: Astoria Hostal
Address: Carrera San Jeronimo 30-32, 5th floor, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Astoria is in a 19th-century building, 250 metres from Madrid's Puerta del Sol, and offers free Wi-Fi. Some rooms have a hydro-massage shower, and some have a private sun terrace. Air-conditioned rooms at the Astoria feature wooden floors, and have a TV and safe. The private bathroom comes with a hairdryer. The Astoria guest house has a lounge where guests can relax. There is a vending machine for coffee and drinks. Many bars, shops and restaurants are within a short walk. There is a 24-hour reception, and you can hire a car from the tour desk. The Prado Museum is within a 10-minute walk of the Astoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hostal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing